We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Dodworth hotels

Ramada Encore Barnsley

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whinby Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England
Hotel amenities
Ramada Encore Barnsley
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Encore Barnsley to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Nor5053 Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    107
    48
    19
    17
See reviews for
22
111
12
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (68)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very polite staff. The room was clean and modern tea making facilities flat screen TV, hair dryer. The lighting was quite poor. The bathroom great but really needs a power shower. The evening meal no problems and breakfast fine. Great for weekend stay but if any longer minimal storage space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a pleasant weekend with my husband. The room was very clean, warm, comfy and ideal for a base. The young staff were friendly and efficient. The self service breakfast was enjoyable and the food in the evening, particularly the chicken,gammon and mushroom pie, was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a murder mystery evening. We had a very warm welcome at reception on our arrival. The bathrooms are lovely, just a shame about the shower. It was more of a dribble and I soon ended up stood in a huge pool of water as it doesn't drain very well. Food was excellent at both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warwick
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a lovely bathroom, looks fab, why oh why would you get such a high spec bathroom and put in a rubbish shower? What makes a great hotel? For me a good nights sleep and an incredible bathroom. Such a shame!

Was this review helpful? Yes
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry the shower let us down. hope you will consider staying with us again. Glad to hear you did like the decor in the rooms Regards Dawne Carter General Manager More

Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Truly awful. I stopped here on a pre booked coach tour and I am pleased that this was an inclusive package as I would have balked at paying the full advertised price. The room was worse than a budget hotel very sparse and I've seen more comfortable accommodation in a Youth hostel. The evening meal was dreadful - overcooked chicken,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, as we provide a warm welcome to all our coach parties. I met with you on arrival and tried to explain we do not have any twin rooms in our hotel, all our rooms are a double bed with... More

Orphir, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

its a bit of a boring review and i apologise for that but i really cannot find anything to complain about - the room, hotel, staff and food were all great and the price was good what more can i say? the breakfast staff were particularly helpfull in providing gluten free bread - and good quality at that ...actually all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review, we are proud of our hotel and do try and please all our guests. I will pass your feedback to all my team as good feedback can make our week. Thank you again and see you soon we hope Regards Dawne More

Pevensey East Sussex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed a number of times for business over the last 2 years, and it does seen to be going downhill. There always seems to be something not quite right in the room - light bulbs not working, toilet seat loose etc, not major issues but things I feel should not happen. However the main reasons for the 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I was sorry to hear you feel we are not looking after our hotel. I have discussed your comments with the housekeeping department to ensure these issues are addressed I am sorry another guest had been in your room, we do have guests arrive and then request a room move... More

Leigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked for an overnight stay at this Hotel? and when we got there we found there was a murder mystery weekend taking place, no mention of this when I booked. Antway we thought stay out of the way and let them get on with it (very noisily in the bar area) tried to get some food and where told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel again. I am sorry when you have stayed on two occasions we have had events in the hotel, and the restaurant has not been available for an hour to all our guests. We do use or restaurant on nights for events and on the night you stayed we did stop... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night on a murder mystery weekend provided by an outside company. The hotel is clean, basic and very utilitarian. Check in was easy, our room was on the first floor and was nice and warm with the usual facilities that you would expect. The lack of carpets makes for easy cleaning I guess but does nothing to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, the murder Mystery nights are very popular at our hotel. Sorry the breakfast was a little chaotic we served from 7 a.m. to 10.30a.m. but unfortunately we always seem to have a rush hour and it would not be practical to... More

grimsby
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

On arrival at reception a young lad served me call Ben very efficient at his job and polite. Restaurant slow on the first 40 mins plus for a stir fry . Rooms and communal areas need a lick of paint if not sorted will be coming very shabby and its a newly built hotel. Bathrooms are clean and shower is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ramada Encore Barnsley, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we have been open nearly six years now and we are having a refurbishment in 2015 and hope you will stay with us again soon. Regards Dawne Carter General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ramada Encore Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Encore Barnsley

Address: Whinby Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Encore Barnsley 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Encore Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ramada Encore Barnsley Dodworth

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay