We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Birch Hotel

Manchester Road, Heywood, Rochdale OL10 2QD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Birch Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Birch Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    33
    21
    19
    13
See reviews for
17
35
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (130)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited here last weekend and was greeted with an unwelcome £30 charge to have an early check in fee. Nowhere did it mention you have to pay to check in 2 hours earlier than 2pm. The lady at the reception said that someone had tried to call us to let us know but it is totally unacceptable to TRY... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caitlhan B, Firstly I am surprised by your response about your stay here and the way you have worded your comments, The price we offered for your weekend here was at a very competitive price and I don’t know of a single hotel that will not charge you for checking in early before 2pm, On our website as soon... More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A first class welcome, lovely gardens and reception. Liam and Maggie welcomed us in a very efficient but easy way. There is a very friendly atmosphere and our food and wine was lovely. Good seating in the reception area with large sofas. The amenities are very good but in need of 'refreshing'. Our stay was short but we feel we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary, Once again i would like to thank you for the nice comments, positive and productive, as with any hotel the work is never done and we have taken your comments on board and look forward to welcoming you both again to the Birch Hotel Liam Mackie Operations Manager The Birch Hotel More 

Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked this place after reading reviews so though I would give it a go. Very friendly on arrival, nice clean room with free Wi-Fi & a cracking curry for an evening meal. Breakfast was cooked to order & was superb in every way.I will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Georgio886, I would like to thank you for your honest response, i am also pleased that the team here have done there job to a high standard and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the birch hotel in the near future. Liam Mackie Operations Manager The Birch Hotel More 

Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Stayed here twice before so knew what to expect. Booked an hour before we arrived as a last minute trip. Room was ok but could do with an update, however it was very clean so to me that's more important. Bathroom looks dated and was clean enough, shower was nice and hot so no complaints there. On leaving the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Deborah C, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Hotel, Apologies in regards to a maintenance issue during your stay, this was reported to myself and the problem has now been rectified. On your next stay if you ask a member of staff when ordering your breakfast i am sure they would happily make sure all... More 

Bridlington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

2nd time we have stayed here with our dogs, The staff are so friendly and well mannered, the room was good clean and comfortable beds, the breakfast was very nice and tasty. Thank to all the staff and the chef. Will stay again. Glen and Mollie.xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Glen and Molly, Thank you for having taken the time to review our Hotel once again, All the Team here will be pleased for your kind comments made about how you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to staying with us again in the near future. Liam Mackie More 

Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Paid £110.00 for 2 nights b & b. Bank Holiday Sunday and Monday. Basic room but you pay for what you get. Pleasant staff, clean room, quiet, good parking, good TV. The gym is nearly a miles away from the hotel, so hotel notes take the facility of the website and say membership is available to a local gym! Also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Middleton70, Thank you for the nice comments about the hotel, All the Team here will be glad to hear you enjoyed our stay with us, We have a contract in place with Heywood Village Gym so all of our guests are welcome to use this facility at no extra charge. This is stated on the website and emphasis that these... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

Travelling back home we broke our journey with a one night stay at the Birch Hotel, glad we did. Really nice stay, excellent room (22) friendly,welcoming staff and good food. Also all this for a very reasonable price. We could not have been happier.

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

TobyJMurray, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel, I for one am pleased that you decided to stop off and stay with us on your way home, All the team will be happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future on your next journey. Liam Mackie More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We stayed at Birch Hotel 2 weeks ago. We were attending a book-fair nearby. On our arrival, at about 9 30pm, the hotel was closing its doors for the night as it was very quiet. We asked for some drinks as the bar was closing but the lady at reception offered to bring our drinks to our room for us.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Andrea 2306, Firstly i would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to see that the staff are doing a good job at catering for your needs during your stay with us and we as a team will look forward to accommodating you once again in the near future. Liam Mackie More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here overnight recently.The hotel was easy to find, just off the M62. I arrived late at night after the hotel had shut. They have a telephone outside the entrance and a very friendly man who turned out to be the chef quickly let me in. My room was very clean and very warm. Although the fittings were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for taking the time to review The Birch Hotel and sharing your views with other travellers on Trip Advisor! We are simply delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we have met your expectations. Thank you once again for you review and all of us hope... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Booked this hotel based on the pictures online and turned up to a very different room. In reality the hotel is very outdated, dirty and stinks! The breakfast (which is cooked to order) is of a good standard, and the only good thing in this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
THEBIRCHHOTEL, Guest Relations Manager at Birch Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank You for your comments about our hotel. I would like to sincerely thank you for your lovely comments about our breakfast, we are very proud to be one of the hotels who still believe in a made to order breakfast! I sincerely apologise for not meeting your expectations. We are in the process of refurbishing, and as... More 

Travelers are raving about these Heywood hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay