We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Bapchild hotels

Hempstead House

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Bapchild ME9 9PP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hempstead House to your Saves list
Hempstead House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
82%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bapchild
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Tinasloman Canterbury, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (371)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (72)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    85
    46
    15
    10
See reviews for
78
167
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I would just like to say a big thank you to the restaurant staff who looked after us on Wednesday at lunch time. We had a poorly child and the staff sorted out seating for our grandson to sleep on so that his mum could eat some lunch in full view of him. We are so grateful and would also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the first time that I have ever done a review and have been in many a uk hotel over the years.The reason for my review is the other recent reviews that amaze me.What do people expect for their money.It was very clean,they were very polite,and the food and accommodation was excellent.I thought the spa was great,and my wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a booking for 1 night that was booked through the money supermarket scheme. We chose Hempstead House since it had a spa and looked very up market. This was not our usual type of hotel and that is probably why our experience wasn't that great. Our room was lovely and bathroom was clean and a great size. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hempsteadhouse, Owner at Hempstead House, responded to this review

We are sorry that these guests were unhappy about some of the elements of their stay. On this special offer, their room is free of charge and they pay for breakfast and dinner if they wish to take them. The beds throughout the hotel are of very high quality manufactured by Hypnos for the hotel industry which may mean they... More

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I got married at Hempstead House in 2005 & it was an amazing day..the guests still speak about the food nine years later !. I held a special birthday meal there for my Mum who was suffering from breast cancer, sadly she died 5 days later and it was fitting to hold her wake there too. The staff were amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheerness
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes I was very disappointed at my experience eating at The Lakes Restaurant in Hempstead House. I went with very high expectations having been told by many that the food was 'superb'. Well, not so in my opinion. I was with relatives who were actually staying at the hotel. We all unfortunately agreed food was below standard of a place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely Restaurant, really nice food and friendly staff. The meat was tender, and ample portions. The staff were attentive and efficient. Even messy children did not fluster them. A lovely relaxed meal and a good experience. Will definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a Red Letter Gold dining experience and we chose this venue for. We had a lovely evening and the food and atmosphere was lovely. The conservatory area we eat in was very pleasant. We would definitely go back again. The staff were attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having given a so so review before, due to a staff member, I thought it would only be fair to update it as I have now stopped here quiet a lot in the past month or so. The rooms, I have stayed in both the new and old part of the hotel although I do prefer the new part, just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unfortunately, we were called away for an urgent funeral last December during our stay. We had booked massages and didn't even receive an apology let alone compensation for our treatments. The 'manager' managed the situation very badly as we were very upset and it was only correct to offer us our money back. Instead their was no sympathy at all....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hempsteadhouse, Owner at Hempstead House, responded to this review

Sadly these guests had to leave the hotel early due to funeral commitment. They had however enjoyed an overnight stay with a three course dinner as part of their package. They were unable to have their massage but with such short notice for the cancellation, we were unable to offer a refund. Whilst we understand this was a very distressing... More

Dover, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a Hotel of two half’s, the old section of the hotel is in an older classic style and feels very homely and the new extension which houses the spa is more modern and luxurious. We stayed in the original house and the standard double was very roomy and had a large bathroom with separate bath and shower cubical.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hempstead House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hempstead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hempstead House

Address: London Road, Bapchild ME9 9PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Bapchild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hempstead House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hempstead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hempstead House Hotel Sittingbourne
Hempstead Hotel Sittingbourne

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Private Victorian Country House Hotel and Spa set in four acres of beautifully landscaped gardens surrounded by glorious Kentish countryside. Luxurious individually designed en-suite bedrooms with all facilities including high speed internet access. Elegant spacious reception rooms and three bars. Air conditioned conference rooms with capacity for up to 150 delegates containing state of the Art audio visual equipment and full range of business services. Award winning cuisine served in our 60 cover classical restaurant, Lakes, with professional but friendly service. Licensed for civil marriages with complete wedding service, four honeymoon suites and capacity for 150 guests. Smaller rooms for more intimate ceremonies and private or corporate functions. Brand new spa and fitness centre including beautiful 15 metre swimming pool with hydrotherapy pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Fitness studio offering a full range of classes and fully equipped gym. The therapy suite offers five spacious treatment rooms, a relaxation lounge and a manicure, pedicure and hair-washing area. A wide range of treatments are offered from manicures and pedicures to full body rituals, massages and facials. The facility also features a contemporary Brasserie offering a bar service and light snacks throughout the day and comprehensive lunch and dinner menus for residents, members and non-members. Outside there are sun-filled terraces and courtyards allowing Al Fresco aperitifs and dining or relaxing afternoon teas and coffees and light refreshments. All around the beautiful gardens are seats and benches, perfect for unwinding and relaxation. A secret spa garden, carefully secluded to afford privacy and tranquility is the perfect place to while away some time after having a treatment or using the other facilities. Close to cathedral cities of Canterbury and Rochester and historic castle at Leeds. The ports of Dover and Folkestone and the Eurostar terminal are all about half an hour’s drive away and London can be reached within an hour by rail. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
34

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hempstead House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer