We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre

The Broadway | Minster on Sea, Sheerness ME12 2DA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre
Add Photo Write a Review

114 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    29
    20
    9
    9
See reviews for
34
21
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (114)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night which was very enjoyable facilities were exceptional manager was very helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure we had everything we needed all the staff were friendly and the rooms were extremely clean could not fault anything at all will definitely be staying here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent one night here. A nice room with good amenities including TV and kettle. Good size bed which was comfortable, good size bathroom with a stand in bath shower. Very quiet location, nice bar ( I didn't have a meal) clean and a goos service. A good price for a good nights sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed over for a weekend with a few friends. The management were excellent, very friendly and hospitable. The owner was very warm and welcoming when we arrived. We stayed over for 2 nights and the rooms were very good. Meals in the restaurant were excellent especially the breakfast. The bar staff are very friendly and made the evening more enjoyable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was basic with peeling paper, the food was awful and we complained to owner who told us he didnt want to confront the chef!!! We had a table for 13 not one meal was cooked and we all left our food, he said we would get 70 percent refund still waiting

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been visiting this hotel for many years and always found it to offer good value and clean accommodation with a friendly and helpful staff. Try to select rooms away from the front of the hotel or overlooking the bar, particularly if you are a light sleeper because it does host weddings etc, especially over the weekend. The bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheAbbeyHotel, Manager at The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Dear Nic H, Thank you for your continued bookings over the years. We try to accommodate all our guests where they feel most comfortable. However, due to limited availability this is not always possible. We have an excellent local curry contact ( Curryholics) - and are happy to order late night food from there. The sausages - We will try... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at The Abbey Hotel for 1 night as we were attending a wedding reception nearby. Checking in was quick and easy with a very pleasent female receptionist and we were also introduced to the owner which was a nice touch. To be honest the rooms are not perfect. They are run down, tired and dated (desperate need of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheAbbeyHotel, Manager at The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Many thanks for posting this amazing story. Let me just clarify a few things; 1)The owner does not work weekends and has not done for 7 years! 2) Managers and staff present on Sunday Morning totally deny the use of foul language and abuse towards one another! Staff members were having breakfast ( we take pride in our all our... More 

Hadleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2015

We have returned from a stay at The Abbey and would like to say how pleased we were. We had booked a superior room and on arrival were happy to be told that we had been upgraded to an executive room. The accommodation was spacious, clean and bright overlooking the lovely gardens. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

A few of us recently had a function to go to in Sheerness and we stayed at the Abbey Hotel (Motel). If you are looking for a good value, basic, place to stay on the Island? the Abbey is friendly stays open very late, low prices in the bar and reasonably priced en-suite accommodation. All in all did the job... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

The first room was smelly and had mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. We was given another room which was fine the first night. Second night it is now 00.14 and it is as though the entertainment in the bar is in our room it's loud and there is no chance of getting to sleep. Very bad they don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
benfleet
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Just returned from another great stay at this little gem of a hotel. Always receive a very warm welcome from A.J and the receptionist, we arrive early so we can have a meal and drink in the bar before we check in, food always excellent and good value for money. It really is relaxing, park right outside the room, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheAbbeyHotel, Manager at The Abbey Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the review. You both are fantastic and we appreciate your support. kind regards Abbey Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sheerness
3.0 mi away
The Shurland Hotel
The Shurland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eastchurch
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Coniston Hotel
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Sittingbourne
Premier Inn Sittingbourne
#3 of 5 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Tonge Barn
Tonge Barn
#5 of 5 in Sittingbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hempstead House
Hempstead House
#1 of 1 in Bapchild
4.5 of 5 stars 473 reviews
8.6 mi away
Judd's Folly Hotel
Judd's Folly Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ospringe
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay