We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Eastchurch hotels

The Shurland Hotel

79 - 81 High Street, Eastchurch ME12 4EH, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Shurland Hotel to your Saves list
The Shurland Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
66%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Eastchurch
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
jonathan r dawlish
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dawlish
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed last couple of days, reception not manned when arrived a sign directed us to the bar to get somebody. Not shown to rooms but given directions. Lock on door is old fashioned and door did not lock behind us when we entered the room. Room No 10 small but bed huge and comfortable. A few scuff marks on wall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pulborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The room was adequate, the food was poor. The evening meal I was served was inedible. Had to lock the room door each time I left rather than pull it shut. Not advised I could have breakfast in my room. Reception was not adequately staffed. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley S, Manager at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, we pride ourselves in our food quallity and receive very positive reviews on Trip Advisor. More

Travelers are raving about these Eastchurch hotels

Sheerness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We held a party at this hotel on St. 22nd March and can't find a rating high enough to cover the food that was prepared and served. The staff were very helpful,& very cheerful. As we all stayed over breakfast was for 27 and it was all freshly cooked and hotbwhen served, one of the best breakfasts we have had.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Shurland Hotel is nice. Met on arrival and shown to our room which was adequate. It appears early in the hotel calendar year and the hotel was under going some redecoration, but the inconvenience was minimal. Health Spa and Gym staff were excellent, helping me out as I forgot swimming trunks, and this saved me finding a way to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
29 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Shurland Hotel is one of the very few places that you can stay on The Isle of Sheppey if you need to. We were attending a family wedding at The Ferry Boat, five miles away, and their accommodation was full. We were pleased to see that the hotel, after we had a difficult journey on a stormy weekend that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ashley S, Manager at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had such a terrible experience here. The GM has now left and we are trying very hard to get back on course. I can assure you if you are ever on the Island we will give you the service you deserve. Kind Regards Simon Dallas ( head Chef, manager) More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Our confirmed reservation was not honoured, and our rooms were not available despite having been booked for a year and re-confirmed less than 24 hours earlier. We had to drive home late at night after a family wedding on the island, putting paid to our planned post-wedding breakfast the next day. The member of staff on duty suggested trying another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley S, Owner at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry for the serious mix-up with your reservation, as explained at the time, we only have a record of 3 bedrooms being booked. Ordinarily, we would have accommodated you regardless, being fully booked however we were unable to do so. We offered to find you alternative accommodation locally, though you declined this offer. The Shurland Hotel does not... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

A new look at the shurland hotel recently uplifted inside and out , I only had a weekend at the shurland to meet with my son , and we we're made welcome from the moment we arrived.our rooms we're very clean and comfy , very reasonable and value for money, Staff at the hotel are young enthusiastic , polite and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashley S, General Manager at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend, and we hope to see you again in the near future. More

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Myself and two friends had the good fortune to see the New year in here. Really enjoyed the hog roast in fact cant fault. As I live near by didnt use hotels rooms but I am sure every thing is as clean and well run as the bar and restaurant. Looking forward to using in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Ashley S, General Manager at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gail, thank you for your kind words, I'm glad you enjoyed our New Year's Eve party and hope to see you again soon! All the very best for 2014! More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel, no so much out of choice, but there are so few places on Sheppey. When we arrived, we were totally blow away, once inside, you could easily think you were in London, the place is stunning. Apparently it was recently refubished, and boy, they have done a good job! The room was faily basic, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
S. Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed twice since makeover well impressed with decor very friendly and helpful staff, rooms cleans and warm thoroughly enjoyed both stays, locals the friendliest I have come across in a longtime, would ddefinitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ashley S, General Manager at The Shurland Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again soon! :) More

Been to The Shurland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shurland Hotel

Also Known As:
The Shurland Hotel Eastchurch, Kent - Isle Of Sheppey
Address: 79 - 81 High Street, Eastchurch ME12 4EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Sheppey > Eastchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Eastchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Shurland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shurland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.