We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Minster View Hotel

2-3 Corn Market Hill, Howden DN14 7BU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Howden
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Minster View Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Upon arrival, first impressions of the Minister View where ok, friendly Landlord who found me a parking space very quickly and seemed eager to please. This place is directly opposite the minister, lovely setting, outdoor seating area, large TV’s in the bar with sports on and a pool table. The décor is very dated and scrappy but clean enough for... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank XLDPP
Hull Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Recently stayed and received a warm welcome from new landlord Dan. This bar has a fantastic atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming. The improvements are very evident and I look forward to visiting again very soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Abby C
Hull, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed here on saturday night as a last minute thing, the bar and locals were fantastic, new host Dan has lots of plans to improve decor, can't wait to go back and see how he's getting on. Good luck Dan.

Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirerambler
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a cracking little bar. Friendly staff and locals, your always made to feel welcome. Although it gets busy, u rarely have to wait more then a few minutes to be served. No complaints whatsoever. Would recommend.

Helpful?
Thank SCG2009
Hayling Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We loved this place. We stayed in Dec 2012, [four fussy actors] The welcome is warm and the rooms were spotlessly clean, comfy, well fitted out and everything worked well. The home-cooked food is awesome and everyone was really welcoming and friendly. The value for money was exceptionally high. Those who are used to faceless, cloned chain hotels with brand... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wendymouse1
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been working locally in Howden for 5 months now and have truly enjoyed my stay at the Minster View, Ian and Eve go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. All the staff and locals in the pub are pleasant and good fun. One of the best points about the Minster View is the amazing home cooked food,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan C
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

In my four week work related stay i have no complaints as the duratuion of my stay i found the rooms clean, beds made and cleaned daily good friendly hospitality cooked breakfast and two course dinner what more could you want with good friendly locals and bar staff

Helpful?
Thank James S
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Rated No 1 on trip advisor for area, No 2 must be hell, the rooms are disgusting. If I was not so tired from a long drive I would have found another hotel. I am sure I could sue under the trade discription act as this place is not a hotel. It really should be called a low end hostel.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tie2
Ian D, Owner at Minster View Hotel, responded to this review

1st can we say that we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here.You requested double beds as you were (big blokes) The only double rooms available was one en-suite, and one with a bathroom 2 doors down.You were shown the rooms and were quite happy as you were while drinking in the bar.We are appalled that you... More 

Laughton
Level Contributor
139 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Just awful, not a hotel, a slop shop!! Plenty of other Hotels locally, suggest you use them. Rooms not ensuite, very sparcely decorated. Pub below noisy and rough. Just can't find a nice thing to say.

Helpful?
2 Thank LaughtonFamily
Ian D, Owner at Minster View Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your review, we are sorry that you feel it is a slop shop and that we have a noisy bar.If you look at the photographs of the rooms we do not show anything that is not in there.We are a very clean,comfortable economy hotel,with customers and staff who make everyone feel welcome,as most of our reviews show.... More 

Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Comfortable, clean, good value accomodation with a great breakfast and a home cooked 2 course evening meal for just an additional £6. A friendly welcome from hosts, regular guests and locals made my stay a pleasant one. Would have no hesitaion in staying again.

Helpful?
Thank Liam P
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Howden
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Goole Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Lowther Hotel
The Lowther Hotel
#2 of 3 in Goole
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
10.0 mi away
Dairymans Cottage B&B
Dairymans Cottage B&B
#1 of 1 in Riccall
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Apple Tree Cottages
Apple Tree Cottages
#1 of 1 in Howden
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
5.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Black Horse Hotel
#7 of 10 in Goole
4.5 of 5 stars 4 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Briarcroft
The Briarcroft
#5 of 10 in Goole
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities