We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Diamond Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Main Street, Ponteland, England
The Diamond Inn
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
17
25
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I often come here for drinks and food, always thoroughly enjoy myself. Nice atmosphere in the pub and good selection of drinks and food which are reasonably priced, is also fab on a nice day when you can sit outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear alicebobba Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really pleased your stay with us was everything you hoped it would be and hope you will visit us again in the near future. More 

larbert
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked for weekend. Our room was in the smithy block at the back of the Inn. Room quite small, but clean. Bathroom immaculate. very noisy room as guests are outside room until after midnight. Wakened very early in the morning with staff moving beer barrels and other tasks. Stayed B&B, breakfast ok but nothing special. Pub excellent, but for price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear wilmasmith We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Unfortunately where the Smithy rooms are located at the rear exit of the pub they are prone to our late leavers and they are nearest to our cellar. Please, should you choose to stay with us again ask to be situated in one... More 

surrey,england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely old Inn which is in the heart of Ponteland. It has various restaurants in the area, we ate at the Italian Rialto restaurant which is superb value and excellent food and at the Chinese restaurant Rendezvous which is very popular so book and expect to pay a little over the average for Chinese (£52 for 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear GILLPAINE. Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your comments onto Lorna and we hope you will come and stay with us again very soon. More 

Newcastle upon tyne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had the best Sunday lunch in a long time. All the family and six kids, everything homemade even the kids chicken nuggets. But the full Sunday lunch was amazing, so very tasty, excellent friendly service, can't wait for an excuse to come again. Well done fabulous

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mandstails Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We are really happy that yourself and family had a great Easter Sunday lunch with us and found everything to be to your satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. More 

2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Visited the diamond for the second time today, in a group of ten. The table was not ready for when we arrived but this can be forgiven due the the volume of people aswell as being Mother's Day ( one of the busiest days in the catering calendar). So as we waited, we orderd some drinks two of the pints... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alexanderthebaker We are sorry to hear that your visit to the Diamond was not to your satisfaction. We have brought your points to our head chef and we are currently looking into our menu regarding the vegetarian selection. We always value our customers opinions not only on what they enjoyed but also where they feel we can improve and... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

pop in the diamond last Sunday as i had heard the food was good so gave it a bash and wow it was fabulous i had Sunday beef and the wife had lamb , nice friendly staff , nice home made food ,will definitely be returning will and dawn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janine H, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear William H, Thanks for your lovely review! We hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks, Team Diamond More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I have been stopping at the Diamond, almost weekly for over 6 months due to work. The staff are friendly and accommodating, nothing is ever too much trouble and always a warm welcome. The food is lovely great quality meals at a good price, a hearty breakfast with a choice of lighter options. The atmosphere is a 'proper' pub, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear olr2015247, Thank you for your great review... it's always a pleasure to welcome you back! Thanks, Team Diamond More 

Nottingham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Nice pub / hotel. Friendly staff. Good breakfast served from 7am. Convenient car parking, rooms claim to have wifi but mine did not. Poor mobile signal on EE. Pub does evening meals, there is also a good selection of restaurants nearby. Sainsburys and Waitrose short walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear NottinghamTim, Thanks for the great review. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI system in the hotel so hopefully this shouldn't be an issue moving forwards. We hope to welcome you back soon! Thanks, Team Diamond More 

scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Hi stayed here this week, cheapish and cheerful - its really for contactors working in the area. Pub food plain and simple and limited not much choice at all. Staff nice rooms bit scruffy, Wi-Fi non existent in rooms not much better in bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janine H, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear williamsdjg, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you weren't 100% satisfied with your stay. As a hotel based close to an international airport we do indeed host a large number of business guests but also enjoy a large number of guests looking for a country getaway for the weekend. We have spoken to our Two Cooks... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We stayed here at the weekend as we were at a wedding at Dissington Hall. (£7 taxi journey) Great place to stay! We were looking for a room which would sleep 3 adults, after phoning a few of hotels - none which would let 3 adults share- I came across the Diamond Inn! I called and spoke to Lorna who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rachel N, Thanks for the lovely comments! We're glad you had a great time and just for future info our Christmas Market is now an annual event so we'd love to welcome you back. Thanks, Team Diamond More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question