We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Aylmerton B&Bs / inns

The Roman Camp Inn

Save Saved
You added The Roman Camp Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (149)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
The Roman Camp Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
68
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice and helpful staff,the hotel is a little dated and my room smelt a little fusty but it was comfortable and clean .I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good ,with a lot of choice,the evening meal was not up to this standard however.The crab salad was a disappointment, two peeled boiled potatoes does make potato fondou. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I found this hotel to be reasonably priced and very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty and there was quite a varied selection. The room we stayed in was clean and well thought out. We chose this hotel for it's location to a wedding we were attending nearby however the only disappointing issue we had was that we... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel with some friends as we went to a wedding nearby. The hotel is comfortable, reasonably priced and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The room was perhaps a little dated in parts, particularly the bathrooms but they're perfectly fine. The bar/pub area is great - a real cosy country pub. The breakfast was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room smelt of damp and was confirmed by green patches around the window.To overcome the smell the window needed to be left open but this created a security issue as the room was right by the car park. I had the only one special of the evening - crab salad which looked and tasted so bland The place lacked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We were very disappointed to hear that you were not happy with your room. This review makes our rooms sound awful when they are not as previous reviews have mentioned and yet no mention to the management that you were unhappy at anytime of your stay. The Windows are left... More

Lincoln
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable clean rooms. Reasonably priced. Customer service not the best. When I asked if my son could have chips with his main meal rather than mashed potatoes and veg I was informed that they could not do any food substitutions at all (strange). They could not provide diet Pepsi from the pumps in small half pint glasses for my son.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review.. You arrived with out pre booking and were shown our family suite consisting of two separate rooms with an interconnecting door but only wanted to pay the price for one room and wanted the second room Free .Even though you have kindly commented on comfortable rooms. We opologise for the... More

Beverley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for a night on holiday with my wife. Had great service in this lovely pub and the food was 4 star restaurant standard easily. Reasonably priced had a great steak, my wife had fish and we had drinks and deserts for 44 quid. Beer was excellent! Staff very friendly and helpful and all of the premise was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review . We would like to mention that we have accommodation as well as the Bar and Restaurant which serves lovely food. We provide good honest food which we feel is in keeping to the establishment. If you wish to check what menu we have each season then look on our... More

Cromer, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having eaten here many times in the evening we thought it would be nice to have afternoon tea and what a delight it was. Having tried many other afternoon teas this was by far the best afternoon tea one could have served by delightful and friendly staff. Great choice of finger sandwiches, mini cakes and lovely scones. Will return here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

How lovely to put such kind words and we agree that the afternoon Tea is worth stopping off for .We know that you are a local person and will be pleased to see you back for more. thank you once again. More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my partner stopped here for some lunch, walking in we were greeted by two nice people behind the bar who welcomed us and informed us that there was a garden at the back and we set up a tab and ordered drinks. The gardens are first class and extremely peaceful. Menu wise, you can pick from sandwiches to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are very pleased that you found us on route .We are still finding lots of customers who pass the Roman Camp Inn but have never realised that we are not just an Inn but with accommodation as well and good food as our previous reviews. More

Mombasa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely friendly atmosphere and great rooms. We loved our 4 night stay and wish we could have stayed for longer. We enjoyed leisurely breakfasts, daily walks and cappuccinos at the nearby Felbrigg Hall and afternoon drinks in the sunny hotel gardens. We also travelled with a young baby and the hotel could not have been more accommodating.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review .We are situated in Aylmerton which is only a walk away from Felbrigg Hall and Majestic Wood with lovely surrounding Gardens. The Hall can be accessed from our private fields at the rear of our Garden which makes a lovely walk for any of our Hotel Guests to enjoy... More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have now eaten (lunch) here three times, from a full meal to sandwiches, but at quite at different times of day. Nice selection of food, pleasantly served and good value for money. A good stop off point when in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to stop at our Inn on three separate occasions and we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and found it great value for money which is so important these days. Situated on the A148 between Cromer and Sheringham is very ideal for those who don't want to get caught in the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Roman Camp Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Roman Camp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Aylmerton, Norfolk, UK

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Roman Camp Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer