We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thurrock Hotel

Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Hotel amenities
The Thurrock Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    30
    40
    43
    46
See reviews for
33
29
8
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (181)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (41)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had the misfortune of needing a room in this vicinity at the last minute. This was the only hotel available and it was like camping out on the motorway verge. The former school is tired and the rooms have a musty (or worse) smell. The toilet in my bathroom was difficult to flush and when it did engage it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Upminster Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night at the Thurrock Hotel to attend a function. On arrival a very polite receptionist checked us in quickly and efficiently and offered us help with our bags. We were rather disappointed with our room which although clean was very dated. The bathroom was a good size and I was pleased to be able to open the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The executive room was large, modern and finished to a high standard. Bed very comfortable, crisp white bed linen and towels. Bathroom modern and spotlessly clean. Booked on Internet, very easy transaction. Receptionist on arrival was very pleasant, helpful and professional. Bar staff at party all very nice and worked efficiently. Staff at breakfast very helpful and breakfast was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very good 3 star hotel. The young lad who booked us in was efficient and polite. He pointed out that the hotel had 2 parties and that their might be some noise until midnight. However the room we had was delightful and quiet (apart from the M25). The room was clean and had been refurbished and spacious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with work. Rooms were a great size and had everything you need. The only thing I could fault at the hotel was the service at the bar been a bit slow. Had to go to reception to ask for someone to serve me. Apart from that great hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly, I would like to say that you cannot fault or complain about the staff in any circumstances. An extremely friendly, warm welcome, making you feel relaxed in the first instance. Also, very helpful. My only things are these, perhaps the tea/coffee facilities could be a little broader - maybe fruit teas/earl grey? But i cant complan they had nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to murder mystery with a group of friends for a Hen Party, what a great night. The event was very popular and the actors/ storyline was well rehearsed and entertaining. The food was good (maybe a bit small on dessert portions) but could not fault the service. Food well presented and hot. You do have to wait between courses... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here a number of times. It's clean but the whole place is in need of a revamp - it's pretty old fashioned. Part of the hotel has been painted recently though - I could smell it! There's a lot of road noise from some of the rooms and can be draughty. Last time I stayed it took a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from a "Murder Mystery evening" at this hotel and felt I had to write this review. The evening was extremely disappointing in many ways. The organisation of the food service was very poor indeed. My husband and I with two friends were on a table of 11, the starter came up with no problem and we were all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. i am so dissappointed you felt so negative regarding this event as the feedback i received was extremely positive. These events are so popular and so far this year Murder Mystery has sold out and the rest of 2015 looks great. As you could witness on the night we had sold 120 tickets. In regards... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although there are signs of revamping in the form of painting corridors this poor hotel needs a complete overhaul. The staff all look sullen and uninterested. Serving customers is obviously a chore. They give conflicting information about facilities. The rooms need more than paint. Wallpaper is tired and stained at the junction with skirting boards. Cracks in sinks. The water... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As you stated we have started to improve areas around the hotel and bedrooms. We have a long way to go however we are 25 mins from the centre of London and we provide full hotel and business services. The rates reflect the product which is amazing quality for a hotel this close to the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question