We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Westward Cottage

130 Benton Street, Hadleigh IP7 5AZ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hadleigh
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Westward Cottage
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

This is a very nice old cottage with a warm friendly welcome, A very helpful host. The beds were comfortable and clean. where some things let it down, we're the tea facilities i.e. no t bags in one room, No coffee in any rooms or any other choices to choose from although asking the Host about the tea and coffee,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mike n
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2015

Stayed at this gorgeous little cottage in order to attend a local wedding in September 2015. We were warmly welcomed by Stephen, the host and owner of the cottage. He showed us through to our double bedroom with en-suite with which we were very pleasantly surprised. The cottage is very quirky and full of antiques and collectables which added to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2015 via mobile

Absolutely gorgeous cottage with the most charming and accommodating host. Highly recommend this place if you're in the area, lovely clean en suite rooms and a fabulous breakfast. A really comfortable stay

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola G
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Attending a Wedding at Priory Hall, we chose the closest B&B. We could not have been more pleased. The cottage is lovely and the owner Stephen was very helpful. The rooms are unusual, and the double rooms both have en suite bathrooms. There is also a single room and a separate bathroom. It is an old building and full of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie E
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

This is the most charming chocolate box cottage, complete with friendly cats, a dovecote and noisy ducks roaming in the gorgeous country garden. The house is wonderfully quaint with lots of gorgeous period features, beautifully furnished and very, very cosy. The host has created a wonderfully, welcoming atmosphere: we felt completely at home and able to relax. The beds were... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Colette M
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I went to Suffolk at the weekend with two friends and we stayed at Westward Cottage on the recommendation of another friend who had seen it on the Channel 4 series Four In A Bed. The owner Stephen Stanley Little was lovely to deal with when we booked it as our base and an absolute delight while we were his... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank FrancesPardell
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

If you ever get the chance to visit Hadleigh in Suffolk, jump at it as its lovely market town with lots of character and charisma, however try to avoid the bed and breakfast that we chose for this trip. Stephen the owner has a beautiful house and an almost perfect location however the bed and breakfast experience was certainly unusual.The... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank brenda D
Stephen S, Owner at Westward Cottage, responded to this review

I am very sorry that Brenda's stay with her friends did not meet her expectations. They were two couples doing a bicycle tour of south Suffolk and had booked my offer of three nights for the price of two. Clearly this was not value for their money - but in my experience most people want to keep their rooms private... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We stayed recently whilst attending a local wedding. Stephen was very accommodating as we had to phone last minute to say we weren't able to check in as planned. We had a lovely welcome when we did arrive, and he was obviously used to and very comfortable with having young children to stay, which put us at ease immediately. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Annabel963
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Myself and a friend booked to stay here as we were attending a wedding at the local Priory Hall. On our arrival the owner seemed lovely as he greeted us at the door as showed us to our room and also the kitchen where we would have breakfast in the morning. The room was terribly dirty, there was a little... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Rosa M
Stephen S, Owner at Westward Cottage, responded to this review

I was concerned to read Rosa M.'s hostile and inaccurate review of my B&B. She had booked a double for herself and partner and a single for a female friend. I asked for and received a small deposit for the latter room. However a day or two before arrival she contacted me to say her partner had let her down... More 

Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We stayed at Westward Cottage during the weekend of a friend's wedding which was being held nearby. Our stay was lovely. The man who runs the B&B is charming, the house and garden was beautiful and our room was neat, tidy and clean. Our breakfast in the morning was a great way to end our stay, and we appreciated the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank AshleighJosie
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadleigh
3.6 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holbecks House B&B
Holbecks House B&B
#2 of 6 in Hadleigh
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities