We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Bapchild hotels

Hempstead House

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   London Road, Bapchild ME9 9PP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hempstead House to your Saves list
Hempstead House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
81%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bapchild
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
retired-ish Cumbria
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    85
    47
    16
    10
See reviews for
78
169
10
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good points: lovely, well maintained gardens; nice room; friendly, helpful staff; decent food; proximity to Dover Not so good: nowhere else to eat within walking distance; very slippery bathroom floor when dry, lethal when wet ( Rm 10); cold plates for hot breakfast and a quizzical look when warm ones requested (although they were provided quite quickly); breakfast from 8-10... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here as a group of 10 on a girls spa weekend away. We had the most amazing time. It was fantastic value for money, we paid just over £200 for a 2 night stay which included the use of the spa facilities, 2 spa treatments, breakfast on both days and a 3 course dinner at the Lakes restaurant.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our 2nd visit to hempsted house, the 1st time we stayed we got 1 of the deluxe double room which cost us £160, the room was lovely but some small things made us question why we paid £160 for the room, The bed was comfortable and we had a Jacuzzi bath and balcony. Unfortunately there was a wedding... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hempsteadhouse, Owner at Hempstead House, responded to this review

We are very sorry that these guests were disturbed by the noise from our wedding parties on both occasions. All weddings take place in a completely separate area of the hotel but we cannot prevent guests from talking in the outside areas unfortunately. All deluxe and Executive rooms have full air conditioning so that bedroom windows can be closed at... More

Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently attended (late August 2014) a 60th wedding anniversary celebration (organized by my brother and his wife) for my parents. We had a private room, one of the smaller rooms in the hotel for about 33 guests, and the staff were absolutely amazing. They made the whole occasion extra special with their attention to detail, politeness and enthusiasm. Nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tarporley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the first time that I have ever done a review and have been in many a uk hotel over the years.The reason for my review is the other recent reviews that amaze me.What do people expect for their money.It was very clean,they were very polite,and the food and accommodation was excellent.I thought the spa was great,and my wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a booking for 1 night that was booked through the money supermarket scheme. We chose Hempstead House since it had a spa and looked very up market. This was not our usual type of hotel and that is probably why our experience wasn't that great. Our room was lovely and bathroom was clean and a great size. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hempsteadhouse, Owner at Hempstead House, responded to this review

We are sorry that these guests were unhappy about some of the elements of their stay. On this special offer, their room is free of charge and they pay for breakfast and dinner if they wish to take them. The beds throughout the hotel are of very high quality manufactured by Hypnos for the hotel industry which may mean they... More

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I got married at Hempstead House in 2005 & it was an amazing day..the guests still speak about the food nine years later !. I held a special birthday meal there for my Mum who was suffering from breast cancer, sadly she died 5 days later and it was fitting to hold her wake there too. The staff were amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheerness
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Yes I was very disappointed at my experience eating at The Lakes Restaurant in Hempstead House. I went with very high expectations having been told by many that the food was 'superb'. Well, not so in my opinion. I was with relatives who were actually staying at the hotel. We all unfortunately agreed food was below standard of a place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
hempsteadhouse, General Manager at Hempstead House, responded to this review

Thank you for you recent review and comments. We have investigated and am happy to deliver our feedback for you and other readers. The Pork ordered was Pork belly which is of its nature a fatty meat. Our Restaurant Manager questioned to the chef that he thought the steak was actually past cremated but burnt and was certainly not bloody.... More

Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Lovely Restaurant, really nice food and friendly staff. The meat was tender, and ample portions. The staff were attentive and efficient. Even messy children did not fluster them. A lovely relaxed meal and a good experience. Will definitely go again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Headcorn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a Red Letter Gold dining experience and we chose this venue for. We had a lovely evening and the food and atmosphere was lovely. The conservatory area we eat in was very pleasant. We would definitely go back again. The staff were attentive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hempstead House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hempstead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hempstead House

Address: London Road, Bapchild ME9 9PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Bapchild
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hempstead House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hempstead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hempstead House Hotel Sittingbourne
Hempstead Hotel Sittingbourne

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)