We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Aveley B&Bs / inns

The Thurrock Hotel

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Thurrock Hotel to your Saves list
The Thurrock Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Aveley B&B and Inns
  • Overview
  • Reviews (129)
  • Photos (34)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (44)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    23
    30
    29
    30
See reviews for
23
20
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This hotel is really easy to find, plenty of parking, room good size, nice big bathroom with bath & shower. It's a little dated and has some funny smells going on in places. The bathroom needed re-grouting and have to say wasn't spotless.. Also getting a drink at the bar in the evening - there were 5 people waiting before... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Limassol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel isn't good gor a family stay, there was dirt in the corners of the room, the carry cod for yhe chold was broken, food of very poor quality, wifi horribly slow. If I knew we would rather pay a bit more but enjoy our holidays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bremen, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was staying at the hotel the weekend of the 9th August. first impression was that it looks nothing like the picture on their website!. The rooms are clean , although very tired and outdated. my TV was in the corner of the room and could only be seen from one side of the bed! Taking a shower was an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel was fine, clean and in a very good location from the M25. Staff were friendly and nothing was out of order. Decor could do with a bit of a spruce up but it's nothing major. Free wi-fi and free parking. All in all would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We attended a wedding at The Thurrock Hotel on Saturday 26th July. We arrived on Friday 25th July and stayed 2 nights. On arrival in our room we found there were not enough towels, no remote control, the lighting was very dim with no switch near the bed and no bedside lamps. We notified reception of the problems and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked three rooms at this hotel for a family funeral. It was located near enough to the cemetary and had free parking. On arrival was asked for full payment. I refused until had seen the room. Went to the rooms they were adequate, clean but very tired and dated. We paid for the rooms up front. Also booked for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Haikou, China
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel as I needed a place to stay for a hard to reach job interview - and as a result I was more than happy to stay in this hotel, particularly considering it was £30 cheaper than the Premier Inn less than a mile away. I believe the price was very acceptable for a 3* hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
huddersfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I needed a hotel close to Thurrock and was not disappointed to have chosen this one. The hotel rooms are in need of some refurbishment but cleanliness and comfort was more than adequate. The food was good, both evening meals and breakfast. Friendly service. Would consider returning for either business or leisure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I hope to see you soon. More

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed over for one night with my partner and 2yr old The staff were very polite and friendly and couldnt do more to help you The room was clean and tidy, the shower had a few issues sigh regulating heat and not drIning quick enough, bathroom could do with a bit of TLC Beds were comfy and linen fresh... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am pleased that you have seen the positives at the hotel. Sorry to hear you were not informed of the wedding at the hotel. We do advise on check in. The majorority of reservations are now made online and cuts out talking to the hotel direct. I would urge any guest to phone ahead... More

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel rooms need updating plus noisy guests outside hotel at 1am.We didnt get the food we ordered.No pineapple juice behind bar!Rude staff when dealing with a mix up room situation.Will not be staying here again especially with the overpriced rooms.Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel. Sorry we never met your expectations. I can assure you your comments will be investigated. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Thurrock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thurrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thurrock Hotel

Address: Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Aveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thurrock Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Thurrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
65

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Thurrock Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer