We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Lion Hotel

Main Street, Burnsall BD23 6BU, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Red Lion Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Red Lion Hotel
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    114
    66
    39
    30
See reviews for
60
290
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (463)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (121)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just enjoyed a two night stay and wish it could have been longer. First if all, we were given a complementary upgrade as we were booked into the Manor House but moved into the main hotel. Thank you. The room was very comfortable, large and well equipped. We slept very soundly. The bar meal was excellent. My wife... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birkenshaw, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We can't get enough of the Red LIon. Only 1 hour from home but a great escape from the daily grind and a bonus is more often than not you lose phone signal. My partner loves sitting in front of the open fire in the guest lounge with a glass of chilled white whilst cheating at scrabble. Rooms great, food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Lovely location and lovely food, but the service was poor in the restaurant for Sunday lunch. We also made enquiries re accommodation but we were given incorrect information. Please check any information given re bookings to avoid disappointment. Very unprofessional dealing with complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

We were expecting your comments as you advised us you would post something when you wrote your various emails. Firstly glad you enjoyed your food. To set the record straight to other people reading your review. You enquired about accommodation for 2016 for a wedding you were holding elsewhere. The enquiry was made to 2 separate people who have no... More

Birmingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Six of us mature male walkers stayed three nights at the Red Lion end September. We lodged at the Manor House, which the hotel describes as its B & B, 150 yards up the road. Well unlike many places quoting such distances, we felt this an overestimate. Eg from the car park it can be much less, and we found... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Wow what compliments ! We work really hard to look after everyone and its great to know we are getting it right. We pride ourselves on excellent food, great wine and local ales with fantastic service ! We hope to be able to welcome you all back in the not too... More

Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we found this hotel really pleasant. Staff friendly and efficient.The grounds were next to the river and there was plenty of different seating areas outside. Bed comfy tv a bit small and couldnt get wifi in the room. However, we still enjoyed our stay and are thinking about going again with our dog. We were allocated a room in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Great to hear that you relaxed, that's what getting away is all about ! We do struggle with Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, the thickness of the walls does not help ! we suggest to guests that the best place for Wi-Fi is the sitting room only. Glad that you enjoyed your... More

Llanberis, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here a number of times and really love the food, the ambience the cosy comforts in the rooms ( Even Moulton Brown Bathing products ) lovely location in a charming village and a great wine and real ale selection. Brilliant every time. One may need to book as it gets busy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are located in the most spectacular countryside and its wonderful to be able to share it with others ! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to 'The Lion' soon, kindest regards Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just my idea of a country hotel. Perfect setting for a fisherman, in fact you could almost cast a fly to the rising trout while sitting having a drink outside. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was very good as there was plenty of light and a good mirror for my wife and her contact lenses ! I am... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us ! the fishing is very popular and our location is the perfect spot from which to fish from. All your lovely comments are greatly appreciated and we hope to be able to welcome you back to 'The Lion' soon kindest regards... More

yorks
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Stayed her for 2 nights in superior double room booked on line. Room 14 appeared very nice initially however during the night we were kept awake by fan noise, not what we expected from a country hotel. The staff did their best to help and moved us to another smaller supposedly quieter room. They said the noise was from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, apologies if you first nights sleep was broken, we have as we said had our engineer out to the cooler, this was beyond our control and we have rectified it immediately, as you said we did move you to a quieter room and did all in our power to make your stay enjoyable with us,... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

Was walking the Dales Way and called in for an evening meal. Friendly staff, and they were busy as there was a wedding on, but no problems to us, I had the pork, MMM!!! hubby had the venison and beef, and he loved it. Would recommend!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, hope to see you again soon. Regards Sarah, Vicky, Katy and Eleanor More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This is a great hotel, well placed with friendly staff and a lovely restaurant. A fair price for a well sized and very good quality meal served by helpful staff. Was working nearby and this is a nice place to end the day

Was this review helpful? Yes
redlionmanagement, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed the end of your work day with us. We all work really hard to provide high quality locally sourced food with great service ! So its great to hear we are getting it right! Looking forward to being able to welcome you back to The... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: Main Street, Burnsall BD23 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Burnsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Skipton
Red Lion Skipton
Skipton Red Lion
Red Lion Hotel Burnsall, Yorkshire

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay