We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Burnsall hotels

The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burnsall BD23 6BT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro to your Saves list
The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Burnsall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
zuluYeovil Yeovil
  • Overview
  • Reviews (210)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (65)
  • More
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    51
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
43
117
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and have never been given such poor customer service from a hotel as this. We were due to get married here, the details are in my partners review, these have been responded to by someone we have never met before (Devon S)?? Who says we are not reflecting the true position,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Devon S, MD at The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro, responded to this review

We appreciate the stress which may have recently been under but, regrettably, this lady is not reflecting the true situation. After her wedding reception was unfortunately cancelled, she lost her deposit of £500. Taking into consideration the non-refundable deposits expected by most venues of £1,000 and more and the likely loss to us as a venue, we didn’t feel we... More

Yeovil
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a 2 night stay and for the entire time got impression that staff just felt guests were unwelcome distraction although breakfast waitress was excellent.This hotel has no warmth or welcome and the manager was charmless. Also at end of stay they add a 2.5% service charge on your room rate and 12.5% on any food and drink -again... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on Sunday night (just after the Tour de France had been through the area) and got a fantastic deal via Travelzoo. The package included DB&B accommodation for two, a cream tea on arrival, a five-course tasting menu dinner and a late (12 noon) checkout. We have stayed at the posher and more expensive Devonshire Arms a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a Travelzoo deal which included a tasting menu, and the food was the highlight of our stay. Not to mention the fabulous views, with the exception of our bedroom. On arrival, the receptionist reminded us of the receptionist at our medical practice, with an air of efficiency, but not in the least friendly or welcoming. We were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on a Travelzoo voucher. We had afternoon tea in the conservatory. The service was excellent and attentive. Our room was comfortable though rather warm as it was a hot day, when we mentioned this a member of staff placed a fan in our room. The tasting menu was excellent with an extensive list of accompanying wines. Breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wetherby
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Do not use this Hotel. I totally agree with Barlow5's review of the Devonshire Fell. Once they get the money off you they are not interested in you as customers. We booked our wedding at the Devonshire and paid a £500 deposit, within a month we had to postpone due to a family bereavement and the Devonshire refused us our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Devon S, Manager at The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro, responded to this review

Mr Maxfield’s comments are not an accurate reflection of the situation. We have every sympathy with the unfortunate circumstances experienced by Mr Maxfield and his family. However, Mr Maxfield was fully aware of the terms and conditions of the booking, which he received in writing. The deposit taken is nominal compared to many other equivalent venues and due to the... More

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We saw this travel zoo offer and could not resist the chance to try one of the Yorkshire hotels of the Devonshire group, as we have had good stays in both the Derbyshire pubs. The location is stunning, and we were pleased with our spacious room and bathroom with all the details we expected. Our package included tickets to Parcevall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Axbridge
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

On arrival we were greeted at reception, given our key to room15 , told it was on the 2nd floor and left to find it ourselves and cope with our luggage although a very half-hearted offer was made to assist with our bags. On finding our room we discovered it contained a babies cot, this was removed at our request... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

we went to the Devonshire Fell for My cousins wedding it was lovely and set in the most beautiful location, myself and my family ( 4 adults and 2 children) shared a Family suite which was lovely and spacious however myself and my husband has to sleep on the sofa bed which was not comfortable at all and you both... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
27 hotel reviews
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Went to this hotel for my cousins wedding. Had the actual ceremony there, reception, sit-down meal for 50 people & disco later. I have to congratulate all the staff & management who did a first class job of everything. Every aspect of the wedding day was no less than 100%. I have spent 41 years in the catering & hospitality... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro

Address: Burnsall BD23 6BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Devonshire Fell Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Devonshire Fell Hotel And Bistro Burnsall, Yorkshire
Devonshire Fell Hotel

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer