We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

3.5 of 5 Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula 403004, India
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    138
    44
    11
    3
See reviews for
129
105
18
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (345)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (105)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I got an excellent deal from goibibo and the services offered by Sandalwood was very good which made this a very good value for money deal. The hotel is very clean and the services was very good. The location is also good which is just 2 mins walk to the beach. As the beach is also small, I quite liked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pune, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When it comes to the service standards and attitude of staff, Goa has never scored very high but Sandalwood was a complete refreshing experience. Be it their service, food quality or overall warmth shown by the team members, everything was excellent and much beyond we expected. It shows the inspiring leadership skills of the seniors. the location is superb with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sandalwood is located in Dona Pula , which is away from panaji city . It takes about 20 min drive from panaji city to reach Sanalwood Hotel . Its about 1 hour drive from Goa International Airport . Sandalwood is Beach side hotel . Its got private beach and not accessible to outside people . The stay at Sandalwood was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wow! Thank you so very much for your review of your recent stay. It means a great deal to us when our guests, enjoy their stay and when we as a team exceed their expectations. You have done well in listing that we have to offer. A lot of our guest like our scheduled complimentary shuttle transport to... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely for a relaxed holiday, close to the crowds, yet spaced out enough for privacy. Great ambience snd courteous staff. Only downsides are 1. Poor reception on mobiles and Wifi devices. 2. Do not serve goan pork recipies. 3. Need to serve snacks and beer on the beach... On the whole had an enjoyable time...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking time out to share with us your experience while at our hotel. Thank you for your positive and candid comments. I am continuously working with my team to ensure flawless service and great product experience for all our guests. However I must say that Wi-Fi does get erratic sometimes due to signal issues from... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was clean, bed comfortable, bathroom functional and clean. Breakfast and dinner at the restaurant was good.I had a personal emergency and had to book flight tickets. Used the computer in the lobby as suggested by them. The staff was very cooperative and provided all the information we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to read your feedback. I agree that I am working with an excellent team here at the Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat We take pride in training our team members and it is very heart warming to note that they have been able to execute it well and you liked our Hotel and the services.... More 

pune
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best part of our life, we celebrated 31st December this year 2014. Good celebration with such a wonderful environment. very good staff, excellent food. we got both feel like hill station and beach experience.Rates satisfied. such a positive place. service good.cleanliness very good.Best part very good staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Season's Greetings ! Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Sandalwood Hotel and retreat, Goa and taking the time out to write about us. We are glad you had a great time with us and appreciate our product and services. Will share your kind words with the entire team, and sure this will motivate them to... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

We choose this hotel based on the overwhelming positive reviews. We booked it online for an avg of £63/night (taxes not included). It was advertised as a 4 star resort, but it is comparable with 3-4 star budget ones which cost £30-£40/night. The good parts: The room had AC; there is a shuttle to the nearby market if you book... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood hotel & retreat, Goa! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We regret to know that there were a few glitches and you also enjoyed during your stay at our hotel. I will personally look into the feedback given. Guest feedback is utmost important to us and we thank you for taking time out... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

nothing good to say about this hotel y worst experience ever in all my travels. smelly room dirty bathroom bed lined not changed on daily basis food looked very basic staff are not trained in basic commuication

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Geeta, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa! We thank you for sharing your feedback, we have noted your observations on your experience with great concern. I extend apology for having to take gym out of order due to some technical reason and non availability of certain spa therapies. We that shared your comment with the relevant department... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

Hotel was excellent, if i was to give you the negatives id say the pool is way to shallow, at the time we were there, they had building work going on and they had power tools plugged in and left by the pool side. When we told them this they didnt seem to care. Other then that great service great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, Goa! Thank you for taking out time for the review and the great ratings We are indeed delighted that you have liked our services and we have also made a note of your concerns. We assure you that it will be addressed. I am sure that there is some misunderstanding in the... More 

Hyderabad, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

The hotel has everything that can make a guest happy. Excellent location, tasty food, clean and spacious rooms. The private beach is added advantage for the guests staying in this hotel. The poolside bar and restaurant are awesome. I would recommend this hotel to everybody visiting Goa. My first stay in this hotel was in 2011 during my birthday and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kamran S, General Manager at Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Debarati, Greetings from Sandalwood Hotel & retreat, Goa! At the onset I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so happy that you recently chose to stay with us and liked our hotel and its services. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay throughout except for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat

Address: Vainguinim Beach, Dona Paula 403004, India
Location: India > Goa > Dona Paula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Hotel And Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat Goa/Dona Paula

155 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (152)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (38)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay