We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Worsley Arms Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Main Street, Hovingham YO62 4LA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Worsley Arms Hotel
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    128
    37
    24
    12
See reviews for
40
262
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (386)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (91)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (89)
All months
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Had the pleasure of spending one night at the lovely Worsley Arms last weekend. We stayed in one of the cottages over the road from the main hotel, it regretfully has to be said the rooms do need some redecorating however it did not stop the enjoyment of our stay. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Arriving late on the Friday (11.30pm) the owner showed us to our room and couldn't be more helpful. The room was lovely. Had everything you need and was immaculate. The breakfast was fantastic and the food in the evening was terrific. Please see photos. All of the staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tonyf100731, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear northernstar77 Thank you for your feedback, it was a shame you were so delayed on Friday, we would of loved the opportunity to feed you on both nights! Do come back and stay with us soon. Regards Tony Finn More 

Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a free night's accommodation voucher from Money Supermarket and selected this hotel as we could take our dog with us. As it was free I was not expecting too much, but the hotel is lovely. There are lounge and bar areas where you can sit and have a drink or browse the papers in comfort, and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Louth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A one hotel, one pub, one bakers one cafe and one grocers shop type of litte village with a beautiful hall to admire and pretty ford,there is even a tennis court for hire. Not much was open in th e day whe I visited and with no street lights at night made it a very peaceful retreat. Lovely looking hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hebden Bridge
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is 7 years since we have visited this hotel and we were not disappointed. We booked two rooms in the cottage on the village green. Lovely power shower and cosy rooms. Dinner in the Bistro was excellent, all freshly cooked and well presented. Breakfast then next morning was also excellent also served in the Bistro. The staff could not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tonyf100731, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jill N Thank you for your positive feedback. So you succumbed to the seven year itch!! I was nice to know that you enjoyed it as much as previous visit, but please do not leave it so long before you return, itch or no itch! Regards Tony Finn More 

Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. We were staying in one of the cottages across from the main hotel as we were visiting with our dog. The room was clean and very comfortable. The only criticism of the cottages is that the stair way up to the upstairs rooms could do with a lick of paint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
tonyf100731, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crazyspice Thank you for your kind words, we seem to have ticked all the box's for you and your pooch, that special table in the bar is very popular for dog owners and is a great way to meet the locals. I have circulated you comments re the food and the team, it really is good for morale when... More 

Hull
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed a 1 night stay with a Groupon voucher . I am always a littlle wary when using vouchers as I worry that you might be treated a little differently. This was not the case at The Worsley Arms all the staff were so friendly & welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Sometimes the little things make a stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tonyf100731, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sherbert_10 Thank you for you review which is the perfect foil to the one posted below. Your review captured the atmosphere of the hotel and the service that we are proud to offer, no more to say than 'Thank you' for putting it so well. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hovingham soon. Regards Tony Finn More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a two night stay via a Groupon voucher. Got into the hotel and We got taken up to a room. Unfortunately we had to move rooms within minutes - the shower was dripping uncontrollably and there were also hairs in the bath. Got settled in another room which was much better. We decided to go for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
tonyf100731, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gemma It was a pleasure to welcome you Hovingham. I was happy to read that you initial problems were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Hovingham has never been described as a hub of activity in fact that is why the majority of our guests visit us, for peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of town life... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife & I stayed here on a two night break through "Travelzoo", the cost was £99 for the two of us for B&B. On arrival we were greeted at reception by Tony, booked in & shown to our room. The room was acceptable for the price, the shower itself was very good, but the shower curtain bracket was hanging... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tonyf100731, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear albert b Thank you for your feedback. The shower fitting has now been repaired. As I may have explained during your stay we have recently upgraded our boiler which now guarantees a plentiful supply of hot water and improved heating throughout the building but we are still juggling to control the average temperature, so you may have been a... More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Worsley Arms was the most fantastic venue for my birthday/murder mystery event! I firmly believe that a great event starts with great food, and I have heard endless praise from my guests about the food throughout the weekend. The skills of the chef and the kitchen staff are unquestionably superb, the menus were varied, local, creative and deliciously prepared,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tonyf100731, Owner at The Worsley Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Francesjane Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host your party. The hotel is so suited to private events and the murder mystery idea worked so well on the Saturday evening. I have passed on your comments to the team who look forward to welcoming you back, with or without your 30 guests! Regards Tony... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question