We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Monte Del Re

#1 of 2 Hotels in Dozza
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Via Monte Del Re, 43, 40060 Dozza, Italy
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Del Re
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Monte Del Re
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    85
    72
    27
    8
    13
See reviews for
24
83
2
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (205)
  • Mar-May only
    (50)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (81)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (48)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights. The building is a huge old mansion set in the country side with magnificent views. The place is clean & tidy, the food is excellent & the staff are friendly & helpful. Our room was quite small but had all the necessary facilities. There is free unlimited wifi & a large open air swimming pool with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maria Teresa S, Responsabile reception at Hotel Monte Del Re, responded to this review

Dear Mr Richard Thank you for having chosen us and for having appreciate our service, even with the music loud and the parties.We have been very pleased to receive you as our guests. We invite you to come back here whenever you want.Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information Best regards Maria Teresa S More 

Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Ok so we just stayed in this hotel last night. Upon arrival the property is beautiful the outside has breathtaking views of the Italian country side. We ate at the restaurant for our dinner and again, exceptional food. The waitress was very kind and only mixed up our wine tasting slightly.. As we have some experience with wines and i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

A decent size hotel, which appeared relatively quiet when we stayed. The hotel is located in an old monastery on the beautiful hilltop. Waking up in the morning and seeing the view from the window just reminded you how beautiful Italy is. We had a little issue with a neighbour and his snoring problem (I thought it was an earthquake),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_MontedelRe, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Monte Del Re, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Many thanks for your review. We are glad that you have appreciated the location, the hotel, the services and the food. We hope to welcome you again as our guest in future. More 

Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Monte del Re is fancy place, located in a large historic building in the hills. Staff members in uniform, greeting you politely in the corridors. Our room was furnished in an old fashioned way, which suited the place fine. The pool was large and well kept. The beach chairs were above average quality (albeit some where a bit worn down).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_MontedelRe, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Monte Del Re, responded to this review

Dear Aarhus, many thanks for your review and your comment that we will keep in mind trying to constantly improve our services and our guests experience. We do have wi-fi connection in all our rooms and common spaces, we are sorry you didn’t benefit from this service. We are really sorry you felt like a second class citizen, that was... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed for 1 night on our way back to Bologna airport. Good signs to find del re, thank goodness we arrived in daylight though because at night you will struggle. This Hotel is oozing history and dare I say a bit posh. Greeted by a friendly Young Lady ( sorry forgot name but use to work for Ry / air)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Direzione_MontedelRe, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Monte Del Re, responded to this review

Dear Sir, we really thank you for your wonderful review and we are glad you enjoyed your staying. We mentioned your comment to Emanuela, our young lady at the reception, and she was really excited and very thankful about what you write about her. We hope to welcome you again as our kind guest and we hope you will have... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed here for a wedding in nearby Imola. The hotel is scenic, in an old monastery, and has old-world charm. By U.S. standards, the decor is a bit dated, but our room had great air conditioning and was clean. The TV only has a few channels (CNN, BBC and a few Italian channels), but you don't come here to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monte del R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Monte Del Re, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your good review. We are glad you have enjoyed your staying. We would like to inform you that we have recently improved our Wi-Fi connection. We have changed our service supplier and now the WI-FI is working much better. We are very sorry you couldn’t benefit of this service, and we really hope you will... More 

Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice and pleasant architecture - reconstruction from an old monastery to comfortable and pleasant hotel is remarkable. The surroundings are beautiful, convenient for walking, jogging.. Good location for 1 day trips to Ravenna, Faenza, S. Marino, Rimini, Bologna... Very friendly and helpful personnel. Unfortunately very bad or no WI-Fi connection

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monte del R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Monte Del Re, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your staying in our beautiful location. We would be glad to have you again as our guest. According to the WI-FI connection, we are working in order to improve this service and we hope it will be done by the end of the summer. More 

Oradea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel it's placed in the top of a hill, the view is great, but it had the next big minuses: no menu and because of this prices vary depending on waiter for the drinks; the router was broken and i didn't had an internet connection available just on the corridor, as long I was there they didn't fixed it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed only one night, August 27, on our way from Venice to Tuscany. We wanted to stay here because Anthony Bourdain stayed here when filming the Emilia Romagna episode of "No Reservations", so we assumed it must be a good place to stay. Well...yes and no. It certainly is stunning. Situated on the top of a hill with panoramic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

And making parties is the main thing in the hotel. Apart from that, it is quite old and overpriced at average service. The rooms are cold and not so new.. Breakfast was poor and not tasty. But the views from the hotel are amazing and it's a really quite place..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dozza
9.7 mi away
Relais Villa Valfiore
Relais Villa Valfiore
#1 of 3 in San Lazzaro di Savena
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
15.0 mi away
Savoia Hotel Regency
Savoia Hotel Regency
#6 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 stars 807 reviews
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Donatello Imola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Aemilia Hotel
Aemilia Hotel
#2 of 104 in Bologna
4.5 of 5 stars 1,485 reviews
2.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 8 in Castel San Pietro Terme
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
13.6 mi away
Palazzo Loup
Palazzo Loup
#1 of 1 in Loiano
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay