We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

3.0 of 5 Whitworth Hall Country Park | Stanners Lane, Spennymoor DL16 7QX, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    113
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
61
190
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (369)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (98)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A thoroughly pleasant stay with professional and friendly staff. The setting and facilities were good, and a good location for visiting surrounding events and places. The food was excellent and the staff as helpful as could be.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doncaster U.K
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our 2nd visit to this delightful bolt-hole!.Once again we were not disappointed. We took some friends with us for a 2 night break so they could see for themselves what a lovely place this s. We visited on a voucher deal as before & the rooms were superb. Very large & warm with lovely big four poster beds with mattress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wirral
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a weekend at this hotel.We purchased a voucher deal and paid for a room upgrade.The hotel is set in beautiful grounds complete with a deer park and a fishing lake. We stayed in room number four which was of a really good size and complete with a four poster bed.Bathroom was large and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Southam, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday. We stayed in one of the suites on the front of the hotel overlooking the deer in the field. The view was fantastic, the room lovely and comfortable and the breakfast great! The hotel has a very warm and welcome feel to it and the staff were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here at the beginning of December on a KGB deal. We upgraded to a feature room ( room 4) and we weren't disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady and it was a quick experience. Our room was lovely over looked the deer park was warm and very big, sadly the jacuzzi bath was out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay at Whitworth Hall where we chose to get engaged on Christmas Eve morning. The staff were amazing and went out of their way to make it a truly enchanted Christmas for my fiancée and myself.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found a fairly good rate for the hotel on the website so I booked it. The hotel looks nice in the pictures. This place is really a great space. It is an old country house. It had a lot of light and a cozy lounge for guests. We had breakfast in one of the restaurants one of the days... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the hotel on 30th December after my wife had booked it as a surprise. I can recommend this hotel. Staff all lovely, room a little dated but this did not matter as had a lovely view waking up looking out to views of deers. Had a evening meal which was fab and excellent service, breakfast equally as good.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for two nights during October after seeing a deal for this stay. Having checked tripadvisor ratings beforehand, we were somewhat surprised that the reviews were very good so decided to proceed with a booking. We were not disappointed. The room was good, the food was good and the service was fine. The only slight negative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EMalpas, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property following your October visit. Thank you for your comments and I do apologize that disruption was caused due to the new carpets being laid. As you say the work was being carried out in the main part of the hotel and whilst we tried to divert guests as best we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel

Address: Whitworth Hall Country Park | Stanners Lane, Spennymoor DL16 7QX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Spennymoor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Whitworth Hall Country Park Hotel Spennymoor
Best Western Hotel Durham
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
BEST WESTERN Whitworth Hall Hotel Spennymoor, County Durham

186 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (74)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay