We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Northop hotels

Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gateway Svc Westbound A55, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Northop
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Niks99 Brough, England
  • Overview
  • Reviews (218)
  • Photos (87)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (50)
  • More
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    76
    53
    15
    9
See reviews for
55
75
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brough, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After eventually locating the hotel, after going up and down the road, and not relising its embedded in the services, i arrived. Only one night for work purposes. Room ok, but could do with a Good deep clean. Food was really poor in the evening - 'prawn thai fishcakes' indicates plural cakes made of prawn. It is in fact one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear Niks99 May I immediately thank you for sparing the time to post your review I am very anxious to investigate your observations in detail - however I regret that I have been unable to identify your date of stay . I would be grateful if you could provide this information to my e-mail at admin@holidayinnchesterwest .co.uk and I assure... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Might start by saying the staff are very pleasant and particularly the reception staff are clearly bright and hard working. The hotel is very tired and needs updating and possibly a deep clean, after staying here for the weekend we felt drained and dirty, but not at the fault of the staff they are clearly doing all they can, however... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear thewarrens1610 I was disappointed to learn that you had only rated my hotel 3/5 on your recent visit Whilst you were kind enough to be very complimentary about my team I must apologise should you have felt that we let you down elsewhere We are currently in the process of planning refurbishment to a number of bedrooms , including... More

Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is very conveniently situated, ideal for stop overs. A double bedded double room , ground floor, at the back, facing a small grassed area. It was spacious and comfortable with usual TV, small desk, small table and easy chair, coffee/ tea, ironing board (so very useful), bath ( unexpected) as per any chain. Breakfast was fast and service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear majen I am delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your recent stay in my hotel Your comments have been shared with my team and are much appreciated I have been able to identify the faulty window lock which has been rectified - many thanks for letting me know I look forward to welcoming you back shortly Sincerely Tony... More

Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is obviously part of a massive chain so the standard is what I expected. My room was ok and the bed was surprisingly comfortable. My only real criticism was that my room seemed to be above some kind of generator which made quite a bit of noise. At first I thought it was traffic but it wasn't. If... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear Sandra O Many thanks for your kind review I am delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of your bed and that you found my food and beverage team to be so helpful Please contact me personally when next you are in the area in order that I may take care of your room allocation Thanks again Tony Horsfall -... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent two nights here last weekend, in order to visit a relative in a nearby hospital. Very pleasant, friendly and helpful staff. As a member of IHG's Rewards Club, I got a voucher at check in for a free glass of wine, which was very welcome after a long drive up. Although right by a busy main road (A55),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear Paul G Thank you so much for your generous praise following on from your recent weekend in my hotel It was kind of you to be so complimentary about so many aspects of your stay We look forward to seeing again soon Many thanks again Sincerely Tony Horsfall - Director More

Dubai
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in on a recent Friday night en-route from the South to North Wales. The hotel is very convenient in a service area off the A55 just outside Chester. The price was very fair at £46 for a twin bedded room. Check in was quick and efficient. The room had everything we needed including free WIFI. The bathroom and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear JRMJ May I thank you most sincerely for your generous praise In particular I was pleased to note that you appreciated our high speed wi-fi and the value for money My reception team are rightly proud of their speed and friendly efficiency and they share my gratitude for your compliments I further note your thoughts as to the bedrooms... More

Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just to be clear, this is not a 5 star hotel at all and the room we were in looked "used" but I have to say that we found our family room here spacious and comfy with working aircon and a lovely big window. Lots of nice little touches like an iron and ironing board, extra pillows and free WiFi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear Jingleman Just a short note to thank you most sincerely for your kind comments I am delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your recent two night stay and , in particular , the quality of your family room with the additional benefits . The praise of our wi-fi was much appreciated as you may recognise the significant costs... More

Sedgwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Very mixed feelings about our one night stay at this hotel in the busy A55 into North Wales. On the positive side all the staff without exception were friendly, helpful and professional - and the facilities in theory were good. Breakfast was enjoyable and in a light, airy restaurant . But our stay was spoiled by the fact we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear GH Thank you so much for your time in posting this review I was so delighted to learn how much you had enjoyed attending the naming ceremony of Thomas - it was very generous of you to be so complimentary about so many aspects of your stay I have looked into the allocation of your room which was one... More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night while travelling to the Wales Comic Con. I was surprised with the room, a decent size and had 2 double beds, although the second bed had no headboard whatsoever so it wasn't great for relaxing in. The hotel was actually very hard to spot! Its's right on the motorway and doesn't have great signs,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear tyrant-virus May I take this opportunity of thanking you for taking the time to post your recent review Whilst I really appreciate you enjoyed staying , albeit only for one night , I am very conscious that there were certain aspects that require my attention . Please accept my assurance that I will be looking in detail at your... More

sunderland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

.Stopped here with my wife,daughter her husband and our two grand children,we had two family rooms We stayed for one night while we went to chester zoo.Although the hotel could do with a bit updating you can not fault the staff or the food which is served at the hotel.We had a meal on the night and breakfast and very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CHEUK_Response_from, Owner at Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), responded to this review

Dear ladsarmy I was so pleased to learn that had enjoyed all aspects of your stay in my hotel and that your grandchildren enjoyed their day at Chester Zoo I find that the advantage with buying the tickets from my hotel , apart from saving on the prices charged at the door , is the time it saves when you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)

Address: Gateway Svc Westbound A55, Northop CH7 6HB, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Northop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn a55 - Chester (West) Hotel Northop
Holiday Inn Northop
Holiday Inn Chester
Chester Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West) Northop, Wales - North Wales

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
56

See which rooms travelers prefer