We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa

Certificate of Excellence
Maynooth Road, Dunboyne, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    275
    129
    74
    30
See reviews for
152
493
30
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1085)
  • Mar-May only
    (304)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (289)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (268)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (224)
All months
meath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Attended a wedding ceremony here last weekend and fell in love with the place. The grounds, the atmosphere, the staff and the stunning wedding reception that took place. I would most definitely rate it 5 stars and am only sorry I didn't spend the night here as the rooms look fantastic.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bratislava Region, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Nice place and close to IBM technology campus. Even though Dublin center is an hour away, you may get there with a bus or taxi. Daily shuttle is available from hotel to your office. Staff were nice and helpful when needed. The place offers great opportunity for relaxing after a hard day of work

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this a mid week break and decided to treat ourselves to afternoon tea, so the waitress took our order and left side plates and a knife and cups so when out food arrived we had no tea this was delivered after 10mins. she didn't give us any forks so we could not eat the bit of salad that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
ElisabetDiaz, Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear Janesreview2015, Thank you for your review of Dunboyne Castle Hotel. I am extremely disappointed to read that you were unsatisfied with your Afternoon Tea experience and I would like to sincerely apologise for this. I can assure you that this is not our usual custom and not representative of our high standards of both food and friendly service. I... More 

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel experience was top notch - the room was clean and well furnished, the bathroom modern and the front desk staff was efficient and respectful. The hotel's restaurant, The Ivy, was superb! I had a steak that blew my shoes off, as well as a serving of butternut/parsnip soup. My husband enjoyed his salmon and scallops. As far as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElisabetDiaz, Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Daer GallosTravels, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay at Dunboyne Castle Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal in our Award Winning Ivy Restaurant. Your kind feedback regarding our rooms and efficiency of our front desk staff is greatly appreciated and I... More 

Powder Springs, Georgia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This looks like a Georgian Manor house with a hotel added on. The decor and style is ultra modern. The grounds are beautiful. The hotel has lifts/elevators. The rooms are comfortable. The bath has a soaking tub and a small separate shower. Breakfast is buffet and not especially memorable but it is quick convenient and worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElisabetDiaz, Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cathy L, We would like to thank you for your review of your recent visit to Dunboyne Castle Hotel and Spa. I am delighted you had a comfortable stay with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy are beautiful grounds. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, Tom Been Operations... More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in was good with friendly front desk reception. However, I was surprised no porter to offer help with bags,not for us in particular but while sitting in the bar I noticed an elderly man struggle with luggage while 2 bar men had a chat behind the bar? Found this odd that they wouldn't offer to help! I was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ElisabetDiaz, Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear Pookysnail, Thank you for your review of Dunboyne Castle Hotel. I am extremely disappointed to read you were unsatisfied with certain aspects of your stay and I would like to sincerely apologise for this. I can assure you that this is not representative of our usual high standards of both food and friendly service. Thank you for bringing this... More 

Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well what can we say except that the staff are this lovely hotels best asset. We have had the pleasure of staying here a few times now and they hotel never disappoints. On our last trip we travelled with our two youngest children both have Autism and our youngest is also a disabled wheelchair user with learning disability. It can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElisabetDiaz, Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear chefmarymclaughlin, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay and sharing your experiences with us. I was delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It is encouraging to hear that you were particularly impressed by our staff at the Hotel which I will pass onto... More 

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was there for a wedding, the room is nice and the staff are very competent.But got a taxi to the airport for my girlfriend, was told it would be charged to the room, found out the next day they charged me €45 for a €25 taxi ride.Management didn't even bother calling me back after I complained.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ElisabetDiaz, Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear SteveMeath2, A sincere thank you for taking the time to post a review of Dunboyne Castle Hotel and Spa. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff which I will certainly pass on to the team. I believe that our Front Office Manager has since been in touch with you via phone and email with regards to your... More 

co.mayo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from dunboyne Castle hotel after a birthday midweek break with my husband. Good points Extremely efficient staff,very clean,grounds are lovely,breakfast was lovely ,really nice little village Average points (couldn't really say bad points) Rooms lack character I personally felt deflated on hearing that i was staying in a castle I was excited but there's nothing exciting about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElisabetDiaz, Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear perfecto75, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am happy to read that you found our staff to be efficient and enjoyed your breakfast and our lovely grounds. There was indeed a castle here on the grounds, however this was destroyed by Cromwell and the first part... More 

Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great value, EXCEPTIONAL service!!!! This is so rare nowadays, so really happy to review a wonderful experience for my wife and I on a weekend break last month. All in all a really good hotel doing it the way it should be done.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ElisabetDiaz, Manager at Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa, responded to this review

Dear Holidayzzz, Many thanks for your lovely feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Tom Breen Operations Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

704 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (52)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (523)
Viewed
Amenities (108)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (68)
Viewed
Executive Double (66)
Viewed
Junior Suite (79)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (49)
Viewed
Synolda Suite (81)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities