We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
BEST RATES BOOK DIRECT!
Save Saved
You added Hilden Lodge to your Saves list
Hilden Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
88%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Vicki C Alexandria, Virginia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (133)
  • Photos (48)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (21)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    34
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
52
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for the night when visiting friends nearby. The room was very small but adequate and clean. The wi fi did not appear to be working well in our room, but was ok downstairs. We especially enjoyed our breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very comfortable. Clean and the bed very comfortable. Wifi worked well. Breakfast was good and plentiful. It would be useful if it could start 15 minutes early. Plenty of places to eat within walking distances. Represents good value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Breakfast starts from 7.30 am weekdays and 8.30 am weekends and bank holidays. If you need to leave before these times, we are happy to provide you with a packed lunch to take away as an alternative to breakfast. More

Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were booked in with my parents to visit the Prescott Hill climb VSCC 80th anniversary on the 1st of August 2014 for 2 nights. I had not anticipated being quite so disappointed with our accommodation. From the moment we entered, it was clear that as guests we were an inconvenience and our welcome was less the warm and inviting.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review

Naturally, we are both disappointed to receive this review - feedback from all our guests is something we take very seriously. Hilden Lodge - besides being a lovely guesthouse, is also our home and we do work very hard at ensuring guests feel welcome and comfortable. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay - we wish you had... More

wales
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed here 18th - 20th July, great location and free parking, very friendly welcome , lots of information on the local area, after a long drive had a cold lager sitting on the terrace, nice bar area along with dining room. everything is pristine, our room was very comfortable we were offered fans due to the current heatwave , fortunately... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feed back, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! More

Waterford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at hilden lodge on the 29th of May, we were attending the Cheltenham sales. The rooms were extremely comfortable, all our party passed on our compliments to David on our excellent evening meal and morning breakfast. We would highly recommend the hilden lodge for any future stay,and we appreciated the excellent service provided by David and Sally. Mr... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a great review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again, soon! More

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Excellent, friendly welcome to the lodge, very helpful in terms of local information. Breakfast was great and the dinner menu looked good, but we didn't get a chance to eat there. Rooms were a high standard decor and comfortable. Made a lovely weekend getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again! More

Shoeburyness
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had an absolutely lovely two night stay at the Hilden Lodge over the bank holiday weekend, for a tremendous weekend in Cheltenham and the Cotswolds. The rooms were comfortable, smart and designerly and the welcome from the two owners welcoming, warm and hospitable. The crowning glory was food . We dined in both evenings (a special roast was provided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at Hilden lodge and the restaurant meal. We hope to see you again soon! More

Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Sorry to say our experience was different. We had family room at £120 per night (stayed 2 nights), but thought this was a treat. Room was cold, no wifi (too far away from router). First night no room in car park. Arrived early and got the key but could not get in the room - understandable. However, when we got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have addressed the points you have made as follows: the radiator in the room you stayed had been turned down by a previous guest, it is usually set mid-way and can then be adjusted to personal preference; we have put an extra stock of fleecey throws... More

Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Had a very nice stay at the Hilden Lodge. Sally and David, the managers, were very welcoming and were very flexible. Nothing was too much trouble. Great breakfast and nice food in the evenings. Excellent place to stay in Cheltenham.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Hilden Lodge in the near future! More

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I had a delightful stay at Hilden Lodge over what was a very busy weekend due to the Cheltenham Jazz Festival. It is perfectly located for easy access and for getting into town but is in a very peaceful location. The hotel is tastefully decorated with good attention to detail which is testament to the efforts of... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sally B, Manager at Hilden Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Hilden lodge and hope to see you again soon! Thank you also, for pointing out that we do give the best room rates when contacted directly. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hilden Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilden Lodge

Address: 271 London Road, Charlton Kings, Cheltenham GL52 6YG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Charlton Kings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilden Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilden Lodge Cheltenham/Charlton Kings

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Charlton Kings with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hilden Lodge is in the Heart of the Cotswolds only 1.5 miles away from the centre of Cheltenham, with close links to Trains & Bus services. We are only 3 miles from the famous Cheltenham Race Course known for the Gold Cup. You can enjoy the local shops & sites as well as venture out in the Cotswolds and enjoy breathtaking views. We have number of guide books to help you decide.We here at this Boutique Hotel have we hope everything to make your stay a pleasant one, with fully cooked breakfast included in the price of your room, hospitality tray with complimentary water & toiletries. We have 13 rooms of varied sizes from Single, Double, Twin & Family Rooms we also have a suite of two adjoining rooms when booked together. Also some of our Superior Rooms have Bath & Shower.We have a restaurant for you to enjoy home cooked meals locally produce and cooked fresh with a range of starters, mains and mouth watering deserts why go out when you can eat here with us. We even have a menu for the little ones.We have a small bar with a modest selection of wines, beers & spirits. So if you are on business, seeing family or looking for a getaway why not base yourselves here as we intend to make your stay comfortable and pleasurable one. We have now finished our upgrades of all our windows (Jan 2013) as we take our guest comments very seriously, so now all our rooms are double glazed and much easier to open (and warmer). We are continuing other upgrades of bathrooms, however still apologise as we can not alter the size of some of them. We are just (Apr 2013) completing the enlargement to the restaurant to which we hope our guests enjoy. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilden Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer