We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hempstead House

Certificate of Excellence
London Road, Bapchild, Sittingbourne ME9 9PP, England
Hotel amenities
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hempstead House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Have stayed here a number of times with my boyfriend. It is a lovely hotel and spa. Staff are friendly. If any issues management deal with it well. Rooms are lovely and the beds are amazing! Breakfast is always good too. Can't understand the poor reviews.

Helpful?
3 Thank deb8401
hempsteadhouse, Owner at Hempstead House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and positive review. We constantly strive to achieve the highest standards of customer service and it is so rewarding to hear when this is appreciated More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in January as one of 19 in a hen party. We each paid £155 each, plus extras for additional services. On arrival the only receptionist was very unwelcoming and told us to wait in another room as well as us there were other guests trying to book in. We explained that some of the party... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank claireandpeter
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited Hempstead House on 30th Jan for my sisters Hen weekend there was a group of 19 people age range from 21-65years, on arriving the hotel looked lovely very peaceful as we approached reception we was shocked to find there was only 1 receptionist to book in 19people from our group and there was also another two couples waiting... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Gracechapman1990
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very poor customer service. Treatments were rushed and below standard. Pedicure was awful would not recommend. My facial left my skin feeling tight and caused a rash the day after. My room was very cold and no additional heating was provided. A disappointing experience all in all.

Helpful?
4 Thank Leesh_s_d
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had 4 rooms. Each was very comfortable, The hotel was very well cared for in terms of decorations and maintenance. The food was excellent and the staff were very good, and helpful - that is all of the staff - reception, restaurant, room staff. The Spa facilities of the hotel were also excellent, clean, warm and well supported. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank annonymous65
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As part of a family party of 19, I was upset at the service we received. Despite arriving before our allotted spa times the receptionist kept us waiting resulting in our treatemnts being shortened. Manicures were rushed and polish chipped resulting in all having to be re done. Brasserie couldnt cope with lunch requests and we waited 45 minutes for... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank Virginia B
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House, responded to this review

Dear Virginia I am disappointed to receive your review and comments after my personal correspondence with the group organiser and an amicable discussion and resolution following your Hen Party. I wish to comment that we host and welcome a large number of groups, individuals and special occasions and operate all of these very efficiently alongside hotel guests and our members.... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The relaxed personal touch reverberates through this hotel, restaurant, bistro and spa. Almost everyone representing the hotel proactively welcomed or greeted you. Its great to see a hotels customer experience joined up in all departments and something that feels more sincere than many big named hotel chains. After a long business journey and a late night check in, the first... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn B
Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a one night spa package for our friends hen party and had the most amazing time. I want to say a special thank you to Toni for handling our reservation prior to arrival. Nothing was too much trouble and communications were efficient and informative. Evita in the Brasserie also deserves a special mention as the attentiveness and... More 

Helpful?
Thank bridalway
Nottingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel on several different occasions Its a solid Country House Hotel with nice welcome and excellent leisure facilities Food in the Pool Bar is usually excellent Rooms are rather 80s/90s in decor and could certainly do with a refurbishment (even in the modern wing) Beware if arriving late as the restaurant isn't usually open that... More 

Helpful?
Thank FamilyNottm2010
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House, responded to this review

Dear Family Nottm2010 Many thanks for your review of your experience with us, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall however I am concerned to hear of your comments on our restaurant opening times, our last orders are at 9:30pm in our A la Carte Restaurant and Brasserie. Our bedrooms are always on an ongoing refurbishment... More 

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We celebrated our Golden Wedding with lunch for close family and friends in the Oakley Room. The atmosphere was very welcoming and relaxed.Following pre lunch drinks in the snug we enjoyed a well presented tasty meal. The menu was excellent with 4 choices of starters mains and desserts. The staff were attentive and friendly. We had a very memorable day.

Helpful?
Thank Jill G
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House, responded to this review

Dear Jill Congratulations on your milestone celebrations! The Oakly is a lovely dining room and very traditional and wonderful for a family meal. Thank you for sharing your review of your experience in support of our business and our staff are grateful of your comments. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

771 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (711)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Deluxe Honeymoon Suite (57)
Viewed
Executive Room (52)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (161)
Viewed
Standard Room (63)
Viewed
Superior Room (59)
Viewed
The Hotel (173)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bapchild
10.9 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
9.3 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
Holiday Inn Sittingbourne
#4 of 5 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Chilston Park Hotel
Chilston Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lenham
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
4.3 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
17.3 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay