We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Claregalway Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Claregalway Village, Claregalway, Ireland
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Claregalway Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

375 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    202
    90
    47
    18
    18
See reviews for
114
114
12
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (375)
  • Mar-May only
    (95)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (85)
All months
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for a couple of nights and travel in to Galway centre. It's a bit out of town so we had to drive. The rooms are very comfortable and breakfast the following morning was very nice too. There's a little Chinese next door we tried out to which was nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival hotel was nice, got checked in quickly. Had requested cot on booking for our 6month old but there was none in room. We went back down to ask and were told it would be brought up. Went swimming then pool area was nice and clean but there was no towels available so we had to go back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to share with us your thoughts on trip advisor. I do sincerely apologise that about your request had not been met on arrival. I am glad to see that we did finally get a Cot to you room, I do apologise for the delay. I will look into why where the baby... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our wedding their on the 8th of August 2015... It's was absolutely perfect thanks to nora and her wonderful staff. Very professional and helpful and very easy to get along with. Would definitely recommend to have your wedding in the claregalway hotel..

Was this review helpful? Yes
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christian and Owen, Many thanks for your kind review on Tripadvisor of your wedding days celebrations. It was our pleasure to host you both, your families and friends here at the Claregalway hotel on this most special day in your lives. Nora, the team and I are delighted that we exceed your expectations and humbled that you are recommending... More 

Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Travelling back to Donegal from Cork with my 82 year old mother and decided to call into the Claregalway Hotel for Coffee and scones. We went into the bar area where it appeared that food was being served. The two tables beside us had not been cleared and were covered in uneaten food, plates, glasses etc. We sat for about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to read your comments. All I can say I that I sincerely apologise and ask that you e-mail me directly to discuss this matter. It is not our usual standard of service and I am a take back as we have fresh deliveries of bread in the morning. I look... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to this hotel several times for food and also for drinks. The staff are lovely and very friendly. The menu has a large choice of options and the food is very good. Great atmosphere in this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you found the hotels bars and food offer to be to your satisfaction. I will pass on your compliments to the team, and we thank you for your kind remarkes. Once again thank you very much for your feedback and... More 

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room at this hotel was larger than many similar properties in Ireland and provided a lot of natural light. As far as the finishes and amenities go, it was pretty run of the mill. I would have liked if it was in a more walkable location. If I were to return to the area again proximity to pubs and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you found the rooms to be to your satisfaction. In the area we have two other pubs, and five restaurants of different styles and offer, and all within two minute walk of the hotel. Our front desk would have been... More 

Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Always longed to stay here as was our first choice for our wedding few years back but didn't hold our numbers. We were here for a wedding check on was slow 4 behind the counter chilling and one lady Fiona serving a wedding crowd may be easier if they chilled in the office. Notting special about the hotel entrances and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are taken back by your very very individualised comments about our team and service. It goes against the vast majority of opinions of our wedding guests who have celebrated hundreds of weddings here in 12 years of service. Indeed, guest who attend the very same wedding have written to us directly to... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very poor service we visited this hotel over the weekend and waited 15 minutes and no one served us we had to get our own menus and no one approached us to take our order. So we went to the hotel next door where the service was excellent very disappointed with claregalway hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on Tripadvisor, I do apologise that you were not greeted and seated immodesty upon your arrival. It is not our expected standard of service and I once again apologise. We were extremely busy on the weekend in question, and I do apologise that you had to... More 

Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

stayed here with my husband and 2 children , it is a great hotel we had a lovely time food was very good and the family rooms are ideal .the pool is great also we will be returning again in the future

Was this review helpful? Yes
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thank for taking the time to leave a constructive feedback on Trip advisor. I am disappointed to read that some of our standards dropped during your stay. I do apologise that you came across our annual spring clean of the lost and found cupboard that was set to go to the Charity Shop Nearby. I do apologise... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

First impression found a dirty towel mixed in with our clean towels which was dealt with very promptly by the staff but in my opinion this was unforgivable. Unfortunately it does not end there, there was a top missing of the toilet flush in the bathroom & there appeared to be chips out of the bath. We decided to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest Many thank for taking the time to leave a constructive feedback on Trip advisor. I am disappointed to read that some of our standards dropped during your stay. I do apologise that you came across our annual spring clean of the lost and found cupboard that was set to go to the Charity Shop Nearby. I do apologise... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
4.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#10 of 57 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
8.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#1 of 57 in Galway
4.5 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 7 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Flannery's Hotel Galway
#18 of 57 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
13.2 mi away
Ard Ri House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#14 of 57 in Galway
4.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay