We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stance Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Stance Cottage | Bridge of orchy, Bridge of Orchy PA36 4AD, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridge of Orchy
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Stance Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

We stayed here whilst walking the WHW, the owners were very nice, the room was spacious, clean and warm, and the breakfast was fine. On the other hand there was no TV or wifi, no bedside table or shelf, and the mattress protectors were really crinkly and noisy so we didn't get the best night's sleep. There was soap at... More 

Helpful?
Thank 91katy
Mick A, Owner at Stance Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I am glad you found your room warm and welcoming.You mentioned there was no table in the room,as you can see in the picture of our room,the one you were in there is a table and 2 chairs! Televisions are being added to our rooms this winter and as we are in a very remote and rural area WIFI is... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

A lovely looking cottage inside and out! Our bedroom had two single beds and an en suite bathroom. It was newly decorated with modern stylish features. Breakfast was served in our bedroom at the dining table. This was a nice touch and a gentle way to wake up early in the morning before starting our 4th day of walking the... More 

Helpful?
Thank geb1984
Mick A, Owner at Stance Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments,and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. In regards to breakfast size,we always tell guests if you require anything else please just ask. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Mick More 

Lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here on out way back from touring the highlands. We weren't disappointed, the owners were very friendly, the room was spacious, clean and most of all warm! The shower was powerful which is always a nice touch. The bridge of orchy is just a few strides away, we ate there one night and the food was wonderful, again,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ljtLancashire
Mick A, Owner at Stance Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments,I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We always make sure your room is warm and clean and that you have everything you need for an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your dog in the future. Mick. More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015

We booked this B&B since we saw nice reviews. Upon showing up, hot water didnt work yet and the whole place smelled of paint. We talk to the owners and it looks like they just took over 3 months ago... or last thats what they said. Compared to other B&Bs along the way, this was fine. Owners were hospitable. However,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JFC1983
Mick A, Owner at Stance Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Having taken over the B&B 3 months ago we have had to install a new heating system,and have tried to keep disruption to a minimum,the work will be finished by the end of September,and I hope you will return in the future. Hot water is available 24 hours a day,when you arrived,2 hours before check... More 

england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

What a lovely B&B,the hosts were friendly and helpful,nothing was to much trouble. A clean,warm bedroom and a tasty breakfast.The B&B is located in a beautiful area of outstanding natural beauty. Will book again next year.

Helpful?
Thank yogaEngland
Mick A, Owner at Stance Cottage Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments,we are glad you enjoyed your stay,and look forward to welcoming you next year. More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This little B and B is a gem. The owners could not do enough for us and were clearly very kind people as they also had an overseas guest who was struggling with the WHW and were doing their best to support her. Boots and wet clothes were taken away and dried out more than other venues en route. The... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank madmichele
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst walking the west highland way. Greeted with open arms from the owners who always tried to use our names which was a wcoming touch. Our bedroom was not ensuite but as the other room was it was like having a private bathroom. Located just over the road from the hotel which serves good food and drink... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Localfamilyeats
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Stance Cottage for one night while walking the West Highland Way. We shared a twin Bedroom and had the Scottish Breakfast. We really enjoyed both. Plus our hosts were really nice and caring. For Dinner I would recommend the Bridge of Orchy Hotel, we really enjoyed the food there aswell.

Helpful?
2 Thank AylinWinchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay at Stance and I was pleased to find that the standards were just as good if not better than my first stay. Excellent location for Munro bagging and an excellent breakfast to start an active day. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
1 Thank Northumbriamale
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you have a choice between the Bridge of Orchy Hotel and this little B & B, Stance Cottage wins hands down. Right opposite the Hotel (handy for your dinner) is this little B & B. Perfect for the West Highland Way. We received a wonderful warm welcome from Susan our host. The B & B is in a separate... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Libby W
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridge of Orchy
0.0 mi away
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
The MacDonald Hotel & Cabins
#1 of 1 in Kinlochleven
4.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Crianlarich Hotel
0.0 mi away
Ben More Lodge Hotel
Ben More Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crianlarich
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
Bridge of Orchy Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bridge of Orchy
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blackwater Hostel
Blackwater Hostel
#1 of 4 in Kinlochleven
4.5 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#1 of 3 in Balmaha
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities