We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birch Hotel

Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Birch Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

157 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Very clean room with all the facilities you'd expect, however the decor is quite dated and there was a slight foisty smell about the room. The shower leaked onto the floor aswell, though the shower itself was very pleasant. Bed very uncomfortable however as it squeaked at every movement. I would stay here again for a short trip though, as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Calofthe F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

OK So, got a call at 11.00pm the night before whilst asleep at home to ask where I was, told them I was booked in for the night after. ooh sorry...back to sleep. Arrived at Hotel and was asked to pay again, after showing a receipt to them for payment...told if I wanted my room keys I would need to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Matt R

Travelers are raving about these Heywood hotels

Witheridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The positive is that the industrial estate is close by. The decor is very dated and needs a major amount of work to get it up to standard. If you can find another hotel I recommend you stay there. The only good thing was the breakfast.

Helpful?
2 Thank LHJ62
TheBirchHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate guest feedback whether negative or positive as this helps us to grow as a business. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel however as we are a busy and popular hotel we have to complete this programme in stages. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No arguing that this hotel is handy for the nearby industrial estate but frankly, if you come here it would be the only reason. There are numerous reasons not to stay here, like the wind whistling through the poorly fitting double glazed window in my room, to the lack of any heating in the bathroom. As for the rigmarole in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank NewRangerFamily
TheBirchHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to our Hotel. We always appreciate guest feedback as we try to maintain a high level of standard at all times. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme, however as we are a busy hotel we have to complete this programme in stages. We do... More 

St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I felt it was a little over priced for what it was, the room was very dated, carpets where old and tatty, Windows wouldn't close fully and window frames could do with a lick of paint. The breakfast however was delicious couldn't fault it hence the 2 stars

Helpful?
3 Thank Roundy00
TheBirchHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to our Hotel. It’s always good to hear guest feedback so that we can grow as a business; we try to maintain a high standard of service. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme; however as we are a busy hotel we have to complete... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

I have stayed at various hotels throughout manchester recently and have to say the birch hotel has been without doubt the worse by far. Room was dirty. Breakfast was cold. Tea was cold and when asked for a hot cup of tea took 10mins to deliver. Complained to the manager who stated that because we were offered another breakfast there... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Allison P
TheBirchHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to our Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you felt your stay wasn’t a pleasant one; we take on board all feedback as we like to grow as a business and we feel that our guest’s opinions matter. If there is anything that you... More 

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

Stayed with my wife here for 3 nights whilst visiting relatives. You need a car as it is a little out of the way. It does look a little tired, mainly due to the decor which is very dark and rather dull. We were given, what appeared to be a disabled friendly room which was a plus as it was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Smiffy2417
TheBirchHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to our Hotel. We appreciate your feedback greatly, as this is how we grow as a business. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme which as you can imagine takes time to complete, in conjunction with that we have had a change in our staffing... More 

Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

I booked this for a business trip on the basis of the images on their website. In reality this is a very tired property that feels like it is mid-way through a refurb. My room was comfortable, if poorly decorated - dark brown walls and aging furnishings. Still, free internet, TV, coffee & tea etc made it functional. The staff... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Neil J
TheBirchHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neil, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, we greatly appreciate guest feedback. Our refurbishment programme is well under way, due to the popularity of the hotel we have to complete this process in stages, which as you can imagine can take some time. Thank you for your comments about our staff members,... More 

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

First impressions were ok, staff were polite and helpful, rooms terrible, hairdryer didn't work no plug in sink, cobwebs etc,morning shower was a nightmare, turned shower on got in moved the head and it all fell away from the wall, it was very very perished, I told staff what had happened as I left and they apologised. Only to find... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle T
TheBirchHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel, guest feedback is always well received. We’d like to thank you for your feedback regarding our staff members, we will be sure to let them know. We have undertook a thorough investigation of this matter, and taken on board all of your comments regarding our... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times now for business and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in this area. Nice relaxing atmosphere, helpful staff, nicely furnished rooms and good food. Would genuinely recommend. If have to stay away for business I always prefer to stay somewhere more homely and independent rather than a more impersonal chain, and this one is spot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marleyton
TheBirchHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at our hotel, we are always glad to read that our guests enjoyed their stay here. We try to maintain the homely ambiance so to make it feel like a home from... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heywood
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
1.7 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 stars 289 reviews
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#