We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Horse Hotel

High Street, Rottingdean BN2 7HR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Horse Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
White Horse Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    75
    119
    44
    22
    26
See reviews for
54
159
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I stayed at this location for one night. This is the first time since its recent major re-furbishment. The hotel is presented in a modern fashion decor wise and the rooms have everything you need for 1-7 nights stay. The food is typical Greene King so no surprises, the prices are ok sometimes a bit steep. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a rubbish stay at The Bell Hotel in Woburn and having complained about, Greene King offered us a complimentary stay at our choice of hotel. I booked this in May and we had been looking forward to it, with a bit of trepidation, in light of the last stay. Now we are quite tricky to please as a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I, and a friend, stayed for 5 nights (19 to 24 July 2015) in rooms 26 and 7.Rooms were newly decorated and beds comfortable. Downside of these rooms was they overlooked a busy road. Double-glazing effectively shut out noise but then room was too warm! A Catch-22. The hotel staff are excellent: very friendly, attentive and efficient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review, Audrey is an experienced manager and has worked for Old English Inns for many years, I will ensure that whole team see and read your review, we hope you come back and visit us again soon, Kind regards More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I went for a lunch with friends to this restaurant. Liked the location and the sea view. However the food was disappointing, I ordered the sea food pie with king prawns, well the prawns in my pie probably were a prawn fetus, so small, almost invisible. As the overall portion was too small as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, I like you love fish dishes especially the dish you mentioned in your review with the King prawns, I will ensure that the Kitchen manager is aware and can identify the quality issues, King regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Rottingdean hotels

Chesterfield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nice hotel in a lovely sea front location. Free parking however we did have to wait 5-10 minutes for a space to become available. Bus to Brighton directly outside the hotel which is handy and good value compared to city centre parking which was very expensive. The room we stayed in was nice and the bed comfy. The only fault... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback, we are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay, Health and Safety is our priority to ensure our guests safety at all times, but we are sorry that you could not sleep well after this experience, I have informed the management team regarding your review to help with... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the White Horse several times and returned on 4/7 with friends to celebrate their wedding anniversary.The hotel has had a refurbishment which was long overdue.It is now fresher,cleaner and brighter.It is in an excellent location right next to the sea and has easy access to Brighton marina and surrounding attractions.There is free parking for guests.The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Diane, We are extremely proud of the refurbishment at The White Horse, the points that you mentioned have been passed over to the management team to address and maintain, we are actively recruiting our front of house team to help us with our huge new demand since our makeover, Kind regards More 

Mirepoix, France
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Even Trip Advisor can't help with the weather. It was awful - sea mist, drizzle and cold (July in UK !!!). BUT if you love a place in bad weather then imagine what it would be like in the sunshine... Great position - on sea front. HUGE bed which was like a cloud for comfort. Lovely bar and restaurant -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Our lovely unpredictable English weather, I like you have experienced the Rottingdean windy and rainy weather and it is horrid, but I am glad that the team and hotel made your stay enjoyable and we thank you for sharing your experience with us, kind regards and hoping for sunshine ! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room appropriated decorated, if a bit tired around the edges (e.g. evidence of water stains on walls near the ceiling and bathroom that looks old.) For the price it was good value and lovely location. Food in restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast good value. I especially recommend the eggs benedict.

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Like you I love a great egg benedict, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us, we hope that you return soon, many thanks More 

Swansea
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well situated hotel bus stop right outside approx15 minutes into Brighton. Room was clean with a bath and shower in the bathroom. Food was well priced and served by an exceptional team including Terry Eugene and Grace. Breakfast is a mixture of buffet with a selection of fruit yoghurt cereal etc and if you wish you can order something cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

A great review to read many thanks More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a very standard pub, that appears to think putting chips in a bucket makes it up market. Average food, a below average selection of drinks and a customers who think it is perfectly acceptable to play music on there mobile phones without earphones. I would also like to add that when I asked the customers if they would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, we are sorry that your lunch was disturbed, we will be discussing your review with the team to help improve our standards, Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rottingdean
4.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#14 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Seattle
Hotel Seattle
#15 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 866 reviews
3.8 mi away
Thistle Brighton
Thistle Brighton
#10 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven
Premier Inn Newhaven
#1 of 1 in Newhaven
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
3.8 mi away
Myhotel Brighton
Myhotel Brighton
#8 of 45 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,641 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 45 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay