We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pykkerell Inn

Certificate of Excellence
38 High Street, Ixworth, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 2HH, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pykkerell Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Pykkerell Inn
Add Your Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    7
    1
    5
See reviews for
12
20
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last week on business and found it really relaxing. Clean room, nice bed, large flat screen TV and an excellent food made this small establishment really good value. Although a little out of the way, it is certainly worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Fred for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights the room was spacious and clean, the beds were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good, friendly staff, free parking and the pub was definitely a meeting place for the locals. We would recommend the B&B but not the evening meals, really poor value for money example ordered shepherd's pie and veg, got shepherd's pie... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Linda, thank you for your review and kind comments with regard to the room and breakfast etc. I am sorry you felt that the shepherds pie was disgraceful, we have a good food following and the shepherds pie is always a top seller, complaints about our portion sizes are extremely rare. You must try something else on your return... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the second time staying at the pikkerell for us and both times have been perfect. We arrived on Friday night from London with our two doggies and even though the kitchen closed at 9 and we were a bit late they still kept it open for us. The food was outstanding, as was the locket young lady serving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We pride ourselves on welcoming people whether returning or new and am glad that you enjoyed another stay. See you all next month! More 

Burnley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a village pub type hotel with all the atmosphere that that generates. The rooms are well equipped. The restaurant is first class and the staff really obliging making you feel right at home. An obvious meeting place for the locals which is always a good sign. Plenty of on-site free parking. Definitely a place to bear in mind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Ivan, glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments. Look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area. More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for one night, VERY good food and beer! Great staff, approachable and friendly. Room was comfortable and clean, however a little bit of noise from the road, still didn't stop me from sleeping! Nice village to walk around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all your positive comments Dave. See you soon again hopefully More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night and will definitely return. The staff and locals were very friendly and welcoming. The inn was beautiful and our bedroom was very quirky all be it a little cold (but to be expected in such an old building). We had dinner there and the food was both excellent and good value for money. The location was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all your kind words Lisa. We look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Ixworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015 via mobile

As we've recently moved to the area, it's so great to find that we have a decent local pub. When're you go in, either at lunchtime or the evening the staff are really friendly and will try to fit you in if they can, not all pub landlords are so keen to oblige. The food is always of a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Hi Sally, thank you for your comments and you will probably see I posted a response on the previous review that relates to you! See you soon More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Stopped here for the first time over a weekend with my wife and the dog in tow. Great little pub, full of character, really nice staff & friendly locals. Couldn't fault the stay. Room was a really good size, very clean & tidy. Ate in the bar both nights and the food was excellent. Absolutely no complaints and would definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paul E, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all your comments. Our fish pie is indeed very popular and we are glad that you enjoyed it so much. Now that your in the area we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Wales UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

A pleasant stay, I had a room that over looked the main street, it was a little noisy at times due to the lack of double glazing which is understandable due to the age and character of the building. A street light was right outside the window and a darker lining on the curtains would help. Had a bar meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paul E, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

callow end
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice little village with the pub in the heart of it close to major roads so quite accessible. The food was ok had the T bone steak and it was average, breakfast in the morning was ok but no real direction in what was available. I had a room over the main bar and this was quite noisy while the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BroadsPaul, Owner at The Pykkerell Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review from your stay in October. We are sorry you were not impressed with the steak, although we do not serve T Bones, I suspect it was the Ribeye. We constantly monitor our food quality and have discussed with our butcher. With the breakfast we offer full English with a choice of how your egg is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question