We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Brora hotels

Royal Marine Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Golf Rd, Brora KW9 6QS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Royal Marine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Marine Hotel to your Saves list
90%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brora
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nancy M HARBOR SPRINGS
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    56
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
49
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
HARBOR SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very charming hotel. We enjoyed our one night stay! The room was wonderfully decorated with lots of nice details. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep! The bathroom was very nice with a tub and shower and in excellent working order. The rate was a little pricey for one night but it was worth it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great place to stop over. Staff are excellent, food is the best for miles around. Rooms are clean comfortable and good value. Fantastic walks along the coast and a lovely beach, great golf course beside the hotel. Just perfect for a wee break!

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely room overlooking the front of the hotel. Golf course is just round the corner, a two minute walk. Although we couldn't see the sea you could hear the waves lapping the shore from our room. Our room was very comfortable. Before dinner we sat at the log fire with a pre dinner drink. Lots of wood and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 19
East Yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have read some of the comments about the apartments at the Royal Marine being a bit care worn and that has made me realise that we probably did the correct thing by taking the "Master" one of the "Master rooms" in the main body of the old hotel building. Old style quality through and through with obliging and unobtrusive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 27
Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Have not stayed in this hotel but have enjoyed several meals here.The hotel is very well maintained, very cosy and traditional in style. Four of us enjoyed an excellent meal in the main restaurant. Staff welcoming and friendly. Looking forward to going again during our 4 week stay up here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 29
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your very kind and complimentary review following your recent meal in the hotel. Naturally I am delighted that your enjoyed your dining experience and look forward to welcoming you once again during your stay. Kind Regards, Robert Ratcliffe Director & General Manager More

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
48 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here with a tour group. The main hotel is a lovely, classic building. I felt is should have Whisky and a cigar in the lobby! Lots of wood and leather--really comfortable and timeless. I cannot speak to the hotel rooms, however, as several of us were given apartments in the "annex". So, we ended up with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 33
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay in one of our Links Apartments. These luxury, contemporary, open-plan apartments are about 3 minutes walk from the hotel overlooking the miles of sandy beach. We use them as hotel over-spill if required, however they are mainly let out for longer periods sometimes up... More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Lovely 'old fashioned' feel to the hotel and public areas in particular. Feels like a private members only golf club, which in a sense is what it is, with loads of leather sofas and chairs in the public areas, dark wood trim and lots of golfing memorabelia on the walls.The owners have resisted the temptation to over-restore it and there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 33
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bearair52, Many thanks for taking the time to post your most complimentary review following your recent stay at The Royal Marine Hotel. Naturally I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and that my team looked after you so well. Your observations and descriptions are greatly appreciated. I look forward to your return at some point... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Enjoyable stay. Clean presentable. Nice food. Good little spot. We stayed in one of the houses not the hotel and this was tricky to find. It perhaps should have been shown to us where to go as we were all bleary eyed from travelling. The staff were all very polite and friendly! No complaints!

Was this review helpful? Yes 36
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catriona, Many thanks for taking the time to post your kind review following your recent stay in one the Links Villas over-looking the beach and golf course. I apologise if we did not direct you properly to your accommodation, however I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can perhaps return before too long. Kind... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Chunky chips are out of this world. Staff are nice. I like to pop into The Garden Room sometimes. Always a nice atmosphere. For people visiting Brora, Hotel is less than 2 mins away from Golf Course and beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 37
managerroyalgolf, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deirdre, Many thanks for your kind comments following your visit to the Garden Room very recently. I am delighted that you like our chunky chips and the warm friendly atmosphere. I do hope you can pop in again soon. Kind regards, Robert Ratcliffe Director & General Manager More

Tring, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights. The hotel occupies a lovely Robert Lorimer building, originally built as a private house and full of period charm. The dining room is attractive in a country house way, and we enjoyed our meal (starter and mains), although the dessert choices were so limited that we didn't find anything worth bothering with. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
Robert R, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post your complimentary review following your recent stay at The Royal Marine Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotels ambiance, the dining room and your meal. I am sorry you felt there was an insufficient choice of desserts. There is always a choice of six including a selection of... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Royal Marine Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Address: Golf Rd, Brora KW9 6QS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Brora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Marine Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine Brora
Royal Marine Hotel Brora, Scotland

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay