We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Horse Hotel

High Street, Rottingdean BN2 7HR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Horse Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
White Horse Hotel
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    100
    40
    20
    24
See reviews for
49
134
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (246)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is right by the sea in this lovely little village. Sitting on the patio, glass of wine, great food and very friendly staff, perfect. Although we only had lunch here we will definitely be back to stay and know from the standard we saw it will be great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave great feedback we are happy to read you enjoyed your recent visit with us, we look forward next time as staying as our guests, Kind regards More 

Playa Blanca
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent three lovely nights at the Whitehorse. The Brewery have spent just enough money to not have to inflate their prices too much that the cost would be over the top, the prices represent good value for money, breakfast is wonderful. It is the investment in the management and team that is priceless and makes a refreshing change! Everyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

A great review to read for the White Horse and thank you for seeing and writing about the great changes that the White Horse has undertaken this year, We look forward in you returning soon, Kind regards More 

United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had some good Old English Inn experiences in the past. Before booking here, I actually phoned to check, and was assured, we could get wifi in our room. On THAT basis, we booked for a break. Wrong! More or less non-existent at any time of day or night. Told staff who said we DID have it! We invited them to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

I apologise on behalf of the White Hart that you did not enjoy your recent stay, I will pass your comments onto the management team to help resolve the issues you experienced, Kind regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Rottingdean hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked this for a weekend away as couldn't find anything suitable in Brighton. From the photos we thought it was in the middle of nowhere. We were absolutely delighted to discover the lovely surroundings and we visited the indian restaurant, fish and chip shop and enjoyed an amazing night of live music at the local pub just up the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you really enjoyed your stay in Rottingdean, Thank you for your kind review and comments for the team which I will ensure are shared with them at there next team meeting, Kind regards More 

Newbury
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights and was and was more than pleased, better than expected.... Hotel nice and clean, beds lovely and comfy...breakfast lovely, staff really nice and friendly...sea view room great..great position...also had lunch on one of the two days that was nice to...overall a very enjoyable stay... Thank you.. Would definitely recommend this hotel....

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and great recommendation we look forward in welcoming you back soon, Kind regards More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been here a few times, nice place with great views over the ocean. Staff are friendly and pretty much on the ball... Had one of the nicest roasts I've had in ages in the restaurant went back a couple weeks later ordered the same roast at the same time of day however it was completely different which was a shame,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion. We will be taking steps to correct all the issues that you have kindly highlighted with the food service o n your second visit with the management team at The White Horse, Kind regards More 

Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has recently been refurbished so the reviews about cleanliness etc. are out of date. The staff are friendly and helpful and went to the trouble of making sure everything was good. In addition what is amazing about this hotel is it's stunning location. So if your looking for a break near Brighton but away from the hustle and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, We work hard in all areas of the hotel to provide fantastic value for money. It’s good to hear that you had a positive experience. I will share your feedback with all of the team. More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great stay,lovely clean room , great breakfast. All staff very helpful.In a great position right on the beach front, Bus stop out side if you use busses. Free parking and internet access. there are stairs to bedrooms but some easy access rooms on ground floor. would recommend to all

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit and for your lovely review. More 

Goole
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went on a stag do to Brighton. This accommodation was all that was available for a reasonable price and it was a GREAT find!! Just outside of Brighton centre it was great. The accommodation was comfortable, the breakfast was sufficient the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

What a great recommendation, thanks for taking the time to visit Trip Advisor, Kind regards More 

Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Has to be the worst service ever. Extremely slow. When the food did arrive it was over good and had to be sent back. When the fish and chips were reordered and delivered there was just a piece of fish, no chips or peas. Ten minutes later the chips turn up and the food was no better. Do yourself a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at White Horse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion. We will be taking steps to correct all the issues that you have kindly highlighted with the management team at The White Horse More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay