We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Diamond Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Main Street, Ponteland, England
The Diamond Inn
Add Your Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
16
23
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (64)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the diamond for the second time today, in a group of ten. The table was not ready for when we arrived but this can be forgiven due the the volume of people aswell as being Mother's Day ( one of the busiest days in the catering calendar). So as we waited, we orderd some drinks two of the pints... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear Alexanderthebaker We are sorry to hear that your visit to the Diamond was not to your satisfaction. We have brought your points to our head chef and we are currently looking into our menu regarding the vegetarian selection. We always value our customers opinions not only on what they enjoyed but also where they feel we can improve and... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

pop in the diamond last Sunday as i had heard the food was good so gave it a bash and wow it was fabulous i had Sunday beef and the wife had lamb , nice friendly staff , nice home made food ,will definitely be returning will and dawn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janine H, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear William H, Thanks for your lovely review! We hope to welcome you back soon. Thanks, Team Diamond More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I have been stopping at the Diamond, almost weekly for over 6 months due to work. The staff are friendly and accommodating, nothing is ever too much trouble and always a warm welcome. The food is lovely great quality meals at a good price, a hearty breakfast with a choice of lighter options. The atmosphere is a 'proper' pub, not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear olr2015247, Thank you for your great review... it's always a pleasure to welcome you back! Thanks, Team Diamond More 

Nottingham
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Nice pub / hotel. Friendly staff. Good breakfast served from 7am. Convenient car parking, rooms claim to have wifi but mine did not. Poor mobile signal on EE. Pub does evening meals, there is also a good selection of restaurants nearby. Sainsburys and Waitrose short walk away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear NottinghamTim, Thanks for the great review. We are in the process of upgrading our WIFI system in the hotel so hopefully this shouldn't be an issue moving forwards. We hope to welcome you back soon! Thanks, Team Diamond More 

scunthorpe
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

Hi stayed here this week, cheapish and cheerful - its really for contactors working in the area. Pub food plain and simple and limited not much choice at all. Staff nice rooms bit scruffy, Wi-Fi non existent in rooms not much better in bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janine H, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear williamsdjg, Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you weren't 100% satisfied with your stay. As a hotel based close to an international airport we do indeed host a large number of business guests but also enjoy a large number of guests looking for a country getaway for the weekend. We have spoken to our Two Cooks... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We stayed here at the weekend as we were at a wedding at Dissington Hall. (£7 taxi journey) Great place to stay! We were looking for a room which would sleep 3 adults, after phoning a few of hotels - none which would let 3 adults share- I came across the Diamond Inn! I called and spoke to Lorna who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheDiamondInnPont, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear Rachel N, Thanks for the lovely comments! We're glad you had a great time and just for future info our Christmas Market is now an annual event so we'd love to welcome you back. Thanks, Team Diamond More 

Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Bar very busy when we arrived but the staff took us straight to our room, they were so friendly and made us welcome. Couldn't get bathroom light on and a member of staff came over straight away to show us. Room and bathroom very clean, excellent shower with plenty of hot water. Bath towels were on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I've eaten here a few times over the last couple of months since I heard that new chefs had taken over the food. I have not been disappointed! I've had a couple of delicious Sunday dinners, my father in law saying that it was the best pub food he'd ever had. I've also had a breakfast with my friend, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We had hoped for dinner and B&B but on Fridays the Diamond Inn does not serve a evening meal so we ate out. There is reasonable off street parking and we stayed in one of the converted stable rooms behind the main building. This was fine by us as it was quiet location. The room was large, clean with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janine H, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear COLNEYONE, Thank you for your review and we are pleased you had a comfortable stay. It's a shame you weren't made aware of our Friday and Sunday evening hotel deal but we will raise this as a training issue with our team and make sure they are aware. We do hope you will come visit us again in the... More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We only stayed one night as we were attending a Family Christening, we could not fault this lovely Inn, the room was very large and spotless, the staff could not do enough for us, we were recommended to the Chinese Restaurant next door for Dinner as the Diamond does not serve food on a Sunday Evening, we were not disappointed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Janine H, Manager at The Diamond Inn, responded to this review

Dear davidson103, Thank you for your review. We are pleased our staff were helpful in making alternative dining suggestions. We have some excellent weekend deals available should you decide to treat yourself to a return visit! We hope to welcome you back soon. The Diamond Inn More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question