We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Woolpack Inn

Certificate of Excellence
2 Warminster Rd | nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
Hotel amenities
The Woolpack Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
michele w Torquay, United Kingdom
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    106
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
43
158
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (286)
  • Mar-May only
    (85)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Bit of a mixed bag here. We stayed in room 1 which was a superior room in this lovely inn. The room itself was lovely and the bathroom was really impressive but i have to say the housekeeping was lacking as the floor and furniture were really dusty. Thick clumps of dust on the chairs and under the bed it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Back here after quite a while. We stayed in room 1, one of the superior rooms generous in size and with a boutique-feel about it. As ever with Old English Inns, things are a bit frayed around the edges, however this is probably testament to the popularity of the chain and general good value. The staff are friendly and efficient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woolpack I, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. All of the staff will be pleased to read your nice comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon, bryan, General Manager More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in here at the weekend for a drink whilst we were staying at the Travel Lodge. The staff were so friendly, the bar was clean & tidy, toilets were also clean & tidy although the toilet rolls were not on holder, just put on top of the sanitary bin. Had a lovely evening. It was nice to see the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woolpack I, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s good to hear you enjoyed your visit and found the staff pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Bryan, General Manager More 

Norton St. Philip
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had dinner with friends here on a Wednesday evening. We were told there was a new Spring menu. Unhappily for my vegetarian wife this, from a menu of a few dozen items include just one vegetarian item , a curry. Not impressed. Eventually they grudgingly offered a jacket potato with a side salad. Even this was poor. Service was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woolpack I, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Please accept our my apologies for the shortfalls you experienced during your visit. I will share your review with the team and correct the issues you have raised. Bryan, General Manager More 

Sittingbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We had two double rooms booked for an overnight stay". We were greeted by a friendly member of staff but that was were anything pleasant stopped! Our loft rooms were filthy, very dusty, with months of dust covering the beams. The carpets were covered in bits and the room had not been maintained. In the bathroom I had to bend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Woolpack I, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. I will note all of the concerns raised and action where possible. Regards, bryan, General Manager More 

Ballina, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I abs fell in love with this place!! The woolpack inn.... wat an amazing spot and full of history!! When we went in it was so busy the girl behinh bar was ran off her feet but so welcoming.Fantastic surrounding areas and houses .. Loved it!! would go back again definetky!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woolpack I, General Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit . We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Bryan , General Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

We could not speak highly enough of the Woolpack Inn! On arrival all the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful, the room was clean with all the expected amenities needed. The bar and restaurant are both relaxing atmospheres and beautifully decorated. The food was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Would definitelyrecommend staying here!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Woolpack I, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. The staff will be pleased to read them. We all look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Craig, General Manager More 

The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I have to say that the meal I enjoyed here with my Mum and a mutual friend was excellent. We had a leak and potato soup starter, my Mum had a chicken caesar salad, our friend had a steak and ale pie and I had the lasagne. I have to say that their lasagne was particularly nice, the exact balance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woolpack I, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit In particular the food. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards, Craig, General Manager More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We visited for lunch over Easter weekend and got off to a bad start when the waitress spilt a hot chocolate on my daughter. However, she worked really hard to make it up to us and the food was excellent. Chicken Tikka, Beef Chilli, Fish and chips and a children's fish fingers: all were really good and convinced us to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woolpack I, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you your review, the waitress was mortified by the incident, however I am glad that no harm came to your daughter. Becky will be pleased to read your comments as she did her best to rectify the situation. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Craig, General Manager More 

Banbury
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

I stayed one night as I was meeting friends who live in the area. Parking at the Inn is limited but I managed to park in the street just a short distance from it. I arrived early but the Receptionist checked the room and it was ready so they let me check in. Be warned there is no lift and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woolpack I, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit. We are looking to make general repairs to bathrooms in the near future. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Craig, General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities