We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Aveley B&Bs / inns

The Thurrock Hotel

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Thurrock Hotel to your Saves list
The Thurrock Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
31%
Ranked #1 of 1 Aveley B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
kyle w Colchester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (119)
  • Photos (34)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (42)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    28
    27
    27
See reviews for
20
19
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My daughter had arranged a surprise event at this place, a good 6 months in advance. Paid over £1000 for the privilege. The day of hire. Room filthy, stained table cloths and toilets stank. She my daughter and sister sought the duty manager to get rectification, was met my surliness and attitude. When the cleaner finally got to the 'suite'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you comments. Your daughter - as the event organisor should contact me at the hotel and I can discuss any issues. To date I do not recall any complaint but as according to your review your date at the hotel was April and you have given me no details of the event you attended it is very... More

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 4nights, rooms a bit dated and grubby, then booked for another week as will do booking. Bad mistake. 6 nights where 3 were ruined by the hotel functions. 1st night pitch battles outside with 50police and a function gone wrong, 5th and 6th night functions with loud music and drunken lotus till 3am each night. Don't stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Leon - Thank you for your comments. I was pleased that you chose to return to the Thurrock Hotel after your first week with us. Sorry your second week was not as good. However i did agree with your comments whilst discussing the issues at the front desk and your account was credited back 3 nights. I also offered... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The pictures of the hotel on the internet are totally different than the reality, indeed, I thought I was at the wrong hotel. I arrived around 9.30 pm to be told that there was a wedding reception(on a Monday), the music of which could clearly be heard in reception. I therefore asked for a quiet room to which I was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry we never met your expectations on this occasion. I can assure you you we do listen to all feedback and put in place corrective measures. If you wish to contact me regarding your stay please email me dan@thurrockhotel.co.uk More

Saxmundham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have always been more than pleased with this hotel until my stay on Wednesday 16th July. I work locally although I live in Suffolk and have always to date received a discount on my room but when I checked in with my husband on this ocassion I was told the price was £88.00 (had been £68.50) including breakfast. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I appreciate your comments and I can assure you i have put these items right. I am available if you wish to discuss how we let you down in more detail on 01708 860222. We do value your custom in the past and I would like a chance to redeem ourselves. More

Newcastle
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I would never stay here again it was the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in and when we complained to the manager she just gave us a blank stare terrible service and very dirty and smelly!! There was no hot water so had to have a cold shower the room was cold as the windows would not shut... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your stay was on a very busy night at the hotel. I would appreciate it if you could contact me at the hotel to discuss further as i have no details of your stay More

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed for a week in this lovely hotel while working near by.. really nice food and extremely friendly staff. clean rooms and decent service.. only downside is wifi was quite slow but other to that no complaints.. would happily stay there again and would recommend to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I hope we will welcome you again soon. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel after out wedding the staff are amazing, the rooms are lovely. very clean and confortable, would definetely stay there again and highly reccomend to others, They offer not only single and double rooms but they also have suites that are amazing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - I hope to see you soon. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here in May for 2 nights as it was close to our festival, paid £90 a night to be put up in what was like an attic! The wifi did not even reach our room and we had to struggle to pull our cases up about 4 flights of stairs! When our door slammed a little door underneath the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not live upto your expectations. I can assure you we listen to any feedback and try to improve the service we offer. Staff at the hotel are on hand to make sure our guests are looked after. I hope you do try us again next year if you return for... More

Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night and it was a very satisfactory stay, with nice comfortable beds, a good sized TV and spacious bathroom with bath and shower facilities; also the receptionist who checked us in and out was very kind and approachable offering directions to the nearest amenities. I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I hope to welcome you again soon. More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we where going to a festival around the corner.. We entered the room and immediately we noticed a disgusting smell.. How can a room smell this bed when we have just arrived. Next day a group of about 15 of us went to the bar to at about 11:30 am to get some toast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. It is very easy to have any complaints dealt with during the stay. I apologise that staff at the hotel could not arrange toast for you. It has been dealt with and we will fulfil a request when it is reasonable and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Thurrock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Thurrock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thurrock Hotel

Address: Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Aveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thurrock Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Thurrock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
65

See which rooms travelers prefer