We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Brora hotels

Royal Marine Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Golf Rd, Brora KW9 6QS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Royal Marine Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Marine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
90%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
EastYorkshireFingers East Yorkshire
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    55
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
48
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have read some of the comments about the apartments at the Royal Marine being a bit care worn and that has made me realise that we probably did the correct thing by taking the "Master" one of the "Master rooms" in the main body of the old hotel building. Old style quality through and through with obliging and unobtrusive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Have not stayed in this hotel but have enjoyed several meals here.The hotel is very well maintained, very cosy and traditional in style. Four of us enjoyed an excellent meal in the main restaurant. Staff welcoming and friendly. Looking forward to going again during our 4 week stay up here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here with a tour group. The main hotel is a lovely, classic building. I felt is should have Whisky and a cigar in the lobby! Lots of wood and leather--really comfortable and timeless. I cannot speak to the hotel rooms, however, as several of us were given apartments in the "annex". So, we ended up with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely 'old fashioned' feel to the hotel and public areas in particular. Feels like a private members only golf club, which in a sense is what it is, with loads of leather sofas and chairs in the public areas, dark wood trim and lots of golfing memorabelia on the walls.The owners have resisted the temptation to over-restore it and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyable stay. Clean presentable. Nice food. Good little spot. We stayed in one of the houses not the hotel and this was tricky to find. It perhaps should have been shown to us where to go as we were all bleary eyed from travelling. The staff were all very polite and friendly! No complaints!

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catriona, Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind review following your recent stay in one the Links Villas over-looking the beach and golf course. I apologise if we did not direct you properly to your accommodation, however I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can perhaps return before too long. Kind... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chunky chips are out of this world. Staff are nice. I like to pop into The Garden Room sometimes. Always a nice atmosphere. For people visiting Brora, Hotel is less than 2 mins away from Golf Course and beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deirdre, Many thanks for your kind comments following your visit to the Garden Room very recently. I am delighted that you like our chunky chips and the warm friendly atmosphere. I do hope you can pop in again soon. Kind regards, Robert Ratcliffe Director & General Manager More

Tring, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel occupies a lovely Robert Lorimer building, originally built as a private house and full of period charm. The dining room is attractive in a country house way, and we enjoyed our meal (starter and mains), although the dessert choices were so limited that we didn't find anything worth bothering with. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your complimentary review following your recent stay at The Royal Marine Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotels ambiance, the dining room and your meal. I am sorry you felt there was an insufficient choice of desserts. There is always a choice of six including a selection of... More

Grantown On spey Scotland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Been here many times before. Wonderful location for walking or golfing. The leisure centre is excellent and the food in the restaurant never disappoints. We had a large room overlooking the front of the Hotel which on this occasion was a bit noisy. The room was nice but was a little tired as was the bathroom which was very small.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 37
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us in July. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay especially the hotels location, our leisure centre and the quality of food in the restaurant. It is interesting that you comment upon your bathroom as we are in the process of planning a... More

Moray, Scotland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Marine is a beautiful period hotel near the centre of Brora. It's location is perfect: just off the A9 which runs through Brora and 5 minutes walk to beautiful beaches, the golf course, the station and the town centre. We stayed in a classic room which was reasonably spacious, had good quality decor and a large bathroom. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 49
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your stay here in July. I am pleased that you enjoyed your bedroom, the hotels location just off the A9 and our leisure facilities, however concerned that you felt the restaurant food and service was not value for money. I regret you felt this to... More

Dereham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed just for a night but in great luxury in the Lynx View Apartments, some little way from the hotel itself. These are fully fitted out as holiday cottages with a great view of the golf course, as the name suggests, but also the 'northern' beach and a stunning view of the North Eastern coast towards Helmsdale and beyond.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 46
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin, Many thanks for your kind review following your recent stay in the Links View Apartments in July. I am delighted that you enjoyed your vist. Brora does indeed provide a superb base from which to explore this beautiful part of Scotland and the Apartments especially if you prefer self catering yet with the hotels excellent facilities including restaurants... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Royal Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Address: Golf Rd, Brora KW9 6QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Marine Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine Brora
Royal Marine Hotel Brora, Scotland

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)