We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Horseshoes

Certificate of Excellence
Wickham Road, Thornham Magna IP23 8HD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornham Magna
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Four Horseshoes
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really impressed. Table of 4, 3 courses all good, service perfect. Great atmosphere. Carvery was great just can't fault it. Will return. Their version of eaten mess was really yummy!! Suggest you book as gets busy not that being busy affects experience as well organised.... Carvery are called up by table so not to overcrowd

Helpful?
Thank Buddys123
Jai E, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Thank you very much i am glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again soon? More 

England
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Had not been to the Four Horseshoes lately so thought we would go and eat on a Friday night. We reserved a table and on arrival was promptly shown to our tables with drink being served soon afterwards. Food very good and a decent menu reasonably priced. Will most certainly return.

Helpful?
Thank SuffolkboyEngland
Jai E, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Thank you very much, we are glad you returned and look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

A return visit to this pub/restaurant after many years. Great atmosphere and welcoming staff. This is a delightful pub externally and internally from the low thatched roof outside to the low beams and roaring fire inside. It can hold a large number of people but doesn't feel crowded. We visited to try their Sunday Carvery. We had beef and all... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank missbrowneyesxx
Jai E, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Thank you very much, i am glad mto hear you enjoyed your meals here after a few years, don't leave it so long next time. Looking forward to hopefully seeing you soon. More 

Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

My wife, my 96 year old Mum and I had an absolutely lovely lunch at the "Shoes". Delightful atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff and the best lunch we have had out for a very long time. Thanks to all for making us very welcome and to the couple of ladies who came to our table and sang Happy Birthday to... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
Jai E, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Glad to hear it, thank you very much and we look forward to seeing you soon. Also looking forward to your novel. More 

Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

Lunch for two, great menu, locally sourced ingredients apparently . Very low ceilings, beautiful hanging baskets etc outside. Helpful friendly staff, eager to please. Good selection of sea food. Wide range of ales too. £70 for two including three large glasses of wine Service good. Worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
Jai E, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

All our ingrediants are locally sourced and we hope that you could tell in the freshness of our food, im glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves and hopefully we will see you soon. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

Been here a couple of times. First time I had a burger meal which was very tasty. The second time we took some friends for a carvery. The potatoes and veg where not very well cooked and very crunchy! I eat carverys regularly and this was unfortunatly one of the worst. Very nice little pub with friendly staff and atmosphere... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
Jai E, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Im sorry to hear that the carvery was not up to your standards however we have been working on the roasties and i think its fair to say we have mastered them now, we had new equipment installed in the kitchen so all the cooking times were different but hopefully this bad experience will not stop you from coming in.... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

What a lovely old country pub, the oldest in Suffolk. Service was fantastic and the food was just delicious. Highly recommend the specials menu. Great location and from what I could see the restaurant and hotel are well managed. Plenty of parking.

Helpful?
Thank CJRam
Jai E, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Thank you very much from all of us here, we are glad to hear you enjoyed and look forward to your next visit. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

Had a family dinner here on Saturday. It is a lovely pub and a beautiful setting. The restaurant was busy so obviously a popular stop. The food was a bit of a let down but it may have just been me. The portions are generous but the crab salad was very heavy on basic stuff and a bit light on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AndyHarvey_13
Jai E, Manager at Four Horseshoes, responded to this review

Im very sorry to hear that you were not impressed with your meal, we have reviewed and altered our menu and made a few changes. I am also sorry to hear the waffle doesn't remind you of Belgium however im sure some of our other desserts with get your taste buds tingling. Thank you for your feedback and we hope... More 

ipswich
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015

We experienced a Sunday Carvey at the four horse shoes. We all had Turkey with all the trimmings. It was all fine, far better than our previous visit a few years ago. The pudding were good and the beer went down a treat. Hope to go again.

Helpful?
Thank fernbank
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

We had a meal here while staying nearby. Food was average the portions were big. Sticky toffee pudding was very good. Service was good and staff very friendly. We took our dog with us too was only aloud in the bar area to eat tho but that was fine by us.

Helpful?
Thank Emcraig
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornham Magna
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Brome Grange Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Oaksmere
The Oaksmere
#1 of 1 in Eye
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
5.8 mi away
Scole Inn
Scole Inn
#1 of 1 in Scole
3.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Ash
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thornham Hall
Thornham Hall
#2 of 4 in Eye
4.5 of 5 stars 24 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Auberge
The Auberge
#1 of 1 in Yaxley
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities