We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Cholderton hotels

The Red House Hotel

Parkhouse Cross, Cholderton SP4 0EG, England
Hotel amenities
The Red House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cholderton
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cholderton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Basil Fawlty is alive and well at the Red House Hotel. To be approached in the car park and told "its £5.00 per hour, how many hours do you want" made me decide I wouldn't bother to enquire about function rooms. "Can I help you" would have been a more reasonable approach. Good job Tidworth is up the road, or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was worried about staying here after the reviews. The staff were welcoming & helpful the hotel was clean & tidy, There was a good selection on the menu, & what I choose was really nice. I'd stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
629542, Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review of The Red House Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel next time you are in this area. More

Tidworth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Talking to others on my course at Tidworth maybe my service accommodation isn't as bad in fact it is rather pleasantly good. This hotel as looking at the reviews gives a poor impression if the MoD keep sending personnel there then maybe someone needs to send a letter to the central hotel booking service about the alleged poor service. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
629542, Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, firstly may we apologise for putting you to all the bother of registering with this website to post these derogatory comments about our hotel. We are unsure if you have actually stayed at our Hotel as we note that the address on your Trip advisor profile is Tidworth. Comments on here represent 0.04% of our... More

Travelers are raving about these Cholderton hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Traveling from southern Europe we have stayed in many hotels and therefore have fresh and immediate comparisons to make. It was overpriced, but clean however very dated in appearance. I was aghast when told there was a charge for WIFI totally unheard of in all other hotels I stayed in, admittedly on questioning the charge was removed so that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
629542, General Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, firstly may we apologise for putting you to all the bother of registering with this website to post these derogatory comments about our hotel. Comments on here represent 0.04% of our guests. Thus, we feel the remaining 99.96% of our guests have no underlying motivation to post comments on here. Therefore, your suggestion regarding our... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfectly adequate hotel. Easy to find plenty of parking. Rooms clean and comfortable bar and restaurant perfectly adequate. If booked in for business its good value for money and the staff were efficient respectful polite and helpful. Nothing outstanding but recommended as absolutely fit for purpose.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

This hotel must survive solely on MOD employees as I would never recommend this hotel to my friends and family. It is a good location for tidworth camp and clean but not worth the £69 they charge the mod nor the 79 they charge everyone else... Expensive wifi too, dated decor, avoid!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Management response:

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our Hotel. We are pleased to take this opportunity to respond to a couple of your comments: If prior to check in you had read your Booking Confirmation sent to you from the Booking Agency, you would have noted the requirement to ‘Settle your own Account upon Departure’.... More

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I was booked into this room by our booking agent so this was the first time I had stayed here, First impressions were very good, excellent reception area manned by an efficient and friendly member of staff. The room was very clean and a good size, the heating worked and was capable of being turned off. The only niggle with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
629542, Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel. I'm glad that you found our 'hotel library' useful during your stay with us. Of course, had you mentioned the problem with your TV to us, we would have addressed the issue immediately. With our Breakfast and Dinner menus, we try to appeal to all our MoD guests but naturally we... More

Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Clean, friendly and very well appointed. I recently enjoyed a weeks stay at this hotel and could not have asked for anything more. A restful establishment that I would like to recommend to all. Great food and a friendly bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
629542, Manager at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be visiting the are again. We have passed your comments onto the staff involved. Once again, Thank you. More

Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

If you are booked here when visiting the MOD sites in the area you will get an adequate room, basic breakfast and a convenient location with no frills. The rooms are basic, a bed chair and desk with a bathroom. It has been redecorated recently but the bedding and curtains have not been replaced. If you want a quiet room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
629542, Owner at The Red House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. As you pointed out we are very well located for visitors to the MoD sites on Salisbury Plaln and Andover. As you know we welcome many guests from the MoD to our hotel and all our rooms are fully equipped to the standards prescribed by the MoD for Hotel... More

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

the hotel is lovely and very clean, set in superb picturesque gardens. very spacious and modern bedroom fully equipped with lcd tv and tea/coffee making facilities. the choice of food is impeccable and what i sampled arrived in very good time and it tastes great. 2 separate dining areas to relax with a beer in the bar or dine in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to The Red House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red House Hotel

Also Known As:
The Red Hotel
The Red House Hotel Cholderton, Wiltshire
Address: Parkhouse Cross, Cholderton SP4 0EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Cholderton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cholderton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Red House Hotel to your Saves list