We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges

Certificate of Excellence
Hunston Road | Badwell Ash, Badwell Ash, Bury St. Edmunds IP31 3DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Badwell Ash
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Really lovely place to relax and unwind. The accommodation, surroundings and hosts were excellent. We planned to visit near by places, but the lodge was so nice and peaceful, we only went out once. The rest of the time was spent watching the wildlife, going in the hot tub, eating (to much) and the od drink. We will be back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Phil Y
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

Had yet another great week away at Badwell. A week in Heron was just what we needed. There are new table and chairs plus new work surfaces and splash backs. Penny and Anthony are a great couple and were a great couple to talk too.

Helpful?
Thank Subman74
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2015

We have just spent a week at Woodpecker Lodge to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and can honestly say that it was absolutely perfect from start to finish. Penny & Anthony have made sure every attention to detail has been thought of, from the Champagne chilling in the fridge on arrival, the fabulous hamper, to the gowns & slippers, luxury chocolates,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian_N_5
BadwellAshLodges, Owner at Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges, responded to this review

Dear Ian and Pam N Thank you so much for taking the time to review Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges and for your lovely words - we can't ask for better than that! Being fairly new to this business we really appreciate your comments and it is so encouraging to know that we are maintaining the high standards that have preceded... More 

Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

We stayed here for a long weekend break after it being recommended by work colleagues and we weren't disappointed in any way. The attention to detail is very apparent. When you arrive the box of 'goodies' is excellent and even more so when you go in the fridge and see the bottle of champagne cooling. The décor is perfect, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue F
BadwellAshLodges, Owner at Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges, responded to this review

Dear Sue F Thank you for taking the time to review Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted that Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges lived up to expectations and that you had such a relaxing, enjoyable stay. We are really looking forward to welcoming you (and also your friends) back next... More 

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

The initial impression was a little disappointing as the brochure implies that there is space and privacy. In reality the lake is smaller than it appears and the trees and rushes grown up. Wifi is free but intermittent, I have an iPad mini and had no internet all week.......all negatives covered The lodge on its own looked very dark with... More 

Helpful?
Thank RichDee1966
BadwellAshLodges, Owner at Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges, responded to this review

Dear Rich and Dee and family Thank you for taking the time to review Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges - we really appreciate your comments. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay here so much and that you were able to sample so much of what Badwell, the local area and the local eateries have to... More 

Pool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

This is a first class venue, immaculate, clean, peaceful, superbly maintained and wonderful hosts. We very much enjoyed our stay, Wagtail was a lovely lodge offering top class accommodation and high levels of cleanliness. Wagtail was perfect for us, all mod cons, a decked balcony sitting over the lake was roomy and relaxing with a hot tub within touching distance.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
BadwellAshLodges, Manager at Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges, responded to this review

Dear Mark and Ali, Thank you for taking the time to review Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges. We really are so pleased that you had a good time fishing - and that you caught some brialliant fish too! It was lovely to spend some time chatting with you both. We will be really pleased to welcome you back in October. Best... More 

West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2015

Spent a lovely long weekend, 24 july, every little thing that you might need was supplied, the hamper was an extra special treat too, lovely relaxing time, men were fishing and I was just chilling, the ducks were so friendly. Only thing missing was the weather, which no one can control.Hot tub was special too, even in the rain. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pam B
BadwellAshLodges, Manager at Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges, responded to this review

Dear Pam B, Thank you for taking the time to review Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges. We are so pleased that the weather during your stay didn't dampen your spirits and that you had the chance to enjoy the hot tub in the rain - sounds odd but it really is good fun! It's good to hear that you had the... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

This is our secret retreat that we have visited for years. Each time we think it may not be as good as the last but it just gets better and better. The wildlife is brilliant (as are the hosts). Spotless accommodation with everything catered for. A welcome hamper with champers, steam shower, private outdoor hot tub etc. all live up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul F
BadwellAshLodges, Manager at Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges, responded to this review

Dear Paul F, Thank you for taking the time to review Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges. It has truly been our pleasure to welcome you back again and again. We are so glad that upon every visit you find reasons to return. We also appreciate the interest you take in the wildlife - I know the ducks hate having to say... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015 via mobile

5 star treatment and facilities without 5 star prices. What a delightful place for a relaxing break. Everywhere absolutely spotless. Welcome 10/10, facilities 10/10, cleanliness 10/10, location 10/10. Already planning to go back. Many thanks to all who made our visit so memorable

Helpful?
Thank Robin P
BadwellAshLodges, Manager at Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges, responded to this review

Dear Robin, Thank you for taking the time to reivew Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges. It was lovely to welcome you both and we are really pleased that you had such a good stay. We know the ducks will be just as delighted as we are to welcome you back! We will highlight your review to the team to let them... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

We run two very busy business's and was looking for a 'do nothing' few days. Badwell Ash is such a hidden gem and we could not have found anywhere more perfect. The detail in the facilities is amazing, right down to silly things like a torch or fleece jackets in the store room. Amazing Swedish cabins on a lake, well... More 

Helpful?
Thank James A
BadwellAshLodges, Manager at Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges, responded to this review

Dear James, Thank you for taking the time to review Badwell Ash Holiday Lodges. It was a pleasure to welcome you both to the site and we are delighted that even our guests 'in the trade' feel well looked after. We are glad that you both had a chance to relax and catch some excellent fish!. Hopefully we will get... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

95 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (95)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badwell Ash
8.7 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Ickworth Hotel
The Ickworth Hotel
#1 of 2 in Horringer
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
12.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
Ravenwood Hall Country Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bury St. Edmunds
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
17.7 mi away
Weybread Lakes Log Cabin Holidays
4.9 mi away
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfast & Gardens
Drinkstone Park Bed and Breakfas...
#1 of 61 in Bury St. Edmunds
5.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities