We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pykkerell Inn

4.0 of 5 38 High Street, Ixworth IP31 2HH, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Pykkerell Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Pykkerell Inn
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
12
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (51)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stopped here for the first time over a weekend with my wife and the dog in tow. Great little pub, full of character, really nice staff & friendly locals. Couldn't fault the stay. Room was a really good size, very clean & tidy. Ate in the bar both nights and the food was excellent. Absolutely no complaints and would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A pleasant stay, I had a room that over looked the main street, it was a little noisy at times due to the lack of double glazing which is understandable due to the age and character of the building. A street light was right outside the window and a darker lining on the curtains would help. Had a bar meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
callow end
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice little village with the pub in the heart of it close to major roads so quite accessible. The food was ok had the T bone steak and it was average, breakfast in the morning was ok but no real direction in what was available. I had a room over the main bar and this was quite noisy while the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroadsPaul, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review from your stay in October. We are sorry you were not impressed with the steak, although we do not serve T Bones, I suspect it was the Ribeye. We constantly monitor our food quality and have discussed with our butcher. With the breakfast we offer full English with a choice of how your egg is... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here so that we could visit the Christmas Market at Bury St. Edmunds. Lovely village with different architecture. The hotel was in a pub and in the middle of the High St. This is a quiet village with only a few local shops. The breakfasts were lovely and the main meals in the restaurant of the pub was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BroadsPaul, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I will ensure Crystal, Sam and the staff see your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning. More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having booked a week in advance and with our bellies thoroughly rumbling by the time we arrived, it's safe to say that we were not disappointed. Even by 7pm on a Monday morning, both the bar and restaurant areas were buzzing, with a later table being advised that there was a "slight delay" with their food - clearly down to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BroadsPaul, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I have passed all the positive comments on to the staff and in particular. Laura who was working that night. I have also discussed with the chef your suggestions and have taken them on board. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A work college and I stayed at The Pykkerell Inn during the week after a work project finished late. A call was put through to the Inn and answered by a very accommodating gentleman, who answered all of our questions and booked us in. After a long days work this was the perfect place to relax in a warm atmosphere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BroadsPaul, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. All the staff have worked very hard to get the Pykkerell to where it is and it is rewarding to receive comments like yours. Please visit us again soon. More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We enjoyed a very pleasant evening here as we often do. They serve Lovely homemade food that is piping hot and delicious.. Very helpful & considerate staff. All in all a lovely evening. Thank you to all the staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The hotel ticks many boxes on my check list for a hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the beds are comfortable and the pillows are excellent. The rooms are extremely clean and the staff are friendly and accommodating. The room that I stayed in had frosted windows (so no view out which was a shame because I was in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My friend and I were booked in here for the night whilst visiting a friend in Ixworth. The staff were accommodating and 3 other friends who didn't stay here joined us for breakfast in the morning. The room was clean and comfortable and both of us slept like logs. There was a street light right outside our window but this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Pykkerell May 18 thru 21 during our travels around England. Originally we booked our room for 2 nights but our overall experience of great atmosphere with old world charm, good food & drink, a pleasant accommodating staff, and comfort won us over and we stayed another two nights. I would have stayed here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Pykkerell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pykkerell Inn

Address: 38 High Street, Ixworth IP31 2HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Ixworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pykkerell Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Pykkerell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay