We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Hallormsstadur hotels

Hotel Hallormsstadur

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hallormsstadur, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Hallormsstadur)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hallormsstadur to your Saves list
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
70%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hallormsstadur
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (78)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (12)
  • More
true
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a large un-personal complex with none of the charm and the warm, friendly and personable atmosphere you get in most of Iceland small guesthouses. The rooms are soulless, with a level of comfort equivalent to those of smaller guesthouses albeit with more amenities (eg TV or hair blower). They are also 20 to 25% more expensive. The food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. It is a pity we did not meet your expectations. I do agree with you that some travelers prefer the small guesthouses while others enjoy staying in hotels with more facilities & service. Hope you had a wonderful holiday in Iceland. Best regards Sigrún Jóhanna More

Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yesterday we we has a most miserable experience at this hotel. Though the travel agent claims that they booked a decent room at this so called resort, we ended up in a shack, they called a cottage. Imagine a room of the size of a closet with the beds and a sofa occupying 80% of the space. The bathroom was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is a shame when people do not get what they expect. For this particular reservation the travel agency reserved a cottage which is a different standard than an hotel room inside the hotel & a different experience. And to be fair, the cottage is 16m2 wich is similar to many hotel rooms in Europe. The cottages are... More

Somerset
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used this as a transit stop. Unless you wish to stay in this area for a few days, I wouldn't bother. It is a conveyor belt for bus tours, inevitably, and some of the worst type. Staff mildly helpful. Room was cramped , a bath would have been welcome after a day's walking. Beds were very uncomfortable. TV didn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet you expectations. The double standard room is 21 m2 (wich is quite large for a double room) but your reservation had a extra bed request. May be it would have been better to reserve a triple room for you, they are larger. We do not have... More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Got the impression straight away that this place was quite up-themselves. Our room was a little cramped (3 of us) and the bathroom average (no bath) but you can't fault the picturesque view onto the lake from the room (if you get one on the right side of course!). The downside to this is that the hot-tub (more like 'mildly-warm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Your reservation was for a double room with extra bed. The double rooms are 21m2 wich is quite large for a double room. If you would have reserved one of our triple rooms maybe it would have been more comfortable, they are larger. The heat of the hot tub is controlled by a... More

Foxboro, Mass
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here one night on a motorcoach tour around Iceland. We had a very nice clean room overlooking the back of the hotel and the lake. The buffet was very good with mutiple choices (salad, pasta, chicken, chicken wings, beef, pork, vegetables). The room was clean, good bathroom facilities and for privacy we did have to close our curtains as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you again in Hallormsstaður in near future. Best regards Sigrún Jóhanna Hótel Manager More

vancouver
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent two nights here andcan not recommend this property. It was noisy, had the worse food we have had so far in Iceland, had indifferent and disinterested staff and rooms were not cleaned after first night. Hotel seems to focus on groups. These depart in the early morning with a great banging and slamming of doors. Room doors need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to hear that we did not rise to your expectations. My wish is you had let the lobby know about you complaint regarding your room so we could have taken immediate action. Thank you for your review as it will help us improve the hotel for our future guests. More

Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Not really a village as such rather a collection of hotels/ accommodation, activity centres and a campsite; however it doesn't feel contrived, the setting is beautiful and quite different to elsewhere in Iceland. There are woodland walks right from the front door and free bikes to jolly off on. The buffet was great in the evening - the chef came... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. Hope to see you again in Hallormsstaður. More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Superb hotel with nice staff, clean big rooms, good wifi reception and an excellent dinner and breakfast buffet. The view is almost surreal. We borrowed bicycles and went for a trip around the area in the sunset.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review. Hope you had a good vacation in Iceland & we see you again soon in Hallormsstaður. More

Woodland Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

During our stay in May, my wife and I were one of only two couples staying at this sprawling complex in the country (one of the advantages of traveling before tour bus season). We were the only patrons of the beautiful restaurant, overlooking the lake and the mountains, yet the young lady managing the hotel insisted that we order anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words, hope to seen you soon again in Hallormsstaður. More

worcs
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
74 hotel reviews
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

the hotel is by itself on a lake but very nicely set.You are a captive audience as there is nowhere else nearby.However when we were there the weather was lovely and we ate in the conservatory restaurant drinking a draft beer and wine that was not too exorbitant.The buffet food was varied and,although not brilliant,was very acceptable compared to other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Hope you had a wonderful vacation in Iceland. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Hallormsstadur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Hallormsstadur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hallormsstadur

Address: Hallormsstadur, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Hallormsstadur)
Location: Iceland > East Region > Egilsstadir > Hallormsstadur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hallormsstadur 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Hallormsstadur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
44

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Hotel Hallormsstadur and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hotel Hallormsstadur staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer