We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lisvane Bed & Breakfast

Office Row, Grosmont YO22 5PE, England
Lisvane Bed & Breakfast

21 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    11
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (21)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
bristol, england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was on the Coast to Coast and had to stop walking due to injury. I contacted the owners as soon as I was aware that I could not continue, which was 3 days before the booking. Taking full payment in advance and offering no partial refund having been given 3 days advance warning of a cancellation is in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grosmont, Owner at Lisvane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

As stated on our website and via our emailed payment receipt that we have a 6 week cancellation policy. We kept the room available for you following your reservation and the nature of the business here means that we have little or no passing or casual trade with which to re-let it. You were advised of this and the availability... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Were welcomed by the owners and their dogs. The room was very spacious. An excellent selection of T's & Coffees etc. Run by someone who really knows the hospitality business. Checked for us if the local pub was cooking that evening, otherwise would have driven us to an alternative. We were on are last night of the Coast to Coast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Great B&B made us feel very welcome. Right in the heart of Grosmont! We had a special meal on the Pullman Dining on the NYMR and decided to make a weekend of it by staying at the B&B. Bedroom was huge and overlooked the station so we could see and hear all the steam trains. Its was wonderful. Excellent breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We were fortunate to obtain a night here after staying at my sister's house at Berwick upon Tweed, where her husband is the rector of a fascinating Cromwellian church (a troubled part of England's history). Lisvane were very busy with bookings, but we had a very pleasant stay. The B&B was very quiet (as is the village!) An excellent breakfast,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were a little muddy when we arrived at Lisvane but there were trays and news paper ready for us. Our hosts were helpful and friendly. Our room was large and comfortable with a good shower room en-suite. We ate in the village at The Station Inn - there is nowhere else really unless The Pullman is going on an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This B and B is in a good location for both train enthusiasts and Coast to Coast walkers. It is well appointed and clean but we did feel that the welcome was not quite right. There was a bit of a shortage of electrical plugs in our room. We were almost told what time we had to have breakfast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grosmont, Owner at Lisvane Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are closed mid October until late March. Perhaps the reviewer has the wrong location or a bad memory. Shortage of electrical sockets - what did he want to plug in? Could have asked for an adapter. More 

Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the C2C walk. We were greeted by the owners who were quite pleasant and shown to our room. The room was quite comfortable and near the center of town, including the train station and pub. Our bathroom was not en suite, but we were the only ones using it, so no problem there.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Lisvane because Grosmont was the starting station for the NYMR Diner. Just up the road literally from the platform and with easy striking distance of Whitby, Lisvane is an ideal base not only for the railway, but also for the wider NY Moors and as final stop for those completing the Coast to Coast Walk. When I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
redcar
Level Contributor
181 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night before dining on NRMR Pullman Train. large airy twin room with shared bathroom. Bed very comfy and all usual amenities inc. chocolate digestive biscuits. Owners very friendly and breakfast top-notch with loads of nuts and fruit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Grosmont is quite small and not necessarily as well known as the neighboring villages BUT the steam railway makes this a great place to stay. Lisvane is right in the middle of the village and is perfect for accessing the Station Tavern, the local shops and the railway. You can either have tea and cake and watch the trains come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities