We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fairway, Barnsley

Elmhirst Lane, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 4LS, England (Formerly New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Inn )
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fairway, Barnsley
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fairway, Barnsley
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    34
    37
    22
    25
See reviews for
34
42
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First the good points when we arrived at the fairway we upgraded to the bridal suite as we had just got married the room was nice and clean no problems now the bad points in the evening we went down stairs to have a meal with some friends and family we were told that there would be a 50 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Miserable staff taking food order, said it would be half hour .fifty minutes later the manager (clinton) said it will be five minutes BIG FAT LIE CLINTON.they offered us free drinks I said no we'll have free deserts.but just got fed up after waiting a full hour which our order still was' not ready we went home and called for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Dodworth hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What chaos. After the stress of finding out that the party had been double-booked I didn’t think it could get any worse. I was wrong. Having emailed the Fairway to complain, I still haven't had a response from the manager. There were no drinks on the food table while the children were eating. There were no party bags given out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

So myself and a large group of my family stayed here at the weekend. We had dinner the night before which was fine. I ordered a pizza and it was nice and everyone seemed to enjoy their meals. However the morning after, I paid for a fry up. It took around 45 minutes to come out and when it finally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff on arrival were friendly and helpful .The room was well positioned at the front of the hotel,it was clean and well presented.The only complaint was that the room was a bit too warm but this was soon cured by opening the window.I think this will be the first of many visits to this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We ended up requesting our monies back as we hadn't had food for over 1hour! Asked 15mins before and was advised along with another customer that the food was literally coming out of kitchen. The manager never advised of the delay on serving and nobody ever came to say they were behind. They had a wedding and another party in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

after visiting The Fairway with my family the other wednesday, i have to say the service was brilliant, the place was extremely busy some members of bar staff seemed to lack knowledge and commincation skills, quite disorginised and the bar could have perhaps been managed a little better but after being told the wait on food was going to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

food was bad.. overcooked and very dry chicken and ribs. tasted like it was microwaved. Very small and bad quality beds and mattress! Very noisy during the night. could hear people walk across the rooms and it woke me up a few times .. worst sleep ever in a hotel!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

Not a single redeeming feature Receptionist busy talking when I got there Room right next to the lift Room right next to creaking banging fire door Room dirty Room cold Lighting not fully working in the bathroom TV remote turned tv off instead of changing channel If I slept 3 hours I was lucky

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

we stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights , at found it to be very comfortable , the rooms were clean and large .We also enjoyed the breakfast which you could choose from continental or full English ,we choose the continental ,and we had loads of choice ,also had a lovely meal in the restaurant ,and enjoyed the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay