We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
C/ Afueras s/n, 22340 Boltana, Spain
Special Offer
Up to 25% discount
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    355
    234
    112
    35
    23
See reviews for
145
465
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (759)
  • Mar-May only
    (197)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (211)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (202)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (149)
All months
Puerto Santiago, Tenerife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The breakfasts were ok and you had plenty of choice, but it could be improved a little to cater for the British tourists. The evening meals were excellent. My one gripe was they don't give you any kind of potatoes or vegetables with your main course. The outdoor pool was great with a pool bar. A pint of beer cost... More 

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night as part of a motorcycle trip around Northern Spain and the Pyrenees. They had a large free private car park and we were greeted by friendly English speaking staff who explained the facilities and options. The outside pool was free of charge, but the spa was quite expensive. The conversion to a hotel and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Even a Pastore Bergamasco (Italian sheepdog) knows a five-star hotel room should not have dead flies all over the floor...that's just gross! Granted, I have been to 21 countries and stayed in some of the best places, but still it doesn't take a rocket scientist to know good service. Top off the "dead bugs" with disheartened peeps (the humans I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were gladly surprised by the beautiful restoration of the monastery - the corridors with the beautiful arches and the common spaces with a mixture with modern art were lovely. We booked the rate with half pension, and the meals were nice and abundant. A mix of homemade traditional and sophisticated dishes. However, we were surprised that water was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zelhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It's a nice and quite hotel, well situated. The rooms are perfect, nice bed, nice bathroom and plenty of space. Wifi is l so slow that I used dataroaming on 3g instead. I'm a vegetarian, and there are no vegetarian options on the menu of the restaurant. No other restaurants in the neighbourhood as well, so that's an issue. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When one stays in something billed as a "monestario" one would expect to find something from its past. Instead, what's on display is a fusion of odds and sods from all over the world with seemingly little relevance to Spain or a monastic past. Sadly someone at Barcelo has missed an opportunity to have something truly unique. As with most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CristinaImazBoada, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion regarding your stay in the Barcelo Monasterio de Boltaña. We are really sorry you did not like the furniture of the Hotel. Regarding the housekeeping service is until 5pm, but in case our clients ask to have the room cleaned at a specific time, we can do it.... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Great location and charming restored monastery. Superb starting point for tours into the Pyrenees. When considering the charming hotel, the food and spa are disappointingly ordinary and way below the standard of the hotel itself.

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
CristinaImazBoada, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review

Thank you very much Henrik for sharing your opinion in tripadvisor.com. We are glad you appreciate the fantastic building and the wonderful location where is placed our Hotel. We apologize if we did not satisfy all your expectations. We would have liked having the opportunity to be aware about your disappoint issues while you were in the Hotel in order... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Stayed here as apart of a group of 8 travelling through. Having stayed here a year or so before, I just wanted to add that the place is fantastic. Great setting, Very reasonably priced. Lovely rooms. Helpful staff. We had lunch in the bistro which was great (burgers chips etc) and a large table for 8 of us in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CristinaImazBoada, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your second visit and for your good words. Thank you as well for sharing your opinion in tripadvisor.com. We also appreciate your special mention to our spacious and bright rooms and to our cozy bistro. But we really appreciate your special mention to our staff who works with a great enthusiasm every day to... More 

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We booked this place because I wanted to contrast French & Spanish sides of the Pyrenees. The setting is very pretty. The building itself is rather dark and dull as you would expect an ex-monastery to be. The decor is the public spaces is weird. It has a pretty good and not overpriced restaurant though it's not cheap either. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CristinaImazBoada, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your opinion about your stay in the Barcelo Monasterio de Boltaña which is a unique Hotel built in an ancient monastery from 17th century. We appreciate your good words regarding our hearty breakfast and about our Restaurant, which is a quite renowned restaurant around. It will be a pleasure to... More 

Pau, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We so enjoyed our stay last May that we decided to make it part of our wedding gift to our daughter and her husband this May. We had a room in the the old part of the monastery last year and I was a bit worried that the new villas at the back just wouldn't be as nice but they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CristinaImazBoada, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for your fantastic words about your stay in the Barceló Monasterio de Boltaña. We are really glad that your stay was so wonderful, that is exactly what we try to offer to all our guests. Both types of rooms, the ones in the main building or the villas are a very good option for a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

306 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (278)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (91)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay