We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan

The Bull Ring, Thaxted CM6 2PL, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Swan
The Swan
The Swan
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    91
    38
    31
    24
See reviews for
28
119
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (240)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was fine and service was good. The beer was fresh too. All in all it was good value and I'd happily stay again. Thaxted itself is delightful and the pub / hotel's position is excellent for a short walk to the church and windmill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the coach house away from the noisy main road so had a very good sleep. The room was tired looking but comfortable enough. The bathroom was very odd as the shower was mounted against the wall where it meets the angle of the roof. It wasn't possible to use it as a shower but there was always plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are aware that some of our bedrooms could do with a little investment and are currently looking into this. I do hope you will visit again soon. Nicholas and the team at The Swan More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although the location was ideal I was disappointed overall. No shampoo, conditioner etc. and broken sash in bathroom window. Comfortable bed and tea/coffee making facility but the bathroom was rather shabby and shower door difficult to open and close. Breakfast included but my first choice was not available (run out of hollandaise sauce) and my second choice of a kipper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on the Swan. I am very glad that you found the staff and service friendly and obliging. I am sorry that you found that your room was in need of attention. We are currently working on a maintenance plan to deal with these issues. Many thanks again. More 

March, United Kingdom
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

rubbish, sent a email of complaint to greedy king, never got a reply, came back to lovely Thaxted to a wonderful wedding , just a shame the Swan didn't match up to what we remembered of this lovely town, poorly presented rooms, hoodies at reception, cold breakfast served in a bar which had same beer stains on table from night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review, all comments and opinions are welcome. I would like to apologise that your expectations were not met on your recent stay with us. We are constantly reviewing standards and can assure you that all your comments will be taken on board and action taken as necessary. More 

Travelers are raving about these Thaxted hotels

Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Loved staying there! Can't beat the views and the food! Would stay again in a heartbeat! Room was very nice and clean. Great free breakfast in the morning too!! Wonderful little place to walk around in !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on the Swan. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in Thaxted. Your positive comments on the rooms, food and service are very welcome and I will pass your comments on to the team in our next meeting. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I travel on business around the UK and Europe, a colleague of mine who lives local, booked this for me and never have I stayed in such a filthy room, I checked into my room about 8pm, relaxed in bedroom for a couple of hours and then decided to take a shower, see photos. Disgusting, unclean and almost certainly a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments on your stay. I would sincerely like to apologise that the standards in your room were not what you expected. Due to the hard water in the area we de have a problem with stains in the toilet and shower which are difficult to remove without industrial solvent. However, we have hired an... More 

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

Stayed here on the 10/6/15, it looks impressive from the outside, the young lad on reception was polite and pleasant on arrival and explained my room was in the annexe / host house. The room did not look anything like the photos of other nice rooms , and the bathroom was very poor , it looked to have been from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear guest, thank you for your review your comments are welcome. I am sorry that your room and breakfast were not to your expectations and we are currently operation a planned maintenance programme for rooms in need of an upgrade. I do hope we can welcome you back and I would personally like to show you improvements to the rooms. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

You pull up and think yeah this will be pretty good. Sorry but it won't, they either have one room that's nice or those pictures are ancient. I stayed in the Host House. A poorly decorated rooms umps of plaster out the walls and ceiling, what appears to be damp on one wall. Furniture from FOCUS DIY liquidation sale more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and the time you have taken. I am sorry that you found your room in the Host House not up to your expectations. We are currently investing on a planned maintenance schedule for rooms that are in need of repair. Unfortunately the room that you were allocated is not to our main room standards. We... More 

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

The Swan is a small pub in Thaxted Essex and they have a few rooms available. This is a very, very old property so don't expect the walls to be plumb and straight or the floors to be level. The old post & Beam construction is exposed and charming especially to Americans who NEVER see old buildings! We love it!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear guest, your comments on tripadvisor guide us in our constant efforts to improve. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your experience was a positive one. I do understand that coming from the USA your expectations of some areas of such an old pub are different. We do enjoy having international guests as it... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We spent a very relaxed night here recently. The rooms may be a little in need of a spruce up but the hospitality of the manager and the staff more than made up for it. The breakfast was a delight, the full English is high recommended, served by friendly helpful staff. The previous evening we had a meal from their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at The Swan, responded to this review

Dear guest we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review on the Swan. We, as a team, are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our continual efforts to make our guests stay a positive experience is encouraging. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Swan in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thaxted
6.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
10.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#4 of 5 in Braintree
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay