We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Aylmerton B&Bs / inns

The Roman Camp Inn

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (139)
  • Photos (20)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
The Roman Camp Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    49
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
66
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A friendly welcome on arrival Very comfortable,clean room. Helpful staff in the dining room for Breakfast and Evening Meal. Beautiful, restful Gardens and sunny Patio at the rear. Also beautiful view from the Car Park! One can see why the Romans chose this too! From The Roman Camp I had a choice of places to visit, set so near one... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were upgraded to a more expensive room than we'd booked, which was very comfortable and had recently been refurbished. We did not use the restaurant other than for breakfast and found it rather dingy compared to the standard of the bedroom and the breakfast was rather disappointing both in terms of quality and quantity. Given the price of the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. The room which was allocated to you was an upgrade to the Honeymoon Suite which is a very nice room which we are pleased you enjoyed at no extra cost. Your rate for your stay was £50.00 per person bed and breakfast. We do wish you had spoken to the... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a wonderful venue for a wedding. The weather was exceptional so we could all enjoy the beautiful and extensive garden. Perfect for guests to relax and mingle and children to explore and play. Food was excellent and cheerful service provided by all staff. Comfortable clean accommodation. Many thanks

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for all of your kind words of exactly how the Inn is. It was such a beautiful day for a wedding The flowers in the garden made a lovely back drop for the wedding photos. The weather being sunny all day made the evening exceptional and everyone enjoyed the different scents from Honeysuckle, roses and herbs in the... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have stayed at the Roman Camp Inn on a few occasions and it has been a pleasure every time. They have very helpful and friendly staff, beautiful rooms and a lovely garden. The food is exceptional and they have an great gluten-free menu. A perfect place to enjoy a short or long break. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review, it is always rewarding for the team and builds there confidence when customers appreciate what we carry out at the Roman Camp inn. Service with a Smile is most important and especially the food. We will look forward to seeing you again in the near future More

romford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here beginning April. Rooms a little basic but beautifully decorated and clean. Fantastic breakfast and the restaurant food was lovely. Nice little bar with lots of regulars and visitors. Marnie made everyone feel welcome. Had a little issue with flies but I believe that's the time of year and the fruit fields nearby. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Roman Camp Inn. We are glad you had a fantastic breakfast as this is the most important meal of the day. The room which was booked by yourselves was a standard Double room which can be a little more basic than the deluxe rooms. We are glad that you enjoyed your... More

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We dined here recently as a family group. The menu was very promising but we all felt the food was not of the standard expected. Three of us had the steakburger which was of very poor standard, being dry and tasteless, and was actually quite expensive. I would not eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us at the Roman Camp. If only you had mentioned at the time of eating that you had disliked your burger then you would of given us full opportunity to rectify any complaint that you had. More

Lancashire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
82 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called in here for lunch, and very pleased we did. Dining available in the restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the garden. Very pleasant surroundings. Service was attentive and efficient. Food was good quality and well presented. A good place to eat if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your lunch along with our beautiful terraced gardens. When you next visit Norfolk we do hope that you will return for lunch and maybe even stay overnight with us. More

Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a quick stop for beer and snack and was very pleasant. Good place to unwind from a long drive. Would definitely be back. Great area too, very central to other places, such as shops, National Trust and activities with the kids

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's lovely to hear that you found us for a pint and a quick bite to eat after your long journey. Our gardens (weather permitting) are a great spot to sit, relax and soak up the sun. We do hope that when you are next in the area you will... More

Woodbridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Over the past few years we have stayed regularly at The roman camp Inn and have always been pleased with the service, staff and the way everyone looks after us. The rooms are lovely, the food is lovely and the gardens are nice to walk around in. Upon arrival on our latest visit there was a wedding reception taking place,... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Manager at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on your recent visit to us. We are so pleased that you and your wife have returned and that you both had an enjoyable 3 days. We will keep in mind for your next visit that your favourite room is 2. We look forward to seeing... More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went here for a friends wedding, (see 216KPrice) the staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are nice and comfortable and in keeping with the building. The gardens and outside area is very well thought out, we had a great time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. Room 5 is at the front of the Inn , but has the best view from the bathroom over the garden and country side. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the hospitality from our team . We look forward to meeting you again... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Roman Camp Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Roman Camp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Aylmerton, Norfolk, UK

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We have our own membership at a local exclusive Leisure Club 5 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added The Roman Camp Inn to your Saves list