We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thurrock Hotel

Ship Lane, Aveley RM19 1YN, England
Hotel amenities
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Thurrock Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    35
    46
    52
    57
See reviews for
36
36
9
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From check in, double charged which took an age to address. Even the receptionist who was easy on the eyes couldn't divert my attention from the 90's throwback decor, and the tattyness of the place. My room (furthest away from civilisation, but still in the 90's) hit me with a busted TV and no wifi (as advertised). No aircon and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for August 1st because we were attending a wedding at nearby Moor Hall. The building is very large and with lots of TLC and work doing, could be a very nice place. My room was very basic and 'unloved' (son and his partner's seemed more 'tired' than mine) and not very pleasant (dirty carpet, gouges out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel for one night. I got a very spacious corner room and bathroom. Paid for a double room, but actually got given a triple room, with an extra bed!! The room and bathroom was very clean. The staff I encountered were nice enough and helpful. In general, the hotel was quiet, the only negative is you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on business and unfortunately it was the day of the heatwave so the 36 degree heat didn't really help! The bar wasn't particularly nice, quite dark and dingy, and I got ice in my wine as they didn't have any chilled (although as I said, it was the hottest day of the year). The room was on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
blackpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I thought i would travel down south to see my sisters ,my sister she would book me a hotel to stay for my birthday ,very generous really i thought ,so off we went 6 hours later we arrived at the thurrock hotel ,i remember it when it was bushy bit school ,my dad was the caretaker and we used to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Aveley hotels

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There was a friendly welcome at the reception desk and from the serving staff. The room was clean and well equipped, plenty of tea and coffee in the room. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and well cooked. The food was hot and of good quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I would never stay here again. It's reception is dirty, there's rubbish visible everywhere. The garden could be lovely but for the lack of seating, lights & there was broken glass all over the 'patio'. The hotel generally needs updating & sound proofing, I didn't sleep at all . There was no bed for my toddler, even though we were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night which was enough. This hotel could be lovely but it needs a complete makeover first. The carpets in the public areas were disgusting. The beds were clean and comfortable but that was where it ended. Our room faced on to the reception entrance and when people stood outside the noise was dreadful and the language colourful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

It was supposed to be an evening of fun for ladies. The shirtless waiters didn't even serve us as advertised. The food was awful. For the amount paid I was expecting a nice meal. Food was cold and poor quality. There was hardly any food, chicken piece was dry and was served with two potatoes. Even the quantity was small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Daniel M, Manager at The Thurrock Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - its a shame you never advised me on the night you were not happy with the event. This is the second Girls wanna have fun we have done and I felt that it was successful. However I will take your comments on board and ensure that we improve the event. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aveley
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock West
Premier Inn Thurrock West
#1 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Thurrock East
Premier Inn Thurrock East
#2 of 3 in West Thurrock
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis London Thurrock
Ibis London Thurrock
#5 of 5 in Grays Thurrock
3.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
Park Inn by Radisson Thurrock
#1 of 1 in North Stifford
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay