We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Hallormsstadur

3.0 of 5
Hallormsstadur, Egilsstadir 701, Iceland (Formerly Fosshotel Hallormsstadur)
Hotel amenities
Hotel Hallormsstadur
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hallormsstadur
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015
Fiona c Taunton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
17
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

We stayed here for one night on 3rd March and our group tour of fifteen were the only guests in this remote place. The hotel is modern with very nice comfortable bedrooms with attractive furnishings. The beds were very good. The dining room has a stunning view overlooking the lake and mountains beyond. The food we had here was delicious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quebec, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

After a little rain during the afternoon, we was really happy to find the hotel. It wasn't really near of our road, but we were really surprise. The lanscape on the river was really amazing from the Dining room. We arrived late in the night and the staff accept to open the dining room for us. She was really amazing,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Only stayed there for one night and it looked nice enough but when we checked into the panoramic views of the valley they took us into a "standard room" which we had booked but the sales process felt very misleading. The hotel was dead empty so they did move us to a room with a view but it wasnt an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We stayed just one night at Hallormsstadur as a stopover for our Ring Route tour. We arrived there after the sunset, so finding the place was quite tricky at the moon less dark night. However I must be fair: the next morning I noticed a sign in the road I didn't see it. Hotel is huge with several rooms. Check-in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
56 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Nice clean and light room with nice lake view and wooden floor. Excellent Wi-Fi but only available in lobby ! Very friendly staff at reception but the rest of the staff didn’t seem to notice us. Nice bathroom with walk-in shower and good beds. Diner buffet very expensive: 6800 ISK per person. A small la carte menu is available but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a large un-personal complex with none of the charm and the warm, friendly and personable atmosphere you get in most of Iceland small guesthouses. The rooms are soulless, with a level of comfort equivalent to those of smaller guesthouses albeit with more amenities (eg TV or hair blower). They are also 20 to 25% more expensive. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. It is a pity we did not meet your expectations. I do agree with you that some travelers prefer the small guesthouses while others enjoy staying in hotels with more facilities & service. Hope you had a wonderful holiday in Iceland. Best regards Sigrún Jóhanna More 

Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Yesterday we we has a most miserable experience at this hotel. Though the travel agent claims that they booked a decent room at this so called resort, we ended up in a shack, they called a cottage. Imagine a room of the size of a closet with the beds and a sofa occupying 80% of the space. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is a shame when people do not get what they expect. For this particular reservation the travel agency reserved a cottage which is a different standard than an hotel room inside the hotel & a different experience. And to be fair, the cottage is 16m2 wich is similar to many hotel rooms in Europe. The cottages are... More 

Somerset
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We used this as a transit stop. Unless you wish to stay in this area for a few days, I wouldn't bother. It is a conveyor belt for bus tours, inevitably, and some of the worst type. Staff mildly helpful. Room was cramped , a bath would have been welcome after a day's walking. Beds were very uncomfortable. TV didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet you expectations. The double standard room is 21 m2 (wich is quite large for a double room) but your reservation had a extra bed request. May be it would have been better to reserve a triple room for you, they are larger. We do not have... More 

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Got the impression straight away that this place was quite up-themselves. Our room was a little cramped (3 of us) and the bathroom average (no bath) but you can't fault the picturesque view onto the lake from the room (if you get one on the right side of course!). The downside to this is that the hot-tub (more like 'mildly-warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Your reservation was for a double room with extra bed. The double rooms are 21m2 wich is quite large for a double room. If you would have reserved one of our triple rooms maybe it would have been more comfortable, they are larger. The heat of the hot tub is controlled by a... More 

Foxboro, Mass
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here one night on a motorcoach tour around Iceland. We had a very nice clean room overlooking the back of the hotel and the lake. The buffet was very good with mutiple choices (salad, pasta, chicken, chicken wings, beef, pork, vegetables). The room was clean, good bathroom facilities and for privacy we did have to close our curtains as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sigrun_Johanna, Manager at Hotel Hallormsstadur, responded to this review

Dear guest Thank you for your nice review. Hope to see you again in Hallormsstaður in near future. Best regards Sigrún Jóhanna Hótel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question