We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Flore B&Bs / inns

The Real Retreat Company

The Avenue, Flore, Northampton NN7 4LZ, England (Formerly Charterhouse Retreat)
Hotel amenities
The Real Retreat Company
Ranked #1 of 2 Flore B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flore
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    4
    6
    12
See reviews for
9
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very calming and almost magical gem of a place. Small enough for it to feel cosy and charming, but not claustraphobic. With it's cool classic appeal and a twist of contemporary it is like a home, with the staff being warm, catering to a range of holistic and dietary needs. Great to go as a group, couple or even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family stayed here for two nights and had an awesome time. The little village of Flore is a great place to visit and the Real Retreat is a beautiful house to stay in. We went swimming, took walks to the local farm that had baby lambs to pet and feed. We ate at the upscale local pubs with great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hythe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the best 2 night breaks we have been on. Just leave your stressful life in the car and walk into relaxation and calmness. The hotel is a haven where you can do as much or as little as you like. There are treatments that you can have for an extra costs or just swim in the perfectly heated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend everyone I know and people just looking for a fantastic weekend of pure relaxation. The service was brilliant, constant laughs and a real homely feel from all of the staff making you feel totally at home and at ease. The facilities were fantastic, with the pool being heated at a perfect temperature and being so beautifully light... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here over the new year period and I have to say I thought the property was amazing. I'm hoping to go back at some point later in the year. Some of the highlights for me were the pool (which was heated perfectly), the bridal suite bedroom was out of this world, and it also games/party room with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Letterkenny, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here over the weekend and were both so impressed with this beautiful property set in the heart of the countryside. The staff Hannah and Denis were both very helpful and attentive throughout the stay. Denis cooked us an excellent meal on the Friday night and there is a comprehensive alcohol selection. The pool is very impressive and private... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year , arrived late in the evening and were greeted by Anna and made to feel welcome immediately , the place was beautiful and food was great even tho we turned up late Anna still cooked a great meal . After our meal we were shown to our room which was stunning a large roll top... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Hi I spent two days there with the family at this quiet retreat. It is one hour drive from London and just off the M1 so very convenient. It wasn't the best organised place but the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The heated indoor pool was excellent and the rooms were very warm and cosy. The living room had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I visited Charterhouse quite a few months ago but have been meaning to write a review ever since as it was so lovely. We bought our trip through Living Social Deals. Having bought Groupon deals in the past for various restaurants, spas etc. I was slightly concerned that, as before, we wouldn't be totally happy. The whole experience was 5*.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday thought it was be good as a stop off from brighton to Sheffield for a wedding. Got there no reception staff, the number on the answer phone message was wrong. They had no idea we were checking in. We had a reference number etc but they didn't know about it! Finally after knocking on lots... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anna R, General Manager at The Real Retreat Company, responded to this review

I am sorry that your recent stay with us was not a happy one. You booked your room with us through Late Rooms and unfortunately we had not received your booking from them. This is why your room was not ready for you on arrival. You booked a standard double room, however, we gave you an en suite room as... More

Been to The Real Retreat Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Real Retreat Company

Also Known As:
Flore Retreat Hotel
Flore Retreat Hotel Northampton
Address: The Avenue, Flore, Northampton NN7 4LZ, England (Formerly Charterhouse Retreat)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Flore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Flore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Northamptonshire countryside, The Real Retreat Company offers a luxury escape from everyday life. The spa section of the house with the treatment room and the swimming pool oozes peace and tranquillity. Enjoy the peaceful surroundings, beautiful décor and warm welcome. All of the rooms are bright, airy with very comfortable beds in this stunning house with contemporary feel throughout. The house comfortable sleeps 17, with a dormitory sleeping 4 in single beds. Guests will have unlimited access to the swimming pool, sauna, studio (with table tennis table) and laundry room if required! The only room off limits is the manager's living space, above the television lounge. Guests will be welcomed on arrival, and met on departure to check that the property has been left in an adequate condition with no damage. Flore village is a small, country village with some beautiful properties. There is plenty of off-road walking to be done from the house, making use of the Nene Way and Jurassic Way. Country roads are small and windy, and the area is undulating, making it great for cycle rides. We are close to several places of interest including Althorpe House, ...read moreHouse rulesRelax and make yourself at home. We ask that the house be treated with respect. We do not allow smoking inside, but you are welcome to smoke outside within the premises. Please discard of cigarette butts carefully and sensibly. Please leave the house as you found it, and be careful not to damage the building or it's contents. The open fire in the lounge is there to use as and when you wish. No pets are allowed, unless cleared with the manager first. You will be asked to sign a damage waiver letter stating that you are responsible for any damage, accidental or otherwise, that occurs during your stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Real Retreat Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Real Retreat Company to your Saves list