We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woolpack Inn

Certificate of Excellence
2 Warminster Rd | nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Woolpack Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    129
    122
    42
    12
    10
See reviews for
50
173
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (315)
  • Mar-May only
    (88)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Norfolk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Inn was very reasonably priced, the location in a lovely quiet village. The majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food is extremely good value and visitors and locals alike packed the Inn every night - which indicates its popularity. Parking a bit tight but then on road parking is available and seems safe. Dogs are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely staff, very chatty. Rooms not fantastically clean but I'm not one to moan about a few cobwebs in a period property, and we were staying in the feature room which probably doesn't get used everyday. Food very nice and typical of the Old English Inns. The village is beautiful and it was just far enough away from Bath which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards HTurberville More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can only comment on the food at The Woolpack Beckington. 5 of us went in for a meal. The food and service were excellent. And a good price as well 2 had a pint of real ale and one pint was a bit cloudy and "off". Took it back and it was replaced promptly. No complaints about food or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review the team and I are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we will look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards HTurberville More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we were booked into two rooms within a few minutes, told about door keys if we needed to go out late. Rooms were in the roof, quirky but spotless. Plenty of room and airy. Bed so comfortable. If you were tall the slanting roof may have caused a problem but not for us. Restaurant clean,food excellent value for money. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review, I will pass your comments on to the team. Kind Regards HTurberville GM More 

Coventry
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The used cotton bud that greeted us on the floor of our room was not a great start, neither was the lack of toilet roll holder and half of the basin drain mechanism. True, this latter had been replaced by a conventional plug, but when removed this left an unobstructed hole down which any small object could drop into the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review I am very sorry you found that it did not live up to your last visit, as you can see from our other reviews this is not the usual standards and I apologise. I do hope you will choose to visit us again in future. Thank you again. Kind regards HTurberville GM More 

Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed here 3 times altogether and absolutely love it. Food is great pub grub, breakfast is exceptional and the superior rooms feel like such a treat to stay in. Can't wait to return in October before our Halloween Centre Parcs trip and have a glass of wine or 2 by the fire!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your lovely review the team and I will look forward to welcoming you back in October. Kind Regards HTurberville GM More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

Our room was clean and comfy and full of character don`t expect loads of chrome and laminate flooring this is an old inn and the decor reflects this.Our twin beds were very comfortable and bed lining and towels lovely and clean and fresh.Special thanks to all of the helpfull staff especially Becky!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, I will pass your comments onto Becky and the team they will be so pleased. Kind Regards HTurberville GM More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
662 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

Great beer. Great staff. Good food. I had the hunters chicken and chips. One beer one coffee. Fifteen quid. Lush. Great old pub too. Well worth a visit. Your time and your money. This place is to be enjoyed in this quiet village. Enjoy! Locals friendly too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for this lovely review. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and were happy with your rooms and with the service the team provided. Please come and see us again very soon . kind regards Bryan More 

Chicago
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

We spent one night at this hotel. Staff was very friendly (as were the pub patrons). Rooms were spotlessly clean and quite comfortable. We had dinner at the pub and it was very good. But breakfast was the highlight -- numerous cooked options to choose from and chocolate croissants that would be right at home in Paris. Yum....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for this lovely review. Really pleased that you enjoyed both the service and food you received during your stay and that you were happy with location and accommodation. I hope that you will choose us next time you are in the area. Bryan More 

Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Dinner was so good we drove back the next morning for breakfast. We had a lovely English Breakfast, it was beautifully cooked, very good quality food and served by Melanie who is friendly and welcoming. I can see this inn being very popular and we will return for sure when in area next, thank you Melanie!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are very happy to hear that your enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. It is really rewarding to know we are achieving our goals for the business and promise to continue to improve food quality and service standards. We hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.Bryan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckington
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Frome
Premier Inn Frome
#2 of 4 in Frome
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
5.5 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.5 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.5 mi away
The House
The House
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#17 of 30 in Frome
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Place To Stay
The Place To Stay
#3 of 30 in Frome
4.5 of 5 stars 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay