We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grant Arms Hotel

11 Market Place, Ramsbottom, Bury BL0 9AJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grant Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Grant Arms Hotel
The Grant Arms Hotel
The Grant Arms Hotel
Share an Experience

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    12
    14
    20
See reviews for
16
20
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (71)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

We have just returned from a nights stay at The Grant Arms. We booked a double room through Booking.com, which was discounted. We were asked to choose two rooms, we were given the option of a twin or double, so we had to choose both. We were then told it was a twin room with an option to change to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Didcot, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

This is really a pub with rooms. My first experience was finding the hotel entrance locked with a note to call a mobile no. It was easier to get the friendly bar staff to check me in; there's an entrance from the pub. The reception desk was unstaffed during my stay. The bar was noisy on the Saturday night but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Our usual stopover was full so we booked the Grant Arms then read the reviews and arrived a little apprehensive. The car park being in the middle of town was full at 2pm but almost empty at 5pm when we checked in. Found the side door open, rang the bell and a young man came at once. He gave us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Just had my sons 18th in the function room. We were very happy with the room and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The food was good value and plenty of choice, drinks reasonably priced. Everyone had a good night so thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Enjoyed our wedding here the staff couldnt have been more helpful during the process of wedding planning even with 3 do overs. The function room was big enough for all our guests and was open from 10am to decorate which took alot of panick off everyone involved in dressing the room. We stayed in the bridal suite which was lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

The Grants Arms Hotel is a listed building and that shows not just from the outside but from the inside aswell, Which gave a great backdrop to our wedding reception filled with good friends and family that were well catered for by the very friendly staff, though they did offer a full wedding service there was no problems with us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

First of all we was welcomed by a 6ft barking dog ! I paid for a room for me and my girlfriend we got a twin room because they didn't have a double left. When we arrived at the hotel it was freezing ! At about 5 o'clock the heating was put on for an hour. We stayed at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Grant A, Manager at The Grant Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Shocking review amongst lies!.... After speaking with the bride she has confirmed she and her guests were happy with all parts of the wedding. A refund was refused after you had checked in the room hours beforehand! You paid £50 (a discouinted rate for a double room) You were informed on booking that there were no double rooms left and... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ramsbottom hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at the Grant Arms .We stayed in Room no. 1. It's a family room, clean, spacious, great beds and bathroom. The only downside was a bit of noise coming from the pub below on friday night. No complaints with the breakfast or the staff. Would we stay again ? Yes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Manager at The Grant Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for your fair review More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Stayed with mum to spend time with poorly relative in Bury - booked at very short notice. Price for bed and breakfast very good via booking.com. Rang hotel to ask re stairs as mum is 86 and was told rooms are all on first floor and 2 flights of 10 stairs each to it. Arrive at hotel. Enter through bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Grant A, Manager at The Grant Arms Hotel, responded to this review

As you mentioned you contacted the hotel prior to arrival and I told you how many stairs there were from the hotel up to the bedrooms. I never imagined you would enter through the pub and use another 2 flights of stairs. We have never had a single issue of property being taken from a room! In fact we have... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014 via mobile

hotel is dated but you can see they are trying to make improvements, I think it is a family run business and you can see they are trying to do their best. When we first arrived we were greeted by girl on reception who was very friendly and helpful as were all the staff. The rooms are very basic but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grant A, Manager at The Grant Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your fair review More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question