We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre

The Broadway | Minster on Sea, Sheerness ME12 2DA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    29
    20
    9
    9
See reviews for
35
22
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Once again we had a fantastic time at the abbey hotel. Great food in the restaurant with a good selection of bar snacks and a good breakfast. lovely family room which was clean and comfy. The staff are friendly, and very helpful. The hotel sits in lovely grounds which is a stones throw from the beach. Here's to next year.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I must say something about the bar staff, they are very smart and helpful. The bar staff are always happy and talkative to customers. They go out of their way to spend a bit of time with you to make you feel comfortable. Management are cheerful and polite. It's always sir or madame. The rooms are very nicely decorated, clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for our wedding night in the bridal suite and was lovely. The room was lovely with a nice four poster and the food was very good to. we also had the family room for my mum and children this was also very good. A*.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We stayed for one night which was very enjoyable facilities were exceptional manager was very helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure we had everything we needed all the staff were friendly and the rooms were extremely clean could not fault anything at all will definitely be staying here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Spent one night here. A nice room with good amenities including TV and kettle. Good size bed which was comfortable, good size bathroom with a stand in bath shower. Very quiet location, nice bar ( I didn't have a meal) clean and a goos service. A good price for a good nights sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2015

Stayed over for a weekend with a few friends. The management were excellent, very friendly and hospitable. The owner was very warm and welcoming when we arrived. We stayed over for 2 nights and the rooms were very good. Meals in the restaurant were excellent especially the breakfast. The bar staff are very friendly and made the evening more enjoyable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

The room was basic with peeling paper, the food was awful and we complained to owner who told us he didnt want to confront the chef!!! We had a table for 13 not one meal was cooked and we all left our food, he said we would get 70 percent refund still waiting

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We have been visiting this hotel for many years and always found it to offer good value and clean accommodation with a friendly and helpful staff. Try to select rooms away from the front of the hotel or overlooking the bar, particularly if you are a light sleeper because it does host weddings etc, especially over the weekend. The bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAbbeyHotel, Manager at The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Nic H, Thank you for your continued bookings over the years. We try to accommodate all our guests where they feel most comfortable. However, due to limited availability this is not always possible. We have an excellent local curry contact ( Curryholics) - and are happy to order late night food from there. The sausages - We will try... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

I stayed at The Abbey Hotel for 1 night as we were attending a wedding reception nearby. Checking in was quick and easy with a very pleasent female receptionist and we were also introduced to the owner which was a nice touch. To be honest the rooms are not perfect. They are run down, tired and dated (desperate need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheAbbeyHotel, Manager at The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting this amazing story. Let me just clarify a few things; 1)The owner does not work weekends and has not done for 7 years! 2) Managers and staff present on Sunday Morning totally deny the use of foul language and abuse towards one another! Staff members were having breakfast ( we take pride in our all our... More 

Hadleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We have returned from a stay at The Abbey and would like to say how pleased we were. We had booked a superior room and on arrival were happy to be told that we had been upgraded to an executive room. The accommodation was spacious, clean and bright overlooking the lovely gardens. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheerness
3.0 mi away
The Shurland Hotel
The Shurland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eastchurch
3.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sittingbourne
Premier Inn Sittingbourne
#3 of 5 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hempstead House
Hempstead House
#1 of 1 in Bapchild
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tonge Barn
Tonge Barn
#5 of 5 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
8.5 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay