We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Church Gate Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Willow Cottage | Stocks Green, Castle Acre, King's Lynn PE32 2AE, England
Hotel amenities
Church Gate Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #3 of 7 Castle Acre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Steve P Bourne End, United Kingdom
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
19
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (39)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was extremely small. The shower door opened into the bedroom so no privacy. It had a large toilet so space was not well used. Also it was not particularly clean. The breakfast was okay but staff attitude was not the best.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank M, Owner at Church Gate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I didn't recognise our B&B from your review, as you can see from our other reviews and we have consistently been No1 of 7 for some time. We have also in the same week as your stay received a certificate of excellence from trip advisor. We have been operating this premise for 15 years. We have had thousands of visitors... More 

Bourne End, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We popped in on the half chance that they had any rooms for the night. The owner said he only had one room, which was his smallest, but it was fine for us for the night. The owner was very helpful, informing us of the local pub that served food. The breakfast was excellent, enhanced by a selection of fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Really nice little place .. small rooms but comfortable, good shower and all facilities provided, more or less across the road from Ostrich Pub where you can get a good meal, cosy fire in breakfast room and fantastic cooked breakfast, nice hosts, wouldn't hesitate to recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cambridge, England
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Lovely b and b with what was the best breakfast I've ever eaten! All cooked perfectly ;) we had our 2 yr old son with us and nothing was too much trouble. Had a lovely comfy z bed for him to sleep on and extra milk etc. Will definitely be back and would definitely recommend to anyone ;) thanks for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Purley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

A lovely B and B above the teashop in the very pretty village of Castle Acre. Very quiet and beautifully clean. Friendly owners with great local knowledge. Excellent breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. Delicious fruit plate to start and then a choice of cereals and fruit juice. I opted for porridge which was rich and creamy. Full English breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Forster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

This is a delightful B&B. Rooms are located above a quaint tea room. Our room was smallish but beautifully fitted out and comfortable. Breakfast was everything you could possibly want. It is located in a lovely village within walking distance to a historic priory, castle and an interesting church. Host provided us with lots of verbal local historic information. Had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pendle
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights this September. Room smallish but with full amenities and everything spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed. The breakfast was first-class, it really was a great start to the day! A family run business, friendly, helpful people - we would certainly stay there again if back in the area. Well done

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Spent two nights in a clean and comfortable room in the delightful Churchgate B&B while attending a wedding nearby. Comfortable bed, surprisingly good shower and a very satisfactory breakfast (including optional black pudding!) with good coffee. The village is delightful with a well-renowned pub (The Ostrich) just yards from the B&B. Ample on-street parking and a very relaxed access policy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

As we were spending the evening in the b and b we had earlier asked the password for the 'high speed wi-fi' it wouldn't work. After several tries we thought perhaps we had misheard and rang the owners to double check. No, apparently we had the right password but 'it can be intermittent - try again in 10 minutes'. we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank M, Owner at Church Gate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Church Gate Bed & Breakfast. We can only apologise for the Internet not working during your stay. We are in a remote village location and sometimes the Internet does not work due to weather conditions, or connection issues outside of our control. We do not advertise our... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Had a one night stay for a business stopover. Rooms are small but clean and comfortable, friendly welcome, fantastic breakfasts, and an excellent pub just over the road (the Ostrich) for a pint and evening meal. The area is a nice place to walk around too. Will certainly stay again if I I'm back in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frank M, Owner at Church Gate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your delightful review! We hope you visit us again for business, or pleasure. There are lots of things to see and do in the area! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay