We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages

Certificate of Excellence
Gellifawr, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Hotel amenities
Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
bella3777 South Wales, UK
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    69
    26
    16
    4
See reviews for
56
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
South Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Second time me, my husband and 2 dogs have stayed, and we plan to make it an annual event, luckily our birthdays are in May so it coincides with the beautiful spring flowers that can be found in this part of the world. The Gellifawr is a lovely place to stay, we stayed in a pet friendly cottage, we're always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a very warm welcome from the team, arriving in the rain on a Friday night. The hotel is wonderfully placed off the beaten track in the middle of the national park. Seeing that we were less than mobile our booking was swapped for an access cottage without asking us. Thoughtful. The cottage was lovely but if you were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was sad to see a negative review of this Hotel as I think it would be a perfect wedding venue! My boyfriend and I stayed in a cottage for 1 night back in March. On our arrival we were greeted by the manger Keith who was extremely welcoming and did all he could to get us settled. The cottage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Keith E, General Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Gellifawr.We are deleighted you had such a great time with us and hope to see you again in the near future. Keith Eaton GM. More 

Bala, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 2 nights but wish we could have stayed longer. The staff are really good and helpful especially Jane and Julie - we were in one of the cottages with the dog and the standard of the cottage was breathtaking! Brilliant - thanks to everyone. Oh yes, the food was brilliant too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keith E, General Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting your review.We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Gellifawr and hope to see you again soon. Keith Eaton GM More 

Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely day we had at Gellifawr hotel. We arranged to meet for a family get together last Sunday , we had a marvellous time. We booked for 12.30 and stayed most of the afternoon there. Staff were all very welcoming and the out look of the property was amazing and very picturesque . The Sunday lunch was one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith E, General Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review on our Sunday lunch.We hope to see you again in the very near future. Keith Eaton GM More 

Swansea County, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited the hotel recently for sunday lunch in the front restaurant. We were greated by warm friendly staff and shown to our table after welcoming drinks, We were a little late showing up but we were accomadated all the same due too trouble with our sat nav.... One of our party is a vegeterian which we didnt say about when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keith E, General Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Gellifawr .We are deleighted you had a good experience with us and hope to see you soon. Keith Eaton GM. More 

Cardigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well i wouldn't recommend getting married there. We got married there on the on the 14th of march, the staff were fantastic and helpful, but the Management were useless and uncaring. We had to put up with Racialism. Dirty rooms. Stale food. Being sold alcohol twice over. The complaints go on and on from us and from our guest's who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith E, General Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review Gellifawr Hotel. We are so disappointed to read your comments. Please contact me as a matter of urgency to discuss the issues raised. I do find it somewhat strange that when departing the hotel your new bride commented on what a lovely time you had with us and on the standard of... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were married here recently, hotel is beautiful for a wedding. We had the best day we could ever have imagined thanks to gellifawr and Jane. Food was amazing, everyone loved the bbq. The day itself was faultless. We were able to decorate the day before which was massive help. Unfortunately customer service was lacking, we were told we would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith E, General Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Gellifawr Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your special day. If you would like to contact me on 01239 820343 then we can discuss these matters further. Kind Regards, Keith Eaton General Manager More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely cottages to spend a weekend in. Very clean and well equipped. Staff friendly and helpful. Food in hotel very tasty although maybe a little pricy. Location is stunning. We had a lively stay here and would highly recommend it. It's only a short drive to Newport and the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith E, General Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Gellifawr and do hope you return to see us soon. Keith Eaton GM. More 

Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here with our two border collies. We stayed in one of the cottages, which was comfortable, well-equipped, very clean and cozy. The location is idyllic and an ideal place from which to explore Pembrokeshire and Ceredigion. We ate Sunday lunch in the restaurant and it was probably the best Sunday lunch I've ever had. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith E, General Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

We are deleighted you enjoyed our" little bit of heaven" and look forward to seeing you again soon and of course the dogs. Keith Eaton GM. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities