We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

French Partridge

Newport Pagnell Road, Horton NN7 2AP, England
Hotel amenities
French Partridge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Horton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Rak S London, United Kingdom
Review This Hotel

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    23
    24
    14
    9
See reviews for
28
50
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (120)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived and were hungry, so stayed downstairs in the bar for a couple of drinks and some dinner. We wanted to go for the set menu but unfortunately it was available for special occasions. Nevertheless they had a scrumptious looking ala carte menu, alternatively the tapas menu looked very tempting, so plenty of choice. The meal arrived just in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Very disappointing, not worth the 121/2% service charge automatically added to the bill. Little choice of wines and only bottled beer in the 'bar'. In a party of eight those with tapas were half way through before the others had anything to eat. We had to ask for water, a jug was brought, small glasses filled then taken away! meals... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BP B, Manager at French Partridge, responded to this review

The Customer's comment about the restaurant is taken with extreme seriousness. The Policy of the organization has always been to give the best in satisfying customer needs. The French Partridge is a fine dine restaurant with selected spirits and therefore does not serve draught beer. The service charge is our restaurant's policy as you would see from the website, as... More 

Ampthill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We were told that this Hotel used to have a good reputation and to be fair the pictures on the booking web site looked great, in reality however it was far from great, firstly you are greeted by a muddy car park and a small stack of chairs outside the from door, not very welcoming. The next thing was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BP B, Manager at French Partridge, responded to this review

Every comment is taken with extreme seriousness and used to help improve guest experience with us. We hope the guest appreciates our comments on the issues as well. The French Partridge is a grade 2 listed building. It takes pride in the history of the place and its beautiful upkeep. In view of this the planning permission for a paved... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Not stayed before, an old building of character, the rooms spacious and offer good decor along with quite a comfy bed, I would liked to explore the garden but the weather was not favourable. The hotel has quite a lot of stairs so if your steady on your legs then use the hand rails provided. I did not eat in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BP B, Manager at French Partridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so very much for your excellent review of The French Partridge. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I regret to note the weather didn't play along to make this an even better experience for you. Although it is all the more reason to come and visit us again in fairer... More 

newport pagnell
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Haven't stayed here, but have eaten. Not an enjoyable experience due to poor service and badly cooked food. The whole set up needs improving and an experienced management team to be involved. Our feeling is that the place is run almost as a hobby, and it does show.

Was this review helpful? Yes
BP B, Owner at French Partridge, responded to this review

The Customer's comment about the restaurant is taken with extreme seriousness. The Policy of the company has always been to give the best in satisfying customer needs. We have always taken care of customer needs and do this meticulously . We are sorry to note that you have commented on bad services and cooking ability of our kitchen.Careful attention is... More 

Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We live in Devon and my husband came to work in Northampton so we stayed at the French Partridge for 3 nights last week. A beautiful building in the midst of a peaceful countryside.The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too big a task to please us. The food was gorgeous and tasty. We ate the Sunday roast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BP B, Manager at French Partridge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review of The French Partridge. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities, team and restaurant excellent. Me and my team are always looking for better ways to serve you and we are very happy when we are able to satisfy our guests. Thank you for sharing your positive comments... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We spent our wedding night in this Hotel with our families last year, so came back to celebrate our first Anniversary in the same room Grange. It is still a very beautiful and romantic room!! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay this time around too. We had eaten from the Tapas tasting Menu and would recommend this to people who love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

The French Partridge has a beautiful location, surrounded by countryside, the building is elegant and promises a wonderful hotel experience. The welcome from the staff is equally pleasing although they could be a little smarter. The place feels good and at first glance it delivers but, the mish mash of Heath and safety signs placed without any though for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We booked a three night stay through Booking.com. We booked a family room (Henry de Horton) as my 5 year old son was staying with us. The room is huge. You get a main bedroom and a twin bedroom directly off. The bathroom is then located off the twin room..........bit of a pain with a sleeping child as you have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Wales
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We have not long returned from a one nights stay at this hotel and I must say we had a great stay. The check in was great no waiting for our room we arrived at about 12.30 and the room was lovely, we were in the Grange room which was great, a large room with a large bed, both my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question