We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cottage Langkawi

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
No 8, Kampung Haji Saad, Jalan Pantai Chenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 7000, Malaysia
Special Rate
BUDGET ROOM RM60.00/NIGHT
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cottage Langkawi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Cottage Langkawi
Review This Hotel

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    26
    16
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
20
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (21)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

It's in a good location near the beach and away from the main street so it's nice and quiet there. The biggest dorm has no door and is right next to the reception. Did not like the dorms nor the toilets but loved the surroundings. The lockers are very old and you can even open them without the key. Big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear Susana C, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay at The Cottage Langkawi. Your opinion is always greatly appreciated and helps us to constantly strive to improve our services. We appreciate your encouraging remarks about our friendly staff. Rest assured I have taken note of the shortcoming and I am personally... More 

Cebu Island, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights till they kicked us out the worst possible way ever. Our first choice was Soluna but it was already full, and we found THE COTTAGE just near with a Trip Advisor sticker on the door so thought it was good. Paid for one night, we woke up with bug bites on our arms and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Warmest Greetings from The Cottage Langkawi! First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience during your stay recently. We appreciate that you had taken the time to share your experience and provide feedback during your stay, and I am sorry that the services rendered were not up to expectation. We believe that it is only through... More 

Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 nights with a group of friends, the place was nice, very good value for the price - ideal for backpackers. It's in a good location, close to the beach and lots of restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The wifi was pretty slow and unreliable and the bunk beds made a fair bit of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear Kirsten M, Thank you for staying with us and thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to see that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our staff. We really appreciate your constructive comments and kind words. We regret that the Wifi speed did not meet your expectations and we... More 

Amsterdam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in standard room nr.1. Quite clean and comfortable. Hot shower worked well. Wifi was a bit slow, but ok. Location pretty good as it's a short walk to what we thought was the nicest part of Chennang beach. Close to taxi station too. I guess it's not the best place you can get for approx. that price, but certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear MaJo H, Thank you for taking time out from your vacation to write a review for us. We really appreciate the compliments and the feedback for improvement. We will share your comment with our team as we do with all of our reviews. Thank you for sharing your valued opinions with others and it was a great pleasure to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Traveling for 2 months this has been the worst of some pretty bad places. When getting close to the doorway to the rooms you choke on the amount of bug spray used! at least no bugs... I got eaten alive. Went to bed in pants and a long sleeve with bug spray on. I have 3 bites on my ankle,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear Hayley W, Thank you so much for bringing your concerns to our attention regarding your stay at one of our room. Unfortunately, I was unable to speak with you in person, I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience during your stay in January 2015. We take any comment and complaint about bed bugs extremely serious and all... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1 night. I got bug-bitten up bad, like other reviewers. I even closed the screenless windows upon arriving in spite of the room's choking bug spray smell. At other reviewers suggestions I searched the gnarly mattresses for bugs throughly beforehand and found nothing. I was a fool for coming here. I should have listened to the other reviewers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear Circlethetree, Thank you for posting your candid comments here on TripAdvisor. While we are disappointed to learn about your experience, we appreciate the sincerity with which they were shared. I am aware that you spoke with my fellow team about the specifics noted above however I wanted to reiterate our sincerest apologies for the frustration these incidents may have... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The staff is nice. The air conditioning works in the rooms that have it. That's about all the good I have to say about this place. The dorm room beds have no blankets or sheets, which would be fine because there's also no a/c, but they don't close the door or windows to the dorm at all (hope you brought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear Drkrunk, Thank you for staying with us and taking time to write comments on TripAdvisor. Please do accept our sincere apologies for not able to meet up with your expectations. We appreciate that you have provided your view on your stay, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences in an effort to improve the guest experience.... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

I have nothing bad to say about this place. It was a budget choice for us and it delivered an average service, which it what I would expect. Beds were average, bathroom was average, location was good, shower was hot. Some weird things were that the staff slept on the couches outside our bedrooms and there seemed to be quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear SWC1809, Thank you for reviewing about our little guest house and thank you for sharing your valued opinions with others. My team and I will always take necessary actions to further improve to make your stay safe and happy. I will look into the shortfalls you have brought to my attention and carry out the necessary action to improve... More 

Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

We stayed for 4 nights at the Cottage and enjoyed the time. The staff is super friendly and will help you with anything you may have questions about. When our toilet broke, they fixed it immediately. The rooms are of good size, as are the bathrooms. The AC in our room was working well and we were always provided with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear Fischli_deluxe, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. It is very nice and rewarding to hear that our team made every effort to fulfill your requests and that you enjoyed your time at our guest house. I will make sure to pass your praise along to all our team as... More 

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

The cottage is on the southern side of Cenang Beach. From the pier it's a 15-20 min cab ride (30 thb) to the cottage. From the airport only 15 minutes (20 thb). Great location 5 mins walk from the quieter side of Cenang Beach. There is a great and cheap Indian restaurant (open 24h) on the corner for breakfast. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TCL2287, Owner at The Cottage Langkawi, responded to this review

Dear John S, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. Your wonderful feedback made our day. Thank you also for recommending us to others. The Cottage Langkawi team and I really appreciate it. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question