We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

The Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Swan
The Swan
The Swan
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    89
    35
    29
    22
See reviews for
27
116
13
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Situated as it is in the heart of the amazingly pretty village of Thaxted in Essex, right opposite the 14th century church, this small, unassuming hotel/pub, has the potential to be top of the line. The food was basic pub food but good, service in the dining rooms and at the bar was good and the selection of beers and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, your comments are welcome and help us improve our standards. Your comments on your room have been reviewed and we are at present buying more irons and boards. In addition, all rooms have been reviewed for any maintenance issues. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near... More 

Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I booked this hotel through booking.com and had to leave after one night although I had booked two as it was so bad. On arrival we were shown to a room with a totally wrecked mattress (big dip in centre and springs broken) so asked to be moved. The mattress in the second room was not much better (very soft),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologise for the problems you experienced in your room. I have reviewed the items that you noted and we are at present taking the necessary action to rectify all of these points. More 

Travelers are raving about these Thaxted hotels

West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On first impressions good, but as the weekend went on it became more like Faulty Towers. No hot water in our room, showers were tepid, and a bath was out of the question . Toast came buttered ( don't have butter) . Young inexperienced staff trying to do their best in a badly run pub/ hotel. It offers free wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on the Swan and I am very sorry to hear that you had problems with your room. Since writing your review we have made an in-depth survey of all the rooms and in particular the problems that you mentioned and have come up with an action plan to remedy these items. I do hope that... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner took me here for a two night break for my birthday to show me the "rural" part of Essex. It was lovely. It was the bank holiday so accepted that the Morris Dancers would be there, so laid back here. Rooms were great, too hot though even with the windows open and radiators off. Great space though, massive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear guest, your comments are very welcome as it helps us in the process of continual improvement. I am very glad that your stay with us at the Swan was enjoyable and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed at The Swan last bank holiday weekend. We were well looked after by Chris and his team (despite Chris having to pull in extra staff at short notice due to the managers absence). All of the staff were friendly and professional and the food was excellent, (especially the Sunday roast!) and reasonably priced. The pub/hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review on the Swan and I am very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the team and especially Chris who you mentioned in your review. Many thanks and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. More 

Holywell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pleasant pub/hotel, like all Old English Inns. They seem not to be part of a group, staff very helpful and attentive. Under flight path to Stansted but was not a problem. Meal on Monday was very good, Tuesday disappointing, think was a stand in chef. Breakfast very good, and staff very attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write a review on the Swan. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to the team. We do hope that we have the pleasure of seeing you again soon More 

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My partner & I have just spent the night here in the coach house room 16. It was a pleasure from start to finish. Chris is a perfect host & himself & his team cannot do enough for you. They make your stay feel very special, the food is excellent & the inn is olde worlde with such a relaxing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and your very positive comments on your recent stay with us at the Swan. I will pass your comments to the staff at our next team meeting and especially to Chris who made your stay very special. We all look forward to welcoming you back to Thaxted and the Swan soon. More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

The Swan has a long history and can be easily found almost in the middle of Thaxted. We chose to stay there as we wanted to visit Audley End stately home which is nearby as is Stanstead Airport. We were promptly greeted on arrival and allocated Room 2 which is up a short flight of stairs. There is no lift... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear guest, your time sent writing a review gives us vital feedback that we use to continually improve, and we thank you for that. We are all so glad that your so enjoyed your stay with us and that the food was excellent and good value. We look forward to repeating your experience in the near future. More 

Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Visited for lunch in March. Great pub food, served piping hot. Variety of menus which is really welcome. Service was efficient and friendly. Lovely ancient village with a windmill, enormous church, and a guildhall. Gustav Holst was a resident for many years and a blue plaque is displayed to commemorate his time in the village. A great place to spend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review of the Swan and Thaxted, your comments are all very welcome. I am very glad that your experience was so positive and I will share your review with the team. We all at the Swan look forward to your next visit with us. More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

My partner took me here earlier in the year as a suprise and it was amazing! We were given what i beleive to be the honeymoon suite, which had a huge bath, mjassive bed and a small lounge room. The room was super clean and the bed was very comfy. The breakfast was lovely, and there was so much to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear guest, it gives me and all the team great pleasure to read your review and the positive comments that you made. I will pass your review on to the team at our next meeting and look forward to welcoming you back to the Swan in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities