We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Matfen Hall

Certificate of Excellence
Matfen, near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Matfen Hall
Add Your Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    238
    84
    46
    20
See reviews for
124
552
9
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (980)
  • Mar-May only
    (228)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (232)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (263)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (257)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived early, as had treatments booked in the Spa , room was not available no problem for us .If you want to eat early afternoon book a table , as we were unable to eat in the main rooms (Conservatory ), staff were good suggested " The Drawing Room" , nice views but we were not allowed to sit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We visited this glorious old hotel as part of the wedding of Mr & Mrs Thorne. What a cracking day the venue is breathtaking and impeccably clean and well appointed the staff were attentive and polite. The food for the wedding breakfast was excellent in quality, presentation and serving all the guest with hot food quickly. The buffet was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newark, Notts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just returned from a three day golf break with friends. The staff here are very helpful and friendly. There are 3 nine hole golf courses set in beautiful grounds. We enjoyed playing all three courses which are suitable for golfers of all levels. The spa was well maintained and all the facilities good. The food was excellent and service very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caunton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival through to leaving the staff were more than helpful. Facilities are excellent with 3 nine hole golf courses that will test the low handicapper but with fairways and rough allowing the 18 - 24 person to still enjoy a challenge without spending time searching for your ball. The rooms are spacious and the restaurant very good. Wine is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here for 1 night and had a lovely time. Rooms are very nice and clean and hotel is so beautiful with some extrodanary grounds, the hotel also comes with an outside golf corse and several eatting places, although I would definitely recommend to book your evening meals when you book for the hotel because certain areas are fully booked!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BernardBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our grounds and I am delighted to hear that your felt our food offering was ample. The age limit on the Jacuzzi is with the health and safety of younger guests in mind. We are currently working on newer family... More 

Chester le Street
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a very good overnight stay at this fine country hotel. We were there for a wedding and chose to stay overnight. As a wedding venue, Matfen Hall is perfect, the Great Hall where the ceremony was held was spot on , a great atmosphere, loads of history and the roaring log fire was very welcoming on a chilly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Felt pampered here, lovely and clean, super bathroom and welcoming bedroom, peaceful swim in heated pool. Food was excellent, staff very pleasant. Good atmosphere, would definitely return. The cream tea is amazing and so generous that many of us couldn't finish all the cakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was somewhat reluctant to join my 2 friends on a spa day here (having had a previous poor experience at a Christmas function) but I went ahead with the spa day which included a welcome drink, spa access 9am - 18:00, a 30min treatment, 1 course lunch (with complimentary glass of fizz). Attended on a cold Saturday morning in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BernardBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear you were reluctant to return to Matfen Hall after a poor experience during your previous visit. We have worked hard to improve both our product and services over the last few years with staff training and much investment into the property for refurbishments including £300k into the spa and leisure areas alone. I... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
15 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights for a wedding, and everything from beginning to the end was simply excellent. Room: We had a deluxe room which was really spacious, with a stylish bathroom which you could do cartwheels in. The bathroom has everything you could ask for, and although the water is not as strong as some other places, the red... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newcastle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself and my partner took advantage of the winter deal which offered bed, breakfast and evening meal for £109. Although good value for money with use of the spa, I think it could of been more clear cut that the offer allows only £15 each for evening meal. Although this was stated it was not clear and this really only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (169)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (54)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question