We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Cholderton hotels

The Red House Hotel

Save
You added The Red House Hotel to your Saves list
Parkhouse Cross, Cholderton SP4 0EG, England
Hotel amenities
The Red House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cholderton
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cholderton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
2
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I needed to book 5 rooms at the last mintue and this place was the only hotel in the area within budget. The hotel was nice and quiet and I had a great nights sleep. The decor was rather old, and needed updating and freshening up. Room was clean although the bathroom was rather tired and needed refitting really. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

I recently stayed at the Red House Hotel whilst in the area with work. I had a fantastic week and could not have been looked after better by friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was too much trouble such as allowing me to have breakfast 10 mins early on day 1 due to an early start, numbers were looked up for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
2 reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

The toilet was filthy, so filthy that I actually went to the nearest pub to use their toilets. The location was good for where I needed to be the next day. The rooms were average, worse than a travel lodge that's for sure. Uncomfortable bed and grubby curtains. The receptionist was friendly upon our arrival but when we had breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 59
629542, Owner at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

This has been sent on for action and removal. More 

Travelers are raving about these Cholderton hotels

Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My long departed Nan loved Crossroads so initially it was lovely to see we had walked onto the original set. We were greeted by a friendly guy behind a shiny Formica reception desk and told we had room 11. Everything about this place is vaguely naff and the shabby staircase and corridor didn't bode well but even so the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 73
629542, Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Oh dear indeed! It's marvellous amongst all the positive reviews from a busy weekend of racing at Thruxton race circuit there's always one! We are so sorry that our interior design obviously doesn't meet your exacting standards, after all it is a subjective exercise. It s a shame that you did not read the information, available to all guests BEFORE... More 

Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Basil Fawlty is alive and well at the Red House Hotel. To be approached in the car park and told "its £5.00 per hour, how many hours do you want" made me decide I wouldn't bother to enquire about function rooms. "Can I help you" would have been a more reasonable approach. Good job Tidworth is up the road, or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
629542, Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Car parking at The Red House Hotel is FREE of charge to our residents and those using the hotel facilities. If you are using our car park for a meeting or rendezvous then, yes we will come and charge you! In doing so those who try to use our car park for, a meeting, a 'rendezvous' or simply dump a... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was worried about staying here after the reviews. The staff were welcoming & helpful the hotel was clean & tidy, There was a good selection on the menu, & what I choose was really nice. I'd stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
629542, Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review of The Red House Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel next time you are in this area. More 

Tidworth
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Talking to others on my course at Tidworth maybe my service accommodation isn't as bad in fact it is rather pleasantly good. This hotel as looking at the reviews gives a poor impression if the MoD keep sending personnel there then maybe someone needs to send a letter to the central hotel booking service about the alleged poor service. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
629542, Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, firstly may we apologise for putting you to all the bother of registering with this website to post these derogatory comments about our hotel. We are unsure if you have actually stayed at our Hotel as we note that the address on your Trip advisor profile is Tidworth. Comments on here represent 0.04% of our... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Traveling from southern Europe we have stayed in many hotels and therefore have fresh and immediate comparisons to make. It was overpriced, but clean however very dated in appearance. I was aghast when told there was a charge for WIFI totally unheard of in all other hotels I stayed in, admittedly on questioning the charge was removed so that was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
629542, General Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, firstly may we apologise for putting you to all the bother of registering with this website to post these derogatory comments about our hotel. Comments on here represent 0.04% of our guests. Thus, we feel the remaining 99.96% of our guests have no underlying motivation to post comments on here. Therefore, your suggestion regarding our... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfectly adequate hotel. Easy to find plenty of parking. Rooms clean and comfortable bar and restaurant perfectly adequate. If booked in for business its good value for money and the staff were efficient respectful polite and helpful. Nothing outstanding but recommended as absolutely fit for purpose.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
629542, Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel must survive solely on MOD employees as I would never recommend this hotel to my friends and family. It is a good location for tidworth camp and clean but not worth the £69 they charge the mod nor the 79 they charge everyone else... Expensive wifi too, dated decor, avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Management response:

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our Hotel. We are pleased to take this opportunity to respond to a couple of your comments: If prior to check in you had read your Booking Confirmation sent to you from the Booking Agency, you would have noted the requirement to ‘Settle your own Account upon Departure’.... More 

Been to The Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House Hotel

Address: Parkhouse Cross, Cholderton SP4 0EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Cholderton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cholderton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
The Red Hotel
The Red House Hotel Cholderton, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.