We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Aylmerton B&Bs / inns

The Roman Camp Inn

Save Saved
You added The Roman Camp Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Hotel amenities
The Roman Camp Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Aylmerton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aylmerton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    52
    19
    8
    5
See reviews for
31
71
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely stay. Rooms were basic but clean and well kept. As I'm a ceoliac they had a gluten free menu and staff were very understanding of my needs. The meal was lovely and staff were very helpful and friendly. I will defiantly return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You had booked a standard room but we do offer deluxe rooms as well. We are pleased to hear that the gluten free menu suited your requirements . Our Team of staff always aims to please and be as helpful as they possibly can especially where there are food allergens. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really lovely building with beautiful garden outside. Fantastic food!! The only thing that could have made our stay better would have been a later check out time and breakfast window to enjoy a bit of a lie in! Best thing about our stay was the staff who were all equally friendly and welcoming!

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have taken on board your comments regarding check out time, as you will see by an earlier review that they wanted an earlier check in , it can be very difficult to please the both parties. This is why... More

Norwich
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This pace has a reasonable reputation locally so we thought we'd give it a go for an early evening meal. We arrived at 6pm and were the first to order food. We wanted something light so we asked if we could order off of the lunch menu (still over £7 each) and the barmaid was VERY rude in the way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your dinning experience at the Roman Camp Inn. Our Garden is very Large and we only take food orders at the Bar as clearly stated on the premises, this allows customers to run tabs. We apologise that we could not serve the lunch menu... More

Ipswich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed several nights, well appointed comfortable rooms, in main part of building however have also stayed previously in the accommodation to the rear, also good rooms, large flat screen TV, tea, coffee etc. Bar and restaurant food to a very high quality, good chef obviously. Large tree and shrub garden to the rear for guests etc to peruse at will.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for stating exactly what we have to offer and the two types of rooms, deluxe in the main building and standard in the west wing. .Our Team of chefs are the same as we have always had and putting together a new menu at this moment.. Pleased to hear you had a relaxing stay with us and look... More

Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here while visiting the area for a wedding as a group. The B&B is quintessential English. Manicured gardens out back, clean and tidy rooms, a wonderful bar and terrific service. We have nothing bad to say about this place. They even accommodated a "to-go" pint from the pub after our late return from the wedding festivities. Would definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Small Inn is very English and more on a personal level to all our guests. We are pleased that you enjoyed our well kept Garden as a great deal of care and attention goes into this. very nice meeting you and hope you had a safe journey home. More

Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I wanted a one night break in Norfolk and we chose the Roman Camp because it was close to the coast and ideally situated to reach the lovely towns in and around Cromer. The hotel was comfortable and clean and we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. The staff were attentive and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, We are pleased that you found us ideally situated to explore all of the Coast and surrounding areas . With the Cromer, Sheringham , and West-Runton beaches only 5 minutes away. Looking forward to welcoming you along with all our other regulars in the near future More

Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my wife recently spent a three night break at the Roman Camp and enjoyed it as much as ever. It was our third stay this year. After a good nights sleep in a clean, comfortable room an excellent breakfast is served in the equally nice restaurant. If the weather is good when you return to the hotel later... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time in writing a review. Your words have lifted all the team at the Roman camp Inn. We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and enjoyed the fare we have to offer. The garden is a very relaxing one with lots of shelters and corners to unwind in. we look forward... More

Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice and helpful staff,the hotel is a little dated and my room smelt a little fusty but it was comfortable and clean .I had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good ,with a lot of choice,the evening meal was not up to this standard however.The crab salad was a disappointment, two peeled boiled potatoes does make potato fondou. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologise if you felt our Restaurant was not up to your standard. The Inn is very traditional being a £100 years old . We are pleased to hear that you had a good nights sleep with a comfortable room. More

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I found this hotel to be reasonably priced and very comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty and there was quite a varied selection. The room we stayed in was clean and well thought out. We chose this hotel for it's location to a wedding we were attending nearby however the only disappointing issue we had was that we... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We must apologise if a member of our staff was a little off putting when you arrived. They may of been a little shocked at the 9.30 am arrival . Our confirmation letters clearly state the check in time and would be impossible for us to let you have the... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel with some friends as we went to a wedding nearby. The hotel is comfortable, reasonably priced and the staff are really friendly and helpful. The room was perhaps a little dated in parts, particularly the bathrooms but they're perfectly fine. The bar/pub area is great - a real cosy country pub. The breakfast was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
romancamp, Owner at The Roman Camp Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality of the inn . We are continuing to upgrade as much as we can each year as and when needed., the bathrooms are on the agenda for next year. If you come to stay in Norfolk again then please... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Roman Camp Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Roman Camp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roman Camp Inn

Address: Holt Road, Aylmerton NR11 8QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Aylmerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Roman Camp Inn 4*
Also Known As:
The Roman Camp Hotel Aylmerton
The Roman Camp Inn Aylmerton, Norfolk, UK

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Aylmerton with
any amenities