We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Pontfaen hotels

Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages

Gellifawr, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages to your Saves list
Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
75%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Pontfaen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Scarlet18 Wales
  • Overview
  • Reviews (137)
  • Photos (27)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    45
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
37
72
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this two night stay through Travelzoo at £89 for B&B. The breakfast was delicious especially the local bacon. The chef was very accommodating with my husbands request for extra black pudding. All the staff were friendly and asked us if we had enjoyed our day out and about. The staff seemed genuinely pleased to answer our questions. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As like many of the other reviewers we booked with the Travelzoo deal for a 2 night break. We booked some weeks before our planned stay which was to celebrate a special anniversary, so arranged via phone which cottage we were booking into.The night before travelling we received a phone call requesting us to change cottages, checking on the website... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this deal on travel zoo. We stated 2 nights in a 1 bed cottage. Firstly I wasn't entirely sure where this place was located other than in the middle of Pembrokeshire coastline national park. We are from a city/town environment so found the area was 'like being in the middle of nowhere' but didn't mind seeing as tho the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Gellifawr Hotel & Cottages and your kind words have been passed on to the team members as I know they will be pleased to hear that they have made your stay memorable. We pride ourselves on our beautiful location and surrounding... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked into the hotel for a two night break. Just had a nightmare 4 hours as our car had broken down. Rang ahead and informed the hotel, who were great. Once we eventually arrived Chef was able to get us something to eat even though the Kitchen had closed. The room we had was very good, but unfortunately the chain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Apologies for the disruption with your stay following an issue with the toilet in your room. We are glad that we were able to accommodate and ensure that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and hope that the car situation was solved promptly. We hope to see you again at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages. More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a self catering cottage, which was really lovely. The hotel & cottages are set in beautiful, quiet countryside. We had out 3 dogs with us so the slate floor in cottage was so practical . Plenty of great walks around hotel. As we s/c we didn't eat in the hotel, but the staff we friendly and very helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Was lovely to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Gellifawr Hotel & Cottages and enjoyed the relaxing surroundings during your walks. We hope that we will see you again soon and hope that you will join us in our restaurant and bar to enjoy all that we can offer. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a one bed cottage on the site. Superb area with lovely walks from the doorstep. Cottage was really clean though kitchen could have been a little better equipped. Limited outdoor seating, would have been nice to have one table and chairs out in the garden per cottage. As the weather was amazing the seats were often in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are currently in the process of updating the kitchen equipment and are reviewing the outdoor seating areas to accommodate all guests. We apologise for the confusion with the menu options on the Sunday Evening of your stay. We are aware that the menu was reduced due to reviewing our menu's offered of a Sunday... More

pembrokeshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thought my wife and I would take a run out in the country side for sunday lunch.We heard about this hotel situated in this lovely valley just under the foothills of the Preseli mountains in Pembrokeshire.We were told they serve a carvery sunday lunch whitch we were looking forward to. The carvery was set out quite nice, Roast turkey, roast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Firstly, we apologise for your negative experience with us at Gellifawr Hotel during our Sunday Carvery. We can assure you that our produce used are fresh and locally sourced and are cooked before serving to the public to ensure the best taste possible. We do allow our staff to have a cooked dinner of a Sunday, however this is only... More

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had bought a KGB deal to use at this hotel. It was very well priced and the location looked idyllic. When booking we had asked for a quite room and were told that the whole hotel was quiet due to the peaceful surroundings of the national park. The drive from Birmingham to Wales was lovely although the road to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our sister hotel, Gwesty'r Emlyn. We are always happy to accommodate to the best of our ability. We apologise for the disturbance in Room 3, we always aim to keep our music level to a minimum and hope that this will not happen again. We hope... More

Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I were on a weekend motorbike ride through Wales and the tendency is to "wing it" in regard to accommodation. As we were heading up towards Fishguard, we searched in that area and came across 1 Executive double room vacancy at this hotel. There are only 7 bedrooms in all in the main hotel. Finding it is,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal with us following a long day on your bike. We are very lucky to be nestled into the National Park Preseli Mountains therefore are pleased to see that you also enjoyed the surrounding area. We are sorry to hear that you were lead... More

Coventry
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here in the Carreg Las cottage for the weekend as a couple + dog. Not actually done on a deal but they matched the kgb deals price so effectively it was. The place itself is down a typical Pembrokeshire minor road. If you haven't tried these before, they are generally narrow with high hedges and occasional passing places. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Keith E, Manager at Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are extremely pleased you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us here at Gellifawr Hotel & Cottages. Our chef works wonders in the kitchen so we are glad you enjoyed your evening meal with us within our restaurant and your comments have been passed on. We are proud of our teams efforts to make your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages

Address: Gellifawr, Pontfaen SA65 9TX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pontfaen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Gellifawr Hotel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gellifawr Hotel Fishguard

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gellifawr is located in the beautiful Gwaun Valley in the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park, about four miles from the coast and beaches at Newport Sands. Perfect for walking, bird watching, hiking, cycling, nature watching, beaches, sightseeing or just relaxing in the friendly and comfortable welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer