We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel La Charpiniere

Certificate of Excellence
Lieu dit la Charpiniere, 42330 Saint-Galmier, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Charpiniere
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel La Charpiniere
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    35
    39
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
46
1
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Level Contributor
126 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This property has beautiful grounds on the edge of Saint-Galmier. It is a close walk to the city center, and close to the surrounding countryside. There is a nice lobby bar, outdoor bar and cafe, and a pool. Good wifi. Clean rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

We do thank you for your very positive comment, we are delighted to see that you enjoyed you stay, we hope welcome you very soon again. More 

Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Bathrooms much improved since the renovation. Beds still quite hard but with new furnishings. Breakfast still very DIY. Still think it lacks warmth or rather homeliness. Don`t like the mosquitoes either.Have had both Menu of the Day at Lunchtime and evening meal in Restaurant and both were ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comment, we are glad to see that you enjoyed both our restaurant and hotel. More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I recently stayed at La Charpiniere on business and had a delightful 3-night stay and overall experience. Check-in was pleasant. My room was located on the first floor, it was clean and had a lovely semi-private patio overlooking a grassy courtyard. It was nice to be able to prop open the doors for some fresh spring air. I accidentally blew... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We do thank you for your lovely comment. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We try to make our best to be at our clients’ disposal as often as possible, and when we receive a message like yours it is the best satisfaction we can have. It is a real pleasure... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Overpriced, the mattress was too hard, the pillow too soft. The ironing board was just big enough to iron my tie-how much more would it have cost them to provide a normal one? Breakfast was a very poor selection and overpriced for what it was. I would not recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Dear sir, first of all we do thank you for your comment. We apologize for the incovenient. Best regards, General Manager More 

Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We recently stayed at La Charpiniere whilst looking for a wedding venue. Nice location down a long driveway so no traffic noise, and plenty of secure parking. We had a ground floor room which was plenty big enough and clean, although it unfortunately was on the way between the bar and the stairs to other floors, which meant lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

We do our maximum so that the quiet of each is respected but, unfortunately, it’s not easy every day. We are sorry that you had an impression of indifference from our staff what usually is not the case... We however hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again More 

U.K.
Level Contributor
129 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We chose this needing an overnight stop on the way from the Riviera to the Loire but might not have done had we read the recent reviews on this site beforehand. It is basically a new hotel built around an old round tower (now used for a couple of suites). There was plenty of parking near the hotel entrance, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
La Charpinière L, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We thank you to taking the time to write your opinion of our Hotel and to compliment us. We will be happy to welcome you again at La Charpinière. More 

Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very quiet location in this small and nice village. The Hotel just renovated last year, all rooms are spacious and confortable,bathroom and shower clean and large. No frigo bar. Just a few international TV channels. Wi-fi on payment, no good signal in the rooms far away from lobby. Gym(small and just a few tools),SPA(by reservation) and outdoor swimming pool (for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

St Galmier is not a destination (unless you are a disciple of Auguste Badoit). So this is a transit hotel. Despite the carefully angled photos on the websites, which contrive to give the impression that the buildings are quite old, this is essentially a brand-new building. To that extent, it very much resembles a Novotel, but has even less warmth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
beaugency
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our third one night stay at this hotel (we've stayed here previous years), which has been recently bought. The new owners are in the process of renovating the place and, as a consequence, there's a lot of work going on (which the hotel warned us about when we made our reservation.) As it turned out, this caused us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay