We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Marine Hotel

#1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Golf Rd, Brora KW9 6QS, Scotland
Special Offer
ONLINE BOOKING + PRICING
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Marine Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I visited The Marine Hotel today for a swim lunch. The young gentlemen who met us at the bar gave us a very nice welcome. The pool and changing rooms where clean comfortable and warm. The lunch was very enjoyable fresh food served up very nicely and again served by the same young man who was polite... More 

Helpful?
Thank brambles2015
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Going north we felt the need for coffee and called in at Marine having heard of it from friends. Garden room is very pleasant, with 2 groups of ladies having orning coffeee. We had to wait for ages for someone to come even after ringing the bell. Coffee and scones were nicely served with cream, jam and a raspberry. Coffee... More 

Helpful?
Thank bannlagan
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

On my way to Thurso to meet a client and was highly recommended this hotel to break my journey. An excellent professional check in with the offer of luggage assistance although declined. My deluxe room was spacious, clean and inviting with a terrific large double bed and two chairs to give the illusion of a break out area, a real... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Victus C
Clansman1909, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victus C Thank you so much for your review , and that the recommendation of the Royal Marine Hotel lived up to your expectations . We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay , and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future . Kind Regards... More 

Evanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with my wife and young grandson for a swim lunch yesterday and had a great time. We had a choice of pools and I was able to have a sauna afterwards. Lovely menu in the garden room restaurant and a nice childrens menu. My grandson was supplied with crayons as his menu doubled up as a colouring in book.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil D
Clansman1909, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil D Thank you so much for the recent review of your "swim lunch" at the Royal Marine . We are delighted that you all enjoyed your day and that you were so well looked after by the team . Our "swim lunches" are extremely popular , particularly at weekends and we look forward to welcoming you back in... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sadly northern Scotland has virtually no decent hotels and restaurants. The Royal marine is the best you are going to get. It used to be wonderful, but with the retirement of the exceptional Isobel, things are going downhill. The lack of hygiene irritates me, with dirty glasses, dirty cups, and "dirty" jars of jam and packets of butter touching the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Huggable2016
Clansman1909, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Huggable2016 Thank you for taking the time to write the above review . I am concerned at some issues you have raised , but wish to reassure you that we are all focused on maintaining , and indeed constantly improving the standards in the Royal Marine . You in particular point out that we do not cater for vegans... More 

Derbyshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a one night stay at this hotel just before Christmas. The hotel is in a pleasant position close to the golf club and handy for a visit to the Clynelish Distillery. We were upgraded upon arrival to a large room with a sofa and very comfortable bed. We dined in the restaurant and had a lovely meal -... More 

Helpful?
Thank GinnieC
Clansman1909, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GinnieC On behalf of all the team can I thank you for your lovely recent review . We are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects during your recent stay , in particular relaxing in front of our roaring fire after dinner on a cold December night with a Clynelish 14yo . We do hope that we may have the... More 

Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2015

Coming to the Sutherland coast in December may not be everyone's idea of an ideal winter break, but think again, because whilst Brora beach may be bracing and the wind of the North sea chilly, once you step inside the Royal Marine Hotel and shut that great oak door behind you, the wood smoke scents and the warmth from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Clansman1909, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian G .. Thank you so much for such a kind review . The Royal Marine is indeed a special place and as you say the blazing fire and character of the building adds to it . I will pass on your comments to all the team and I know that they will be much appreciated by all .... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

Booked for 2nights but as it was off season and very quiet we got moved to a fantastic apartment with amazing sea views 1 minute walk away from the main house. Came with a breakfast basket and full use of the hotel facilities. Had dinner at the hotel restaurant which was very tasty. Would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank 333LizP
Clansman1909, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LizP Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your recent stay at our nearby apartments . These are popular year round and the comfort of the apartments and constantly changing sea views ensure that they have the WOW factor , particularly for first timers like yourselves . We are delighted that you would definitely stay again and... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at this lovely friendly hotel. The staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. One of our group was ill and had to stay about the hotel most of the week but the staff looked after her really well. The good was excellent, rooms clean and very comfortable. The fire... More 

Helpful?
Thank fionac414
Clansman1909, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona C Thank you for such a kind review and we hope that the member of your party who was unwell , has fully recovered . I will pass on your comments to the staff and I am proud of the way they constantly strive to ensure our guests are well looked after , and as importantly put them... More 

Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

Developed to preserve the original house design, this hotel offers cosy comfort but the facilities of a larger hotel. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and found the food excellent. Staff were helpful and friendly. A real treat.

Helpful?
Thank DannyMPhnomPenh
Clansman1909, Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Danny M Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Royal Marine , and we are delighted that you found all aspects of your stay enjoyable . Our winter deals have proved popular , and it is as you say a cosy hotel to get away from the winter chill ,with the added bonus of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brora
11.4 mi away
Dornoch Castle Hotel
Dornoch Castle Hotel
#3 of 7 in Dornoch
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
11.3 mi away
Royal Golf Hotel
Royal Golf Hotel
#2 of 7 in Dornoch
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
15.8 mi away
Morangie House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Sutherland Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Brora
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
16.3 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kincraig Castle Hotel
Kincraig Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invergordon
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay