We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northover Manor Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Northover, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Northover Manor Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    83
    42
    18
    13
    7
See reviews for
35
53
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (163)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (58)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Ilchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently had my brothers wedding reception here and I/we could not fault them at all. The food was excellent, the staff were fabulous and the bar staff were absolutely amazing! They were around whenever you needed and if you had a problem they were there straight away. The managerial staff were also outstanding and professional in every way. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have just had our daughter’s wedding at the Northover Manor. We took the sole use package to have the Manor to ourselves. Right from the start of the planning stage we were made to feel special and we had no doubt that we were in excellent hands. The attention to detail and focus on ensuring everything ran smoothly was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I attended a wedding here recently. A nice setting for a wedding with some great spaces which work well. The rooms are a little out dated (IMO). The mattress was far from comfortable and the room quite small. The food was very nice and the waiting staff were also very good! Unfortunately some of the staff including... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
normanSomerset, Owner at Northover Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments. As the owner, who was not actually at the wedding on Saturday, Im thankful that decisions were made by our Management Team that ensured the Ceremony took place in comfort. Sometimes we anticipate a Wedding Guest staying at the hotel is aware of the need to prioritise the requirements of the Bride and Groom on a... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to a wedding at weekend, the wedding was great. The bar staff and house keeping staff were brilliant but the owner and the duty managers need some serious customer service training, the venue great place but get rid of the management they not needed. Because of them i have to score you very low😕

Was this review helpful? Yes
normanSomerset, Owner at Northover Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments. Although I wasn't at the Hotel the weekend of the Wedding you attended its good to know that in the main our selection of staff is, in your words, ' brilliant '. I'd be inclined to agree. If your assessment that the Owners and Management need replacing, is not based around the Bar closing at 11.30... More 

Exmouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was booked here as part of a work trip and was allocated an annex room opposite the reception. Although the room size was very good it had the smallest TV I have ever seen and the decor was tired. I also found the room dark and smelling of damp, possibly because of the lack of ventilation due to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
normanSomerset, Owner at Northover Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments. The TV issue is slowly being addressed as 3 TVs have recently been replaced with larger screens. The lighting and ventilation issue will also be dealt with. I am however disappointed the windows weren't left open prior to the room being occupied. We look forward to seeing you again and intend to enhance your current perception... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

The room was a little small and not very clean, mold was found on leaflets and on the information pack of the hotel. The cups still had a coffee ring round the inside and had a stale smell in the air. The room was ok, the layout was all out, With the twin beds too close for comfort. The shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
normanSomerset, Owner at Northover Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments and indeed your observation we are not a Premier Inn. We sensed your disappointment about being sent to us on your arrival as it was very clear from your demeanour you weren't happy. The large Corporate Hotels clearly suit your need on any number of levels I would imagine. I understand from your comments you were... More 

Buckland Monachorum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

We used Northover Manor as an overnight base before travelling home. We booked it as a last minute decision and arrived about half an hour after booking! The receptionist was lovely and gave us a choice of two rooms; one next to reception which she said was 'lighter', or one across the courtyard which was had its own sitting room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We attended a wedding reception at the hotel and had also arranged to stay overnight. The food was excellent and good service at the reception. The room was very small and the toilet and shower was situated in a "Broom Cupboard". The bed was very comfortable. One strange point was that thew windows had shutter doors, the room was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015

Stayed here on whilst on business at RNAS Yeovilton and I'm not sure we were actually at the same hotel as some of the other reviewers ! The initial impression was good, with plenty of parking, but this soon diminished as we entered the courtyard to be greeted by an old fountain filled with green stagnant water and chairs and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
normanSomerset, Owner at Northover Manor Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Chris Thankyou for your comments. Naturally I am disappointed in the validity of your recent experience. Their have been a sequence of recent demands that have left us more exposed than I would like but we are slowly overcoming this. I am keen to improve on your perception of us and would welcome the opportunity of doing so. Should... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

My Fiancee and I stayed at the hotel recently and were highly impressed. Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant, the room was of good size and the bed extremely comfortable. Everything was clean and very well presented. The food was fantastic, particularly the full English Breakfast which contains as much locally sourced produce as possible. Only one slight draw back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
0.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#9 of 12 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil
Premier Inn Yeovil
#3 of 12 in Yeovil
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay