We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bell Hotel

Hotel website
Market Hill, Clare CO10 8NN, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bell Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bell Hotel
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We live 2 hours drive from our Son and his family. Our eldest of two grandsons, had a birthday on 2nd May, but we were unable to see them due to other factors getting in the way. In the end, everyone decided on the Bell at Clare a lovely little (or should I say big, village), in Suffolk, close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

We're so pleased that your grandson, and your whole family, enjoyed his birthday meal. Thank you for your review and kind words. I've passed all your comments onto the staff, both kitchen and front of house. Thank you, particularly, for pointing out the positive side of their youth. We have a fair proportion of younger staff (although some of us... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

had read reviews on tripadvisor was impressed about what people had said, so thought we would book a weekend stay. Nice room but not Deluxe as the pub had said it was, I know they are new owners and they are trying to update it. also could have done with out the locals swearing in the bar, we had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Bell Hotel. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfasts and food in general. I have also passed on your kind comments to the waitress who served you. I apologise wholeheartedly for the inappropriate language that you encountered in the bar. I am... More 

Haverhill, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited today for a Sunday lunch. Despite being quite busy and without booking in advance, the staff managed to find us a table for our lunch. The quality of the Sunday roast beef was superb - one of the best I have ever tasted. Children's menu - great idea with the pictures, so my 3 year old daughter managed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and we're so pleased that all of you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch. You're quite correct that we were busy as we had a coach party in the function room upstairs but every guest (especially a 3 year old) is important and I'm very glad that you felt looked after. I've passed on your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very pleased with our overnight stay,room nice and airy Staff very helpful Excellent choice for breakfast and excellent service Would definitely recommend,just read other reviews and noticed it was new owners if they continue like this they deserve all the success

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Bell Hotel and I've passed on your compliments to our staff. We hope to justify your faith in us and aim to keep us the good work! Many thanks and hope to see you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was a disappointing venue, we were unable to park in the car park as were other guests on arrival and the parking area looked like a builders yard. The hotel is clearly still renovating the back garden/patio area as you were unable to open the french windows to walk out onto the decking area due to all the mess... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

As always, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Bell Hotel. We do appreciate all comments, good and bad as they help us to give guests the best experience possible. We're really pleased that you enjoyed the service you received and the breakfast. I'm sorry that you did not, however, enjoy your... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have said here through the years .. Returning noticed it's changed hands again and now brewery owned. Arrived to be given just the key no welcome, explanation or even breakfast time. Room was adequate excusing missing tiles in bathroom and spiders in corners. Warning don't go for rooms outside downstairs .. Ceilings are paper thin and stomping upstairs can disturb.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we're only sorry that you did not enjoy every aspect of your stay with us. Firstly I'd like to thank you for your comments regarding James, our fantastic assistant manager and I'm very pleased that he was a bright spot during your visit. I would like to address your... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

All six of us just enjoyed a Sunday roast with no complaints, very reasonable prices, good beer, and freindly staff. This is the second time we have eaten here this year, and both times I've gone away thinking I've paid alot more money at other pubs for a less enjoyable experience. Well done to the new landlord and all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your meal. I've passed your lovely comments onto all the staff and of course my husband Dirk (hard-working landlord!). We'll try to keep living up to your expectations and hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Zara More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

One night stay, very pleasant and welcoming. Room was comfortable but bathroom was rather small. Breakfast was fab, requested something off the menu and they accommodated. Good central location but still quiet. Also had supper in the restaurant which was very nice although portions were not that big.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of The Bell Hotel, Clare and we're very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We always try to accommodate our guests and if it is possible to grant a request then it's no problem. The bathrooms in our standard double rooms are smaller than the ones in the... More 

Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015 via mobile

Had lunch here which was excellent. The staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. We really enjoyed our lunch.However, the ladies loos left a lot to be desired. The top of the cistern was on the floor of one cubicle and there was litter and loo roll on the floor of another. Luckily the very small central one was fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of The Bell Hotel, Clare and we very glad that you enjoyed your lunch with us. I am, however, sorry that the condition of the ladies toilets let us down. My husband did mend one toilet in the afternoon on the date you visited and I am assuming... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2015

Every year we plan a weekend away as a group of about 24 friends all belonging to the MG Car Club and we look to stay somewhere with character, good accommodation and food and in an area where there are places to visit. The Bell was able to accommodate us on our chosen weekend and the whole process of dealing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zara K, Owner at Bell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and we're very pleased that you had such a lovely time with us at The Bell Hotel. I'm particularly pleased that you singled out James for praise. As our Assistant Manager he works incredibly hard and it's nice to see it appreciated by guests as well as ourselves. I've passed on your comments to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay