We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thurrock Hotel

Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Hotel amenities
The Thurrock Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Add Photo Write a Review

204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    34
    43
    48
    56
See reviews for
36
33
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (204)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (56)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was supposed to be an evening of fun for ladies. The shirtless waiters didn't even serve us as advertised. The food was awful. For the amount paid I was expecting a nice meal. Food was cold and poor quality. There was hardly any food, chicken piece was dry and was served with two potatoes. Even the quantity was small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - its a shame you never advised me on the night you were not happy with the event. This is the second Girls wanna have fun we have done and I felt that it was successful. However I will take your comments on board and ensure that we improve the event. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bedroom was shocking, the tiniest window ever, overseeing a brick wall, only two feet away. No hot water, in shower or washbasin, plus plug in washbasin was jammed, so could not fill or drain away. Toilet seat was hanging off in bathroom. In the restuarant service was non existant, and food was dire. To cap it all, room 4, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Aveley hotels

Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for one night with my son. Rooms were spacious, clean and bed was comfy. Hotel staff were helpful. Would probably stop here again if in vicinity. Only downside was there was a wedding party on, a couple of the guests were quite loud outside late at night then again early in the morning when loading their cars.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this as we were attending a 2 day event in London but didnt want to pay London prices so was happy to travel a short distance to get a cheaper deal. We paid £60 for a family room exc breakfast. After a long day we arrive at 10.30 pm, the guy on reception was pleasant and chatty. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whatever you do, don't let them put you in rooms 1 to 4..... these are right at the back of the property and have no windows that open to the world outside! I was given room G01, and i was straight back out to reception for a room change. These rooms are small, totally airless and have windows that open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reception staff need to be a bit more welcoming.If you don't like your job try something else which doesn't involve the public. Room was clean but needs updating.Bedroom floor creaking and walls need sound proofing, with the smell of damp. .Bar staff didn't no how to make certain drinks and where moody.Even though I tried to help and see funny... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Avoid this hotel! It's very tired and in a state of disrepair!! We sadly stayed there for a night and we honestly thought about gong home that evening. Most of the staff are young and really can't be asked. Our room was very tired, the toilet brush left inside the toilet, toilet door smashed, no lock on the toilet, cobwebs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015 via mobile

Pleasant hotel with a friendly welcome on reception. Room was very nice and clean. A great night in a good function hall. A good time had by all. A great breakfast to end our stay in the morning. Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Ignored on arrival, beds not comfortable, paid for breakfast which did not start till 8am when we needed to leave by 7.15am, although debs and Wendy where kind and helpful when they realised our problem. Had to go out for evening meal after waiting for 15 minutes to be served in the bar. I asked for a refund by email... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

The shower was basic but having said all this the most awful thing that decided me that i would not stay or recommend this hotel was the receptionist whom we saw twice once on arrival and when leaving she was so rude

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West
Premier Inn Thurrock West
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East
Premier Inn Thurrock East
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
18.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#5 of 5 in Grays Thurrock
3.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay