We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Bushypark hotels

Glenlo Abbey Hotel

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Glenlo Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
80%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bushypark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
zedmano
  • Overview
  • Reviews (572)
  • Photos (236)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (130)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    122
    60
    34
    19
See reviews for
87
316
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The Glenlo is a great hotel to stay in to see the area or just play golf. The staff were very friendly the room's were very comfortable the only bad thing was the shower in room 302 was week and not so good apart from that this is an excellent place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I can't believe it has taken me so long to write my review because I'v been raving about the place since my husband and I left a few weeks ago! I also have to say that I wholly disagree with the negative comments on the site, I guess everyone is entitled to their opinions but I personally enjoyed every aspect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Westport, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We found this hotel to be superb in every way,staff were very attentive and friendly,we were made welcome from the moment we arrived,room was so comfortable and spacious,perhaps a little dated as you would expect as it is an old Abbey.We had dinner at the Pullman resturant which is an old coach from the Orient Express,Food and service were superb,defnitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
limavady
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like character, charm, comfort, and elegance, this is the place to stay, we had a wonderful time at the Glenlo abbey this is truly worth its 5 star award. Through an error of "HOTEL CLUB" booking company, we arrived to find we were not booked, the staff in glenlo abbey did their utmost to make our stay in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear averil w, That you so very much for your kind words and we are happy that you enjoyed yourself while in Galway, more importantly with us here at Glenlo Abbey. We look forward to welcoming you back to Galway. Warm Regards, Guest Relations Manager. More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Checked in here for a special occasion today, which has now been completely ruined. This is a horrible, horrible, horrible excuse for a hotel. Room is far from 5* : a low 3* at the most. Lumpy, uncomfortable bed. The bedroom walls are filthy. The dated, cheap and damaged 1990s furniture has seen better days. Bathroom is disgusting - dirty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, General Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aipco, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are disappointed that you had an unpleasant stay. We pride ourselves in offering a clean, comfortable and relaxed experience in Glenlo Abbey and are saddened to read that we did not achieve this during your stay. I can assure you that your review has been noted with... More

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
64 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Hotel is very nice and confortable. Ample rooms with very nice view of the green golf course. The Breakfast Buffet very complete and the cooked part to it a la carte was well done. I visited this Hotel based on the high recommendations on Trip advisor as well as local friend from the Board of Turism My complaint is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marcelo P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We understand that each guest stays with us for a variety of reasons, some attend family weddings and celebrations, others are on romantic breaks and others looking to enjoy the local golf, fishing and tourist attractions that make Galway such a popular tourism destination.... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the Glenlo Abbey for two nights and brought a friend with me. Both of us were delighted with its classic elegance. The room was very comfortable and clean and the drawing rooms around the hotel were lovely. I'm surprised to read negative reviews! Breakfast was in a charming room, with wonderful windows and superb views and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniloo62, We are delighted that you enjoyed your “superb” stay with us and thank you for taking the time to mention some of your highlights in your review. We will pass on your kind words to the service staff in our excellent Pullman restaurant. We look forward very much to welcoming you back to us in the future. Warm... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Do you want memories of guests and locals singing inside the pub IN the castle? Do you want friendly staff, and the feel of a real castle? Come here! Do you want good food, sound bed, and actually hear a Babbling brook outside of your room? A year later - and my 17 year old Son and I still remember... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hubbard k, While we would dearly love to take the credit for this wonderful review and treasured memories, we must truthfully point out that it’s not our hotel, perhaps kind words should be shared with the rightful owners…we are guessing perhaps the Abbey Glen Hotel in Clifden? However we are cheekily inviting you to call in and sample the... More

Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
86 hotel reviews
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The TripAdvisor reviews on Glenlo Abbey were fair and accurate. The hotel feels like it was refurbished in 2000 and has festered ever since. The good stuff includes: 1. Pancakes at breakfast were the best I have had 2. Nice location with a golf course outside 3. Free wifi across the whole hotel + free parking The mediocre stuff included:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BertBantham, Thank you for a comprehensive review of our hotel, the good and the not so good. Firstly the good, we are delighted you enjoyed the pancake breakfast and will pass on your kind words to the breakfast chef and team. Secondly, that you enjoyed the location, the ample parking and hotel wide wi-fi. Of course we thank you... More

Berlin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for a night in August the staff in general across the hotel are friendly and have potential. The rooms are well used but are clean and the housekeeping supervisor keeps the staff on their toes which is excellent. The one thing is that the bathroom door had a lever which shuts in your face which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenlo_Abbey_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Glenlo Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MsEuro, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and your kind words about our friendly staff and efficient housekeeping service. The bathroom door lever is a spring activated lever to close the door behind you and should not pose a danger, we have asked housekeeping to complete a review of bathroom doors to ensure all are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Glenlo Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Glenlo Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenlo Abbey Hotel

Address: Bushypark | on the N59 to Clifden, Bushypark, Galway, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway > Bushypark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glenlo Abbey Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Glenlo Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenlo Abbey Bushypark
Hotel Glenlo Abbey
Glenlo Abbey Hotel County Galway, Ireland

236 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (195)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (66)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Galways 5 star luxury Hotel is the ideal resort property for midweek or weekend breaks, weddings, family events, and corporate events. Just two miles from Galway city centre with ample parking and a 138 acre lake side golf estate. The unique 9 hole double green golf course is a par 72 parkland golf course with rolling hills, lakes and fabulous views of Lough Corrib ... more   less 
Number of rooms
48

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Glenlo Abbey Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer