We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Court

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Temple Cloud, Temple Cloud BS39 5DA, England
The Old Court
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 2 Temple Cloud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Sarah O Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    51
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
194
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arriving at The Old Court, Nancy greeted us with such warmth into what is essentially her home. She offered tea or coffee, showed us to our lovely room (the Magistrates Chamber i believe) & booked us into the quirky Old Station Inn for a delicious dinner after a long day in Bristol. The room was nicely decorated with original... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and my partner had a wonderful night staying in the Old court on arrival we got upgraded into a room with a jacuzzi bath. Room was excellent very clean and comfortable. The owner Nancy was very welcoming and very helpful. Highly recommend a stay here and we will be back. Thank you Adam and Nata

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Now having (thankfully) been to prison my comparisons may be a touch imaginative! Cold and damp, no warm water, thin horrible sheets and very noisy would be my main points of concern. The beds at HMP are very well likely more comfortable, Maybe the government should house convicts here - it would be cheaper?

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
NANTWEE, Owner at The Old Court, responded to this review

This review is very much out of date as we no longer offer our wonderful jail cell rooms to b&b guests.....reason is we are restricted to how many rooms we can offer without paying extortionate business rates. As the house was built in 1857, all rooms are different. You may enjoy our Magistrate's Chambers with en suite jacuzzi bath or... More 

Ilfracombe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

we arrived at 7.30 pm and were greeted by Jenny who was very informative and made us feel at home encouraged us to look round the hotel and also let us know where we could get an evening meal the room was just as we had expected. Breakfast was excellent too the full English was filling and well presented. will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cambridge
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
52 hotel reviews
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

We stayed just one night while in the area in the twin cell. We were prepared for the ensuite that is the loo and shower being placed at the top of the beds, no curtain or door on the outside of the loo. This did not bother us, maybe we are the 'fun' people Nancy the owner refers to when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NANTWEE, Owner at The Old Court, responded to this review

Might be helpful to keep your shower curtain inside the tray and off of the drain like most guests....tee hee. Never had anyone complain about our towels...they are right out of the dryer nice and soft and that's all there is to it. There are lots of reviews from guests who love our jail cells but if you are not... More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

I booked this hotel for its quirky look and it didnt disappoint. i chose the "Kingsize Jacuzzi Room" On arrival, we were greeting and taken to our room. Our host Nancy offered us coffee. it was a lovely big room, very comfortable. there was NO information book (guide) in the room (wifi code). i finally got it but its poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
NANTWEE, Owner at The Old Court, responded to this review

Hello JohnnyBGood....nice name. Sorry I was not in the country upon your visit but Jenny my staff person is excellent! Occasionally we have to order a part from Italy for a jacuzzi and I am sorry you had a problem. In this instance do email me to discuss such on a more personal basis. Certainly had you let a staff... More 

East Dean UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

The Old Court is still sitting for us. We returned after four years and found it even better. The bubbley host Nancy was away sadly, however John and Jenny made us feel very welcome and were ably assisted by Beau !!.The service could not be bettered The whole place is still amazing, a great experience to stay. The Cells are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

We spent the weekend here and had a fabulous time. It is a beautiful building with lots of character and history. Plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for our large party and it was great to have access to the kitchen and garden too. The 'cell' rooms were the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

I have just been for my daughters hen weekend. There were 21 of us. What a beautiful interesting place to stay. I had a luvly time. A lovely four poster bed. I had best nights sleep for a long time. Amazing definitely recommend it. Jacuzzi aswell.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

The room where we stayed was very poor. They miss the attention to detail. The bath towels were yellow tired looking could not use. The bed sheets are something we had in the seventies. If you like your finer comforts this is not the place. The bathroom is placed downstairs you are not told this when you make booking. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
NANTWEE, Owner at The Old Court, responded to this review

This is a beautiful room with the most wonderful four poster bed, toilet and sink en suite as well as an additional full bathroom down your private staircase....simply divine. Comment often received is how comfortable the bed. This room also has a couch and fireplace. Most of our sheets are literally 1000 count cotton. Truly some things are never enough... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question