We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Bedale B&Bs / inns

The Castle Arms Inn

Snape, Bedale DL8 2TB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Castle Arms Inn to your Saves list
The Castle Arms Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
90%
Ranked #6 of 12 Bedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
350ade Durham, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (61)
  • Photos (17)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
29
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just got home from a five day stay at the castle arms inn all i can say it is well worth a visit nice breakfast nice eve meals a good pint of beer lovely clean rooms ian & lisa are very helpfull & polite alway welcome you with a smile & a good morning if you want somwhere quiet to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Twelve of us have been on an annual, 4 day/3 night Golf Trip to North Yorkshire for a number of years. We changed the venue for our accommodation last year to the Castle Inn Arms. This year the ownership had changed and Ian and Lisa are now running it. They and their staff are excellent and Roberto the chef deserves... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited the Castle Arms Inn a week ago for a four day break, having never been before and after reading reviews. These were not wrong; everything was spot on from the moment we arrived. Ian, Lisa, Roberto the chef and their support team were just wonderful. A really friendly place with good food and beer, and a room (no.3)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two nights here and wish we could have stayed longer. Ian and Lisa made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble (it was a hot afternoon when we arrived and a bottle of iced water was delivered to our room on arrival, a small thing but this illustrates my point). The rooms are in a courtyard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Castle Arms is a lovely village pub. I have stayed here for a few years for a local exhibition and the landlord and team are very friendly and welcoming. It is in a rural area but only ten minutes from the A1 at Leeming Bar, The food is excellent and great value for money. I was lucky enough to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is my first post on trip advisor and I joined to give the Castle Arms Inn a review. One of the main reasons was that I felt that one of the previous reviews was unfair. My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights. The room was excellent, very clean and very quiet. The included breakfast was varied with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your positive feedbac. We are striving to provide customers with a high quality yet value for money service and your comments are therefore very encouraging. We hope to see you again soon. More

Bedale, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My friend and I visited this pub for lunch on 4th July - having been there many times before it changed hands in January 2014. Menu was varied but we decided on a salmon and turismo salad. Oh when it came, which was after a long wait and only 3 ladies in the bar having sandwiches it was awful, just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your meal but feel it is necessary to correct several aspects of your review. The dish ordered was a salmon and crayfish salad which as per the description on the menu was served with peppers, tomatoes and salad leaves. It is a dish that has been enjoyed by customers on many occasions without... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Excellent ensuite accommodation representing great value for money. Bedrooms in a separate block at the rear so no noise from the pub. Everything very clean. Breakfast cooked to order. Evening meals are good pub food served in the restaurant or bar. Very happy with our stay and the owners made us very welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and for your positive comments. We are particularly pleased that you feel we offer value for money as we recognise how important this is in this day and age. We hope to see you again soon More

Wakefield
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had been several times before when the previous owners had the place so were keen to see was it still as good? The answer was absolutely yes. Ian and Lisa and the lovely Max (doggy) lay on a 5 star welcome backed up by a professional but discreet service. The rooms have been refreshed and are a welcome place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are trying hard to create somewhere special at The Castle Arms Inn and your kind words and positive feedback very encouraging. We hope to see you again soon when we hope we can match or even exceed your last visit! More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just back from a lovely stay at Castle Arms,we stayed there as we were attending a wedding at nearby Hilltop Farm. I can't speak highly enough about how much we enjoyed our stay, Ian & Lisa were so friendly & welcoming,the food & drink were excellent & the accommodation was spotless & more than adequate,would definitely book again if back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ian H, Owner at The Castle Arms Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your positive comments We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and hope to see you again should you be in the area. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Castle Arms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Castle Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Arms Inn

Address: Snape, Bedale DL8 2TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Castle Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Arms Inn Bedale, Yorkshire

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bedale with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of The Castle Arms Inn and other travelers.
1 question
9 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Castle Arms Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer