We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Guisborough hotels

Gisborough Hall

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gisborough Hall to your Saves list
Gisborough Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
88%
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Guisborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Derek A Cheltenham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (710)
  • Photos (211)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (187)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    430
    194
    57
    21
    8
See reviews for
74
438
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Probably the best hotel I've visited for quite sometime. Went for a reunion dinner so just one nights stay and unaccompanied, but will certainly return for a leisurely visit with the family. Location, food, accommodation all excellent, and the staff are brilliant, couldn't be more attentive or helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having stayed here before we had a weekend away to celebrate our anniversary. It couldn't have been more perfect. Stayed just the one night, the grounds and location are idyllic, the food to die for and the staff extremely personable and helpful. I would have no doubt in recommending this place to anyone and we will be back for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall, responded to this review

Dear Lollyy12 A belated “Happy Anniversary”; thank you for choosing to celebrate this with us. I am very grateful you will be recommending Gisborough Hall and that you hope to return soon. My team is our greatest asset; I know that they will be delighted to read your comments. Kind regards Kim Yardley More

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As two couples of let's say 'mature years', we all enjoy staying at interesting hotels with maybe a little style about them. Gisborough Hall operated by McDonald Hotels, proved a good choice! Victorian in age, but Jacobean in style, the Hall has been tastefully upgraded by McDonald Hotels and the newer Woodlands Wing in which we stayed, provided spacious bedrooms,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall, responded to this review

Dear designer100 I am delighted that both you and your friends experience such a pleasant stay at Gisborough Hall. It is lovely staying in June, however the autumn is also a lovely season here, and in January-March 2015 we have a very attractive “Come back soon” offer. I have noted your observations regarding the dishes served, we generally get such... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for 2 nights, the room was lovely, it was in the new wing of the building. First night we went for dinner in the bistro, food was good but the service was very average. The hotel had two wedding parties and they were struggling. The first night was very uncomfortable, room was very hot and no air conditioning.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall, responded to this review

Dear Gizmo11111 Thank you for your review, we are not complacent about our standards at this hotel and value all comments. We are sorry that the service was not to our normal high standard the volume of guests wishing to dine at the same time last weekend caused the service to be compromised. I presume that you have read previous... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very accommodating and friendly, knowledgeable staff and catered for coeliac diet. The menu was easily adaptable to meet dietary needs, they even made their own gluten free bread! The hall inside and out was clean and tidy, keeping many traditional features. The rooms were clean, spacious and good facilities. Overall very enjoyable stay and well looked after! Highly recommended!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall, responded to this review

Dear Scott K Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The team will be delighted to read your comments; I am pleased that you had such a satisfactory stay with us. Please recommend us, and return one day. Kind regards Kim Yardley More

new york
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having been to guisborough many times , was very disappointment with our restaurant experience on our first night we booked a table for 8. 30 by 10.30 couldn't wait for the sweet and coffee we had to go to bed , the next evening was just the same and we had an earlier time 7.30 was just as bad ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall, responded to this review

Dear yllib This has to be the first time that the food here has been described as such! I do not know how to politely respond to this? I assume that you having visited Guisborough many times before that you have stayed here? If so, you will no doubt be aware of the normal high standard of cuisine in Chaloner’s... More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here in June for a charity ball held at the hotel. We checked in as early as was possible and our room was gorgeous - well done out and extremely clean. We could not fault the staff who took part in catering for the ball either - every single member of staff was attentive and polite during the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall, responded to this review

Dear Laura0908 Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review of Gisborough Hall. I am delighted that you stayed with us whilst attending your Charity Ball. The evening was a great success and we have had many positive comments. We hope that you will return in the future either attending an event of simply for leisure.... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our son was fortunate enough to arrange his wedding at this venue, last Saturday. From the initial visit and all subsequent communications, the staff ensured that everything was catered for, to a very high standard. There were numerous guests who resided at the hotel for overnight stays, varying from one night (that of the wedding) to others who stayed for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall, responded to this review

Dear Kevino Z The feedback that I have had from your family and friends has been super, I am so happy that your son and daughter-in-law chose Gisborough Hall for their nuptials. It was a pleasure looking after you all, thank you for recommending our lovely hotel and we look forward to you soon returning. Kind regards Kim Yardley More

Middlesbrough
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here after our friends wedding, the venue and the grounds are lovely as are the rooms. We had a view over the car park at the back which was a shame as some lovely scenery in the area. Breakfast was nice enough the next morning. Bit on the pricey side though even with the wedding guest discount !

Was this review helpful? Yes
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall, responded to this review

Dear Lauren M Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and the grounds. Should you return, we have south facing rooms which tend to carry a supplementary charge due to their size and features, however the views across the Cleveland Hills are stunning. Kind regards Kim Yardley More

Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for our birthday and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was on the 2nd Floor. The view was just amazing from our window facing the mountains and fields. Easily accessible by car or public transport. Nice old Town 10 mins walking distance from the hotel. Good Location. Helpful Staff. Rooms were clean and spacious. No complaints at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KimYardley, General Manager at Gisborough Hall, responded to this review

Dear JBanji Thank you for your lovely review, We would love you to return in the winter, in fact we are already offering a “Come back soon” rate for January – March 2015. Please call the hotel and they will advise and book. We look forward to you returning. Kind regards Kim Yardley More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Gisborough Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Gisborough Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gisborough Hall

Address: Whitby Lane, Guisborough TS14 6PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Guisborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gisborough Hall 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Gisborough Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gisborough Hall Guisborough
Gisborough Hall Hotel Guisborough

211 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (200)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
71

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer