We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Annex Hotel

McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Annex Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

281 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

it was a perfect stay in dharamshala with annex had a great dinner their got a nice chat with staff about mcleod ganj staff was so friendly and polite , always ready to help you there was slightly problem with shower but they solved easily.

Helpful?
Thank fernandojoris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stay at Annex every time I travel to McLeod Ganj. As always, here's the best: a great location, friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are clean and comfortable that made me totally felt at home. You'll be doing yourself a favor if you stay at Annex. Looking forward to come back and staying longer :) Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Pdarate
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff were so helpful and welcoming. You get the feeling that they really value each guest and would go the extra mile to help. We stayed there for a couple of nights last June and we had a small living area in our room so it felt like we were coming back to our own small apartment - definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire H
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

The staff very very helpful. I made arrangements for local sights of the dharmashala through the hotel- very easy process. I liked very much the localization - just 5 - 8 minutes walking distance from the main attractions.Overall satisfied with everything I would choose to stay here again the view of the hotel was great.

Helpful?
Thank Gorgchf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

Have kept this review pending for a long time, feeling content to keep my promise which I gave to the hotel staff while leaving that we would make our experience count! #Unfriendly staff: Hardly smiling or offering service #Unjustified cost: 2 Toast of Bread was charged 80 bucks! Thats 3 loaves of Bread in Delhi!! #Dirty Linens: Have still kept... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kaushik S
HakeemHassan, Owner at Annex Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear after such a long time that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We would appreciate, if you could make your unsatisfaction clear to us face to face at the time, so we could do our best to fix the problem. We are very sorry that you didn't gave us the chance to do so. Our rooms... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Good location, very close to the Dalai Lama temple, and market. The room we got was slightly disappointing and overpriced. It had a an outdated feel, and definitely needs to be renovated to make the guests feel comfortable. At night, we were greeted by many insects, not sure where they came from, and it was annoying. On a positive note,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mayur0783
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

There are plenty of posh hotels popping up all around Daramashala but this is an old classic. Nothing fancy just nice rooms, nice views and lovely helpful staff who can't do enough to help. Just not too close to town to be quiet but not a long walk. Good view from the roof for sun set.

Helpful?
Thank Tim T
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

I spent 2 night at the Annex hotel in late September. Our room was on the lowest floor in the basement and was very damp and moist, especially the bathroom, which always had droplets of water dripping from the ceiling, whether it had been recently showered in our not. The ceiling & walls had warped and cracked texture to it... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Salsajo
HakeemHassan, Owner at Annex Hotel, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment and misunderstandings with towels. Our stuff are usually very quick to deliver things guests are asking for, our apologies if we didn't deliver this time. Talking about damp and mist, I need to point out that, we have very heavy and long monsoon... More 

Revelstoke, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2015

I had a fantastic stay at the Annex. All the staff are lovely and were very helpful, especially when I became ill with a stomach bug they were extremely accommodating. The hotel has breathtaking views, is a very short walk to the centre of Mcleod Ganj yet is very quiet and peaceful. I would highly recommend staying here!

Helpful?
Thank Kelsey B
HakeemHassan, Owner at Annex Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. We highly appreciate your genuine feedback. Greetings from all our stuff and good luck! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015 via mobile

The hotel has an excellent location being close to the centre of McLeod and as other reviewers have said it has lovely views. The breakfasts were good and the staff were attentive. The reason I am giving it a poor score is that the bathrooms in both our our rooms were very grubby. Our daughters shower didn't work and there... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Philip J
HakeemHassan, Owner at Annex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Philip! Thanks for your nice words about our hotel and stuff. We would appreciate if you would inform us about the problems with bathroom during your stay, so we could do something to fix it. We never marked our hotel as a 3 star place, we don' t have any ranking, only the genuine feedback from our guests, what... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

161 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLeod Ganj
0.6 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#2 of 17 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#12 of 17 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 17 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
Hotel Gandhi's Paradise
#7 of 17 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bob's n Barley
Bob's n Barley
#3 of 60 in Dharamsala
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#5 of 60 in Dharamsala
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay