We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westward Cottage

130 Benton Street, Hadleigh IP7 5AZ, England
Westward Cottage
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (13)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

This is the most charming chocolate box cottage, complete with friendly cats, a dovecote and noisy ducks roaming in the gorgeous country garden. The house is wonderfully quaint with lots of gorgeous period features, beautifully furnished and very, very cosy. The host has created a wonderfully, welcoming atmosphere: we felt completely at home and able to relax. The beds were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I went to Suffolk at the weekend with two friends and we stayed at Westward Cottage on the recommendation of another friend who had seen it on the Channel 4 series Four In A Bed. The owner Stephen Stanley Little was lovely to deal with when we booked it as our base and an absolute delight while we were his... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

If you ever get the chance to visit Hadleigh in Suffolk, jump at it as its lovely market town with lots of character and charisma, however try to avoid the bed and breakfast that we chose for this trip. Stephen the owner has a beautiful house and an almost perfect location however the bed and breakfast experience was certainly unusual.The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stephen S, Owner at Westward Cottage, responded to this review

I am very sorry that Brenda's stay with her friends did not meet her expectations. They were two couples doing a bicycle tour of south Suffolk and had booked my offer of three nights for the price of two. Clearly this was not value for their money - but in my experience most people want to keep their rooms private... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We stayed recently whilst attending a local wedding. Stephen was very accommodating as we had to phone last minute to say we weren't able to check in as planned. We had a lovely welcome when we did arrive, and he was obviously used to and very comfortable with having young children to stay, which put us at ease immediately. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Myself and a friend booked to stay here as we were attending a wedding at the local Priory Hall. On our arrival the owner seemed lovely as he greeted us at the door as showed us to our room and also the kitchen where we would have breakfast in the morning. The room was terribly dirty, there was a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Stephen S, Owner at Westward Cottage, responded to this review

I was concerned to read Rosa M.'s hostile and inaccurate review of my B&B. She had booked a double for herself and partner and a single for a female friend. I asked for and received a small deposit for the latter room. However a day or two before arrival she contacted me to say her partner had let her down... More 

Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed at Westward Cottage during the weekend of a friend's wedding which was being held nearby. Our stay was lovely. The man who runs the B&B is charming, the house and garden was beautiful and our room was neat, tidy and clean. Our breakfast in the morning was a great way to end our stay, and we appreciated the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My best friend and I stayed at Westward Cottage last weekend whilst attending a wedding at Priory Hall. The host Stephen (and his 2 very lovely cats) were very welcoming and we were led through a gorgeous country kitchen up to the accommodation. Our double room overlooked the beautiful garden, with quaint terrace area and plenty of foliage to soothe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Westward Cottage on our wedding night as our wedding was just across the road. We arrived at our room with a wedding gift at the door from the owner - a lovely bunch of vintage roses from his own garden and they smelled gorgeous!! The room was beautiful and the bed was comfortable! Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Westward Cottage double room for three nights. I can't say enough nice things about the place. A fantastic 17th century cottage with many original features, delicious breakfast with fresh local products and excellent host. I would not hesitate to recommend this b&b to anyone and book to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here on the night of our wedding as married across the road at The Priory & the wonky upstairs was fab & fits in with the character of the building, we had the double room which overlooks the garden & the bed was comfy & bedding nice & snuggly. The room was lovely & clean & the new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question